Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 101 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ann Arbor Learning Community 4

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
Freezing. Why not pay for heat? Teachers and staff even know to wear layers as if camping. Terrific teachers. Positive environment for children. Seriously cold and that's just not right.

Ann Arbor Learning Community
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Docking has been such an amazing teacher for my son. There are not enough words to express how much I appreciate her talent and grace with him and his classmates.


Ann Arbor Learning Community
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
My 3rd grader gets some math worksheets, and journal writing every week. He also has one longer term project this semester. This seems like enough to reinforce what he's learning, but it doesn't overwhelm his evenings or weekends.

Ann Arbor Learning Community 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
AALC has provided a loving, supportive environment for my kids. It's a school where they learn by doing, not by sitting in seats and listening. The four agreements echo our values as a family, and I am confident my kids are learning critical thinking and social skills, not just how to take a test.

Ann Arbor Learning Community 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
If you're a parent that is dedicated to partnering with your child and their teachers to create an the best learning experience, this is your school. We came here for community, environmental education, social responsibility and the 4 agreements (see the AALC website About Us page). We found that and more! When we started here our son had been bullied and he was very behind in his math skills. Over the years all of his talented, caring teachers worked in partnership with us to get him caught up educationally as well as emotionally. His teachers worked hard to provide the best education during the school year and beyond. When we asked how we could help, they gave us the guidance on how to provide extra opportunities for him to review and advance after school and over the summers. After attending AALC for 6 years our son is doing great! During his education at AALC he learned to love learning again, he began to participate and became active in his own education. His middle school experience gave him strong critical thinking skills, the chance to have interesting intellectual discussions and a chance to grow socially while still being able to be a kid. Over the years he has made many lasting friendships here. He is now attending high school and because he has a good educational foundation and has strengthened his social skills he is doing fantastic!!! Learning takes an active partnership between parents, children and their teachers, we thank AALC for working with us to help our son reach his full potential as an active and thoughtful student.


Ann Arbor Learning Community
Grateful to: Parent

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to the PTO for helping our community to flourish! Your dedication doesn't go unnoticed!

Ann Arbor Learning Community
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
For the most part if you expect your child to be an attentive active learner and they know your expectations then the children and teachers will have the best learning environment. The teachers are all very talented and they are willing and able to help as needed. Just ask and they are happy to help. Quite often they go beyond what is expected to try to help the children.

Ann Arbor Learning Community
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The children aren't so overwhelmed that they lose their love of learning. I think it's important for parents to go above and beyond to help their kids when they aren't understanding a concept, but that is true at every school. If your child is having trouble, say in math, then take the time to get them extra help. The teachers are happy to discuss your child's weak points and give you some tips or extra work to help them to excel but parents need to hold up their end of the bargain too..


Ann Arbor Learning Community
Develops grit: Agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Kids are expected to complete their work to the best of their ability and the teachers encourage them to do their best work. The students are given opportunities to go beyond just the immediate school experience by participating in spelling bees, math competitions, Michigan History Day and Girls on the Run.

Ann Arbor Learning Community
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Mutual respect is the first of the 4 agreements and the teachers are expected to mirror this value in their own behavior. Not only do the kids learn to respect each other they learn to respect other cultures, and the environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ann Arbor Learning Community
3980 Research Park Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48108
(734) 477-0340
Last modified Ann Arbor Learning Community is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ann Arbor Learning Community Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 101 reviews. Top