Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norrback Avenue

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 610 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

Worst school in all of worcester. Terrible learning environment. Teacher bullying. Do not send your kid.


Posted October 15, 2013

Norrback Ave. school is a great school with committed teachers, parents and administration. This is my daughter's second year there and she's in their fabulous Spanish two-way or dual language program. In addition to learning a second language, she'll stay with a cohort of children until 4th grade. Another bonus is that the class size for two-way is a little smaller than traditional kindergarten classrooms. The school does a lot of great activities for the students and families. For all these reasons, we love Norrback!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

My son attends Kindergarten at Norrback. Its a really good school where teachers care about their students. They work very hard at getting parents and students involved in school activities which I think is good for the kids. The more parents have a presence at the school and show interest the better the kids are going to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I love that the school offers the two-way program from Kindergarten in full day program. The teachers are great! Both Principal and vice principal as well as the whole administration are the best! AAAAAA++++++++ school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Our school doesn't have a librarian, so parent volunteers have taken on the job. One parent has organized the schedule and training for all. It's a great way to learn about our children and their classmates, as well as observing the teacher's interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

I love this school i have has one there for 6 years and now have two more going and have had no problems with the school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

Love this school. My children have been going for the last eight years (pre-k - 6) I miss the previous principal Mrs. Schupp, but hopefully the new principal will eagerly meet her high demands expected from each child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

My daughter has been at Norrback since kindergarten. She is currently in the second grade and we can't say enough about the school and the staff. Everyone is a caring member of the school community. The discipline and what is expected of the students is clearly stated and enforced. This makes for a very safe learning environment. The teachers really care about each and every student and their family. Even though our principal is on leave for a while, the school continues to run smoothly. The children are learning and happy to be in school. The staff is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Norrback is a great school! It has excellent teachers who truly care about their students. I currently have 2 children in the school, the oldest just finishing 5th. grade. He has been in it since kindergarten. Each class has an extra activity almost every day of the week. One day it might be library, the next its gym or music. They also have a television studio where students do a morning news program. They have 2 instrument teachers (strings and wind). The PTO at the school I have found to be very welcoming and very busy. Even the volunteers are people who I would want my children around on a regular basis. The principal is of the highest quality as well and runs the school with a firm but loving hand. The school also has a nurse practitioner and a nurse on staff. Best school in the city I think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2004

My oldest is in 5th grade, and has attended Norrback for four years now. My youngest just entered Kindergarden. I am, and have been very pleased with the school. The teachers are very involved, and care. It is very apparent they are not just 'doing their job'. They are helping us do a great job readying our children for the world. Many subjects and ideas are covered, nothing is left unturned. I feel very confident in many ways that I made the right choice sending my children to this school. I thank them as often as possible for all they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

I am really quite proud that my grand daughter attends Norrback. I have had the opportunity to meet her teacher, and can honestly say that she is one of those teachers who is caring and attentive to each and every one of her students. Not an easy task. Moreover, with so many city schools at a loss for funding, Norrback defies the stereotype run-down, dreary environments that do currently exist. If I were a kid again, this would be my choice.


Posted May 14, 2003

My son is in the 5th grade at Norrback School. I think that the principle is fantastic, and that the teachers are too. There is open communication at all times between parents, teachers, vice principle and principle. They are always there to listen to any concerns that you may have, and help in any way. My sons experience at Norrback has been a good one!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students37%
Female48%
Male27%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Title I37%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learners21%

Math

All Students48%
Female55%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learners26%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Female45%
Male23%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Title I33%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners10%

Math

All Students23%
Female35%
Male13%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Title I23%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners5%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female43%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learners13%

Math

All Students40%
Female40%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learners18%

Science

All Students20%
Female10%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Title I20%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Female65%
Male38%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title I52%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners30%

Math

All Students57%
Female65%
Male48%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title I57%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners55%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 68%
Hispanic 26% 15%
Black 14% 8%
Asian 7% 6%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (508) 799-8234

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

44 Malden St
Worcester, MA 01606
Phone: (508) 799-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Alhuda Academy
Worcester, MA




Thorndyke Road
Worcester, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT