Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
641 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Worcester Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is currently in her Freshman year at WA. We have found the environment to be a perfect fit for her. She loves her teachers as the passion for the subjects they teach is contagious. Both administration and faculty/staff are caring and responsive to any needs she or we might have. Our daughter is blossoming here and discovering what makes her unique in order to be a valuable contributor to society. We see her leadership skills improving in and outside the classroom as she becomes more confident in her own abilities. We have no doubt that WA will lead her to and through the next important step in her life--college.

Worcester Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter was privileged to make a varsity team as a Freshman. The coach tries to instill fairness to all and is very inclusive no matter what your class year.


Worcester Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Leslie Wales is an excellent class dean who responds to the needs of parents and students alike.

Worcester Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
As with most high schools, upperclassmen need to be more respectful to the underclassmen. The faculty is very fair and coaches certainly try to be as fair as possible while maintaining competitive play. All of this contributes to the respect the school, students, and faculty have for he another and try to maintain.

Worcester Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter had been in a private parochial school for nine years prior to her attending WA. We are used to a respectful, accepting environment. We feel WA works had to instill these same attributes in its students.


Worcester Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter began 9th grade this past year and she is very happy and doing well. The school really seems to care and I feel are professional and create an exceptional school environment. My daughter attended a Montesouri school previously, and WA is by far a superior academic environment. My daughter has ADD and suffers from anxiety, but you would hardly know it based on how well she is doing. Thank you so much WA for being such a great school - well worth the tuition due to the caliber of the education and the quality of the staff. Best decision we ever made!

Worcester Academy 2

Posted October 19, 2014
- a community member
I started at WA when I was in 6th grade because I hated public school. To be honest, going to WA was the worst decision of my life. I begged my parents to pull me out after my freshman year. 8 others in my class just could not take it anymore either. Since I started every kid was a stuck-up, rich, know-it-all. If you didn't dress in the right clothing, or like the same things you were automatically rejected. The faculty was not worth paying 25,000 a year. Yes, I did have some fantastic teachers that actually taught, but every year we would end up with 1 or 2 who just would not teach. On top of this it was expected that mastered everything that you did, it was drilled in with their motto "Achieve the Honorable." I was stressed from ages 11 to 15. In high school it is required to do sport/theater, so no matter what activity you'd leave by 6pm or later and then had 3-6 hours of homework. They drilled the idea that if you didn't do well in a course you wouldn't be able to get into college. I graduated from public school and am in a great private college with a huge scholarship. If I stayed my grades would have been lower and there is no chance in hell I would be where I am today.

Worcester Academy 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a community member
I've noticed that the negative reviews all have misspellings and severe grammatical errors. Perhaps you just were not smart enough to be at WA, but that is no reason to be bitter at the school. It is an incredible academic environment, and is unlike most prep schools that have an air of entitlement. Don't be a whiner, accept personal responsibility, and you'll do well at WA and in life :)


Worcester Academy 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a community member
I think WA is awesome. Some of my friends are in this school. WA's math is so strong, although I'm 1 year higher than my sister, I can't answer the hard math questions she asked.

Worcester Academy 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
All three of my children attend Worcester Academy. We are thrilled with the curriculum, faculty and extracurriculars. We have been part of the community for five years as all three started there in grade 6. The faculty truly care about the students and demand the best of them, yet are very supportive. We love that the school offers so many different courses. The international students add a wonderful element to the school. We have hosted students every year we have been a part of the school and now have wonderful friends all over the world. We couldn't be more pleased with the rigor, curriculum, faculty and environment of Worcester Academy. We encourage families to apply - the school will exceed your expectations!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Worcester Academy
81 Providence Street, Worcester, MA  01604
(508) 754-5302
Last modified Worcester Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Worcester Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top