Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
257 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Inter-City Baptist School 1

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
We had a very bad experience with this school. The curriculum is great, but that's it. Everything else was very disappointing.

Inter-City Baptist School 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
We have been at I-C for the last 6 years with a wide range of grades. We even had one graduate last year. Finished with his first semester in college, he had felt more than prepared for college. We do not attend the church, however our children have always been treated well, and have never felt "left out". The teachers are highly dedicated in working with the parents to create a Christ- centered environment. They do lean a bit more on the sports side of life, but even in saying that, their music program is incredibly enriching for the students. I highly recommend this school for anyone looking for a godly, faithful school.


Inter-City Baptist School 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a community member
I attended I-C High School and am extremely grateful for the solid academic and spiritual foundation they provided for me. I highly recommend this school, its faculty, and its principal!

Inter-City Baptist School 4

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
I attended IC for 10 years. Both my boys went there, my youngest graduates this year. The teachers have never turned away, they have always been extremely helpful. What I appreciate is that the administration is consistently evaluating what works. No school is going to be perfect. If you have a problem with following rules, then you will have a problem at any private school. If you want a great education and a school that seeks to honor God, this is a good school. They are also a very athletic orientated school.

Inter-City Baptist School 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a community member
I attended this school from 7th to 12th grade and received an excellent education. I was able to get a full scholarship to a local university for all four years and was actually bored my first two years in college due to a repeat in content of my classes. I was on the Deans list in college multiple times and excelled above my classmates due to the education I received at this high school. I would only stress that it is up to the student to put the work into their education. The school supports students well but the student has to do the work, accept accountability, and participate in their own education.


Inter-City Baptist School 3

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
This is a school of Religion. Jesus came to abolish religion. ICB does not neglect doctrinal truth. They teach God's Word accurately, but expend great effort imposing "their" rules of conduct, and idealized appearance. Love lends itself to being conditional in this particular community. Being a member for 11 years, I am thankful for the great teachers I myself have had at IC, but if you are looking for a school with Counselors, Occupational Therapists, and other resources of that nature; Inter-City falls short.

Inter-City Baptist School 1

Posted December 28, 2011
- a community member
I attended this school several years ago. As others have said, the focus was on Do's and Don'ts with no attention to Christ-like charity and kindess. Students were bullies, teachers and staff were mean and judgemental, especially if you or your parents didn't attend Inter-City Baptist Church. There were no student counselors of any sort, only fire and brimstone. This is the sort of place that creates either fanatics or atheists.

Inter-City Baptist School 5

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
Well-trained and caring faculty with an administrator who knows education and discipleship both and is constantly working to improve the school. My children are in the school and will be well prepared for life because of it.


Inter-City Baptist School
no rating

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
I attended Inter-City from 3rd-12th grade, and am very thankful for the opportunity to send my 2 oldest children this year. Having witnessed the changes over the past few years, I would highly encourage others to consider sending their children as well. The academics are excellent, teachers well prepared, and spiritual instruction/encouragement is always present. I was very well prepared to enter college-my freshman year was practically a review of my high school education. Much of the curriculum used today has been re-evaluated and improved since my attendance at the school. Students are taught the subjects as well as critical thinking skills allowing them to use the information learned outside of the classroom-not just in class in order to pass a test.

Inter-City Baptist School 5

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
I went to Inter City from 7th grade - 12th grade! I now am able to send my child who has been at Inter city for 6 years!! I feel blessed that we have such a wonderful school with dedicated teachers to help guide my child. In this world we live in, our children need a good home, church & school, to help them in their christian walk! I disagree with all the former students who have negative things to say about this school! There was a reason they were 'asked to leave.' Inter City wants kids who are following Christ at their school!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Inter-City Baptist School
4700 Allen Road, Allen Park, MI  48101
(313) 928-6900
Last modified Inter-City Baptist School is a Private school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Inter-City Baptist School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top