Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arno Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 557 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My daughter is the last of four to attend Arno. The experience has been incredible. The staff is wonderful and go above and beyond for all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

Both of my children currently attend Arno. We love our school and the staff go out of their way to recognize the positive behaviors children have instead of just focusing on the bad. They also work to educate the children where they are rather than lumping all children together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

ARNO elementary. My husband and I were some of the first graduates of ARno elementary. In fact, my husband's class was the first at the brand new Arno school. We both graduated from college and had good careers all our lives. We brag to our grandchildren about how much we learned at Arno that was life changing. We had teachers who were professional and completely dedicated to teaching not only academics, but ethics and morals. Arno school, like Paris, is a movable feast. Wherever you go, it goes with you!


Posted April 7, 2013

I transferred from Lindemann in 1966 and wound up in Mrs. Lafferty's class. She was not good. Then in 6th grade I got to spend a year in Gulag Soblatna. She surely learned her trade from her tenure as a guard in Treblinka. No one who had her came away unscarred.


Posted March 20, 2011

I have three children who currently attend or have attended Arno. I have to say this school has been a life saver. My sons both are in the special education program and Mrs Sbonek is the most wonderful teacher I have ever come across. She has helped my boys tremendously. I came from another downriver school district and the difference is remarkable. I have nothing but positive things to say about this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Mrs. Watson 1st grade is the best teacher ever, both my boys have had her and both have excelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

My family loves Arno Elementary School. My daughter has had two wonderful teachers here (Ms. Celina & Mrs. Torok). They went above and beyond to do their job. My daughter loves learning at Arno Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Great teachers who go above and beyond the regular duties of teachers to aid the education of the students. The staff in the office is friendly and helpful. I have two children in this school and I feel blessed to have them receiving the education they are!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

I have two children who go to Arno Elementary and I have found the school as a whole very good as productive learning environment for my children. It is a small school that really 'takes care' of the children that go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

Arno has felt like home for us since my children started attending in kindergarten. The staff is friendly and helpful, as well as are most of the the teachers. The principal is number one - one of the best I've seen in a long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

Great academics, great teacher student ratio. teacher/ parent envolvement is great. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

I think i't a great school . I think the staff at arno does a great job with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

Arno is a great place for kids to learn! The teaching and administrative staff are fantastic. A very nurturing environment is provided for the children to grow and flourish. The Arno staffs committment to excellence is one of the many reasons I am proud to live in Allen Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

Arno Elementary School has outstanding teachers and provides a great learning environment for all children to excel. Very family oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 69%
Hispanic 11% 6%
African-American 3% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jennifer Sheldon
Fax number
  • (313) 827-1085

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7500 Fox Ave
Allen Park, MI 48101
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 827-1050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Max Paun School
Lincoln Park, MI





James Foote School
Lincoln Park, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT