Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ann Arbor Learning Community
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are very engaged and very effective. They make learning enjoyable! My child was always coming home and sharing something interesting they learned about in class that day. The best measure of a teacher's effectiveness is whether or not your child loves learning. Ours definitely does!

Ann Arbor Learning Community
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Other than 20 minutes of reading with parents and a weekly spelling test, and a monthly-ish parent child project our kindergarten student had NO HOMEWORK. Which is entirely developmentally appropriate and exactly how it should be.


Ann Arbor Learning Community
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Yes, though it might not look like it since it is not a pressure cooker teach to the test kind of place. Children are gently encouraged to persist through challenges without being demeaned or treated as less than if they struggle in some areas.

Ann Arbor Learning Community
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Respect is absolutely built into the ideas and culture of AALC. Children learn to respect and value themselves, each other, and the adults in their lives.

Ann Arbor Learning Community
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Children are welcomed in all play and learning activities. The community agreements include the right to participate so no child is ever excluded socially or academically. Children are also taught to focus on each other's positive attributes and strengths by sharing appreciations with each other at the end of the day.


Ann Arbor Learning Community
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Children at AALC are guided by four ideals called the Community Agreements: * Mutual Respect * Attentive Listening * Right to Participate/Right to Pass * Appreciations/No Put Downs

Ann Arbor Learning Community 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Great things about AALC: Warm and Welcoming culture. This is very much a family friendly community made up of educators, staff, students, and parents (and little sibs!) who believe in inclusion, acceptance, and diversity. It's a great place for quirky kids who might struggle socially in more traditional school settings. Kids learn respect and acceptance from the start. My son has Asperger's and is accepted wholeheartedly. The model of education at AALC is holistic, age appropriate, hands on, and low tech Childhood is respected. Your child is seen as a person, not a potential test score. If your kid has an issue, AALC works with your family to find a solution. Classrooms feel warm and welcoming. Teachers are gentle but firm. They really care about and enjoy working with their kids! And the parents! Monthly field trips and take home parent-child projects related to topics taught in the classroom. Two half hour recesses a day! Art and P.E. twice a week. Hands on learning centers. Reading Buddies program. Great curriculum choices. Leveled instruction for math, reading, and spelling with opportunities to move up when material is mastered. Geo Ed: Each classroom has a garden! See the blog at http://aalcgeo.blogspot.com/ for more info on this awesome program. Downsides (bc nothing is perfect). No busses. You drive and pick up. No hot lunches. Kids bring their own. Sometimes school doesn't publicize events well enough though this seemed to improve as the year went on. The Art Teacher keeps every thing til the end of the year. Specials teachers could do a better job communicating with parents about what kids are doing in their classes. Art is really important to our family so we actually do like knowing! No sports teams due to budget and insurance costs. AAPS Rec and Ed sports programs are open to county residents though if you have a kid who loves sports. The playground could use a more accessible play structure. The one major thing I don't like is the early start time: 8:15 a.m. is when classroom instruction begins. This is not ideal for my child but we make it work because AALC is worth it. *Some people might be leery about low tech but keep in mind even many Silicon Valley parents limit tech in elementary because its better for brain development.

Ann Arbor Learning Community 3

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
We had to leave this school due to frantic teacher turnover.While the overall ideals and education are aimed at the whole child everyday functionality of this school is lacking.The are and music classes although existent they function as clandestine entities in the school .The principal is nice but does not implement changes required by parents.Math is most kids weakness and display of kids frustrated over a math problem is common sighting on the hallways.Drama program taught by the Art teacher is great.Gardens are great too.The music teacher is good but overwhelmed.


Ann Arbor Learning Community 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter was there from kindergarten through to grade 8. The community structure is incredible, parents and students alike both feel it. My daughter has been taught how to learn here rather than just go through the motions. She learned to think independently and to question all things. I feel the community agreements here have fostered individuality rather than conforming to those around you. This is a fabulous school from having older kids mentor younger kids to working in the community garden. I searched for a school where I knew my daughter would be challenged, safe and to learn to love school and learning and that is what I found at AALC. The teachers are wonderful. It was a total positive experience for our family.

Ann Arbor Learning Community 1

Posted January 20, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended this school since 2004. It seems to have grown too fast. Middle school experience is mediocre to poor. Teacher concerns not addressed since September. There is no where to turn with said concerns as the Principal or "Dean" as they prefer to call it is also in the same role as the Superintendent. There is a clear lack of transparency or accountability by the administrative staff.. Good school for elementary. Do not recommend for Middle school grades.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ann Arbor Learning Community
3980 Research Park Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48108
(734) 477-0340
Last modified Ann Arbor Learning Community is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ann Arbor Learning Community Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top