Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Honey Creek Community School

Charter | K-8 & ungraded | 245 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ann Arbor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2013

My grandson attended this school for three years before moving out of state. We had a wonderful experience in grades K-2. The teachers are creative and they know their students very well. The environment is warm and supportive from the administrators to the specialty staff. I particularly like the emphasis on teaching the children to accept individual differences. In addition I like the curriculum that helps student learn to resolve conflicts and avoid bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

We have our daughter there, and we are really happy with everything. From teaching level to social interact. Is an school not only focus on reach the highest level of the annual program, also focus on each children feelings. Thank you very much Honey Creek Community School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

My son went here for K-1 and now he goes to our local public school and what a difference. I found out my son was starting 2nd grade way behind in his reading and writing. He never learned out how to form his letters and needed a lot of work on his reading. It was a harsh reality to find out he wasn't learning anything in 2 years. There is way too much "Free choice" and very little instruction, even in gym class. Also, they do not celebrate any normal holidays or even say the Pledge of Elegance. Now in public school my son is doing great and has caught up to his reading level. I did like the swimming lessons they offered but swimming during the week was useless because of no instruction. The aftercare was good and the summer camp was good, too but academics were very poor. Do lots of research before deciding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

it is a very great school, everybody should go there. It is very great school!!! Everybody should go there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

when I think of HCCS, I get a warm, wonderful feeling inside and when I encounter kids from HC elsewhere, I just feel pride, as I did today at Pioneer Theatre Guild, seeing Dana, Max, Evan, and others in the programme. My daughter spent 9 years at Honey Creek, and it helped her expand her mind and her social/problem solving skills immensely. Some of the teachers there are the best I have experienced, including just about the whole middle school. She was totally prepared for high school and is pulling straight A's at a very competitive place. I love Honey Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

The teachers, small class size, project based learning, the community, and he list goes on
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Honey Creek has a project-based curriculum, so children are active learners and apply knowledge to real situations. Honey Creek emphasizes service (to the school and the community) throughout the curriculum. The teachers are creative, talented, and incredibly devoted. The administration does everything possible to support learning and create a safe atmosphere where children can learn and thrive. The PTO has supported initiatives in technology, wellness, Science-Technology-Math-Engineering education, and fine arts. The community is diverse, close-knit, and welcoming. The families care about the school and are deeply involved in their children's education. Although not as well funded as other schools in the state, Honey Creek achieves in the top 10%. I can't recommend it highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

Honey Creek is a charter school that focuses on team work and community. Small, friendly classrooms with a total focus on the student. Teachers are called by their first names and they have camps every year that focus on team building and friendship. Classes are fun and diverse in age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Honey Creek puts children first. The hands-on, project-based program give children the opportunity to construct greater understanding and develop complex problem solving skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

My daughter is a special needs (visually impaired ) student in the 4th grade currently attending Honey Creek Community School. This is her second year as a student there. Honey Creek is the best academic and social environment she has ever been a part of. The staff, from administration down to classroom instructors, is exceptional, and unparalled in their skill, knowledge base, and level of commitment to the students. I am constantly overwhelmed and so grateful of what a wonderful opportunity this has been for my daughter. She has grown socially and academically in ways we had always hoped. Other schools were unable to help her cultivate her true potential as a student, and Honey Creek has done that, and more.Their tireless commitment to her development is something that we, as a family, feel very blessed to have. We only wish she could attend through 12th grade! Elena Kaltsas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Honey Creek is a diverse school with great teachers and a real community feel.


Posted September 28, 2009

Great teachers, great community, great place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

It teaches to the whole child and is a caring community for the whole family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

We educated two kids there, and they turned out confident, loving and positive about learning. HCCS is more like a family than a school in some ways, with increasingly strong curriculum and assessment practices, and it's small, caring and accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

I worked at Honey Creek for three years before a move forced me to find a job elsewhere. What I appreciate most is the community the school provides. As after school staff and a sub, I still knew the names and interests of each student, staff and was on a first name basis with a lot of the parents. Everyone had a genuine concern for each individual and welcomed the insight and opinions of others in order to achieve the best education for every student.


Posted September 27, 2009

What I love about Honey Creek Community School is the sense of caring and true value and worth of all students. The teachers take pride in their students and this is reflected through positive student achievement, academic service learning and supportive families of the students. Teamwork is not only demonstrated with students, but with all the faculty and staff throughout the school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2009

The teachers work really hard to meet the needs of ALL students. And the needs are not just academic; Honey Creek looks at the social, emotional and physical part of all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Because it encourages each and every student to ask questions, to seek answers, to be citizens of the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

The teachers are incredible and the project based, thematic, engaging, challenging, and fun curriculum give all students an opportunity to succeed. It is an incredible place where people don't just talk about creating a caring community, they truly are one. This school has some of the highest student achievement scores in the state and also one of the safest school environments. Honey Creek is a great place for every child to go to school. Keep up the fantastic work, all families, students, faculty, and staff! You truly make a difference.


Posted September 26, 2009

Creative, dedicated teachers and administration. Project-based curriculum. Focus on community service. Small classes. Did I mention the fabulous teachers?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 69%
Multiracial 18% 2%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Asian 4% 3%
African-American 2% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 112%N/A48%
Female 246%N/A48%
Male 254%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Al Waters
Fax number
  • (734) 994-2341

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1735 South Wagner Rd
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-2636

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Eberwhite School
Ann Arbor, MI


Emerson School
Ann Arbor, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT