Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Angell School 5

Posted July 16, 2016
- a parent
The Principal Mr Court is awesome! My daughter love this school, everything from the teachers and the activities. Everyone is here is nice, and we feel very warm.

Angell School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a community member
Angell has received two Beating the Odds Awards from the State of Michigan. Relative to other schools with the same demographics, e.g. ethnic, free and reduced lunch, special education, gender, Angell far exceeds similar schools in terms of student achievement. Angell has been ranked by the State of Michigan in the top 99% of all schools for the last four years.


Angell School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a community member
Angell is excellent. The teachers are conscientious and caring. The school secretary is terrific. The principal is visible and has provided needed resources for the school. The school has high expectations and Angell is ranked 20th in the state among all elementary and middle schools.

Angell School 3

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
Considered the best school in Ann Arbor, but smart, successful people have smart kids. So, not sure you can credit the teachers for its success. Lots of parents take Kumon outside of school. It is what teachers do with bottom 30% of the kids that show the true worth and they are not doing that well here. Principal is outstanding (best in town). Music teacher thinks it is great to have shows where kids tryout for parts and there are big winners and losers. Totally discourages kids from the arts and quiet kids never really get a chance unless they raise their hands (after 5 years, kids stop raising their hands). It is like only teaching the kids to read who want to. Extremely harmful and damaging for the kids. Music shows are great because the kids who can memorize line and sing are showcased and those who cannot are left standing on the bleachers- year after year. It is about the music teacher here vs. the kids.

Angell School 5

Posted January 06, 2012
- a community member
I was a student who graduated at Angell and I loved it there. All the teachers helped with learning and they also prepared me for middle school.


Angell School 2

Posted September 28, 2011
- a parent
Very mediocre school. People who have grown up in A2 speak very highly of it for some reason. Extremely poor principal responsiveness to problems/questions. Curriculum is at least 1 year behind grade level outside the area.

Angell School 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a community member
I am a fifth grader at angell and I like it here so much. The environment is friendly and I feel safe at Angell.

Angell School 5

Posted May 01, 2011
- a parent
My son loves and enjoys to go school here, great place to learn, communicative teacher, and good surroundings


Angell School 5

Posted April 11, 2010
- a student
I think Angell is the best school in Ann Arbor. I learn a lot in Angell so far.

Angell School 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
An amazing elementary school! My children learned so much from the skilled and dedicated teaching staff. This is the best elementary school in the city.

Nearby schools

Angell School
1608 South University Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI  48104
(734) 994-1907
Last modified Angell School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top