Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
508 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cabrini High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 27, 2016
- a teacher
Math Chairperson Mrs. Sweeney is a tireless advocate for stronger academics (and she ensures the school remains accredited!), but she also is a big supporter of student-athletes, parish outreach, and of teaching students about honor and self-respect.

Cabrini High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted February 27, 2016
- a teacher
While the school is committed to offering electives even when enrollment is smaller than 10 students, my opinion is that in 7 hours of school, students should take 7 classes, not spend an hour napping or playing video games. Many parents allow their juniors or seniors to take reduced courseloads with study halls or student-assistant hours.


Cabrini High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 27, 2016
- a teacher
I estimate each night will involve 1 hour for 9th grade, 1-2 for 10th grade, and 2-3 for 11th grade; seniors can have anywhere from 5 hours a night with Honors and AP work to only about 1 hour if they choose mostly art, gym, and other non-academic electives. (All seniors take English, Math, Social Studies/Government, and Religion.)

Cabrini High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a teacher
Retreats and Community Service are required, as is religious instruction and study of foreign languages and culture. Between these four, almost every student will experience compassion and empathy for fellow human beings in the diverse world in which they live. There are students from different income levels, family situations, religions and races, but instances of prejudicial treatment among them are so rare that they don't even bear talking about.

Cabrini High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a teacher
The "Community of Intentional Success" progress calls teachers to live out the expression of mercy while still attending to standards of fairness. This especially helps students who demonstrate commitment. For the most part I have witnessed great partnerships between families and staff.


Cabrini High School 5

Posted February 27, 2016
- a teacher
The recent investments in computers, chromebooks and improvements like the new athletic fields, roof and parking lot are amazing considering the very low tuition. There is a nice blend of young, energetic teachers and more experienced ones who have been there for many years. This school is academically demanding, and the majority of the students are actually kind and respectful to one another! Great opportunities and atmosphere, good sports and facilities; very, very good school overall.

Cabrini High School 4

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
My son attended Cabrini for high school. In my opinion it is worth the money to know your child is receiving a good education in an environment that is much more controlled than the public schools. The teachers and staff really helped my son and took the time to contact me and work with us whenever my son was off track. Father Joe was awesome as well as the the teachers. I would definitely recommend the school to anyone considering Cabrini.

Cabrini High School 1

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
Not inpressed with this school at all. This used to be a good school. it's not worth the money.


Cabrini High School 1

Posted August 12, 2012
- a community member
They care more about enforcing their uniform policy and giving out detentions than they do in helping the students.The religious and the staff don't walk the talk of being a Christian.The high profile sports get top priority and the other sports and activities get neglected along with the students that aren't star athletes. If your student is struggling and needs help they are pretty much on their own. Very dissapointed to say the least.

Cabrini High School 1

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
I went to grade and high school at Cabrini and now my child goes to a metro public school. Seeing the public education my child is getting I can't believe how poor the math, science, and language programs I received at Cabrini. Apparently the public schools cherry-pick the best teachers and Cabrini can't afford to compete with that. If a parent is searching for a good school for their children, use the MEAP scores in the 90's where you will find the great public schools.

Nearby schools

Cabrini High School
15305 Wick Road, Allen Park, MI  48101
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (313) 388-0110
Last modified Cabrini High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top