Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burns Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 414 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

We appreciate the continuous feedback and thought from our new principal. He seems inspired and passionate about his job. However, I was not impressed by the lackluster teaching and involvement of my daughter's classroom teacher. The students had a few writing projects over the year, and I was absolutely appalled at the level of writing that was considered acceptable. I was expecting to get honest feedback on the improvements that were needed in my daughter's writing, but it was not even mentioned on report cards. In my mind, the role of a teacher is take a student's current capabilities, and grow and expand on them. This was not done. Any growth or expanding in thought process and understanding seemed to be done at home. "They aren't making us do that at school," or, "as long as we wrote enough words, it's fine," seemed to be common phrases out of my daughter's mouth. Standards for personal best need to be much higher. Teachers need to help their students learn, grow, and be able to take helpful criticism on a regular basis. That is what learning is all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2013

Accessible and enlightened new principal (Chuck Hatt) has an excellent grasp of the needs of the students and everyone in the community that influences those students. Not only does he practice the common sense and compassion gained from many decades of teaching experience, he is a highly-trained, national expert in the area of literacies curriculum which he has implemented all over the Ann Arbor schools with dramatic, measurable success. Although much is written and implied about the "snobbishness" of families in this world, in my observation, they go above and beyond to make BP an inclusive, kind world for their children and for the children of people they don't know from poorer neighborhoods across town.


Posted November 25, 2013

I guess unsatisfactory is the most appropriate choice because we left, as in literally changed schools. It's fine school on paper, but no more so than half a dozen of the other A2 schools that cluster at the top in terms of test scores. What really put us off was the culture. There are deep socioeconomic divisions between the contiguous and non-contiguous families and that translates into de facto segregation just below the surface, which we felt added a subtle but unpleasant tension. As for the less subtle, I'm afraid we saw a bit too much of the petty, provincial snobbery North Burns Park and the Hills are famous for. Think Mean Girls. Now imagine their kids are in your kid's class. We met notable exceptions, but they were just that. So yeah--we're quite finished with Buns Pahk. (Be sure to say that through a clenched underbite, with an affected transatlantic flair.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

New principal (Mr. .Hatt) seems great. Even talking about getting professional development training for the lunchroom staff and bus drivers! Innovative thinker and leader, warm and receptive. This school has Spanish instruction from K-5th, unusual for A2 public schools, due to parents and PTO raising money through the BP World Language Initiative. Generally, a very involved parent and family community. Great garden, working on improving the playground. Many very strong and dynamic teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

very very very good school . we Love it Because the faculty is very responsive and cares about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

Such a unique community, Burns Park has amazing teachers - the faculty is very responsive and cares about the kids. Programs like the community garden, Walk and Talk program, Burns Park Foreign Language Initiative, Burns Park Players, Burns Park run..the list goes on, all add to the sense of community you feel as a BP family. High test scores (above A2 average) and high parent involvement are more reasons this school gets 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

Burns Park School is a good, not great school. Because of the high praise that this school receives by word-of-mouth, I can only surmise that it has been resting on its laurels for quite a few years now. The administration is completely unreceptive to ideas that are not its own. While our children have had some very good (not excellent) teachers, they have also had some wretched ones. The abysmal teachers are protected by the administration under the penumbra of faded excellence. If it weren't for the high level of parent involvement, Burns Park would be an also-ran, slightly below average school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Its programs (such as the foreign language initiative), its garden, teachers and staff. My daughter is in kindergarten and reading amazingly well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

A good school, not a great school, with dissent being stifled. Some good teachers, a well organized school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I have mixed feelings about this school. When we moved to this town two years ago we heard absolutely glowing reviews of the school. It is true that the parent involvement is amazing, range of activities that they organize are amazing. The teachers however, are remarkably uninspired and uninspiring for all the hype. The principal is quite helpful and perceptive and spends a lot of time in the classrooms and is a very useful person to talk to. The classroom teachers that my child had the past two years were really very very average. They do not motivate children to do more, they do not inspire creativity or originality and do not seem to really have any ideas for how to inspire the children to be 'life long learners'. Exceptions are art and music teachers who are very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I have two children enrolled at this phenomenal school- great teachers, very responsive to student's individual needs and incredible parental involvement. Indeed, each time I walk my children to the front door, I am so thankful they are enrolled at Burns Park Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

The administration is very understanding and helpful. the parents are very involved and raise extra money for the school's needs. There are more community outreach programs like lunches with love and races and community service projects than I have seen elsewhere. And the Burns Park Players (community theater, usually musicals) incorporates kids from the school who want to participate into their always great productions. It has its own wonderful park attached complete with a sledding hill. What more could a kid ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

Good school, but there some teachers that are very good and others that are awful. Parents considering this school should do a lot of research. The Principal is fine--unless you actually have a question or a problem. Creativity is not encouraged, and the implementation of the anti-bullying program has resulted in things like the kids not being allowed to play tag, only being allowed to play in groups with a certain number of kids, and not being allowed to use imagination games. There is still plenty of bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

We have been very pleased w/this school. While not perfect, it has much to offer. I've found that the principal and teachers are very responsive--our son happened to get two of the best (anywhere) in his two years here. There's respect for individual difference...an anti-bullying program was instituted on the playground a few years ago. Once a week there are multi-age groupings for Community Circle led by teachers. Parent PTO involvement is very active--you get to choose your speed. The specials are wonderful...gym, art, music, media. The social, o/t, psych, speech teachers are great but shared with other schools so not always onsite. There's a helpful Teacher Consultant and her assistant in the Resource Room. While there is a separate room sponsored by WISD for children w/more severe developmental challenges, it would be a good learning experience if some kids from both groups were able to interact occasionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

What a great school! The friendly teachers and wonderful program has been a joy!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 12, 2003

Vastly overrated. Teacher quality uneven, tend to discourage creativity or individuality. Principal uninspired and uninspiring.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 69%
African-American 10% 18%
Multiracial 9% 2%
Asian 8% 3%
Hispanic 7% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1414 Wells St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-1919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Angell School
Ann Arbor, MI



Clonlara School
Ann Arbor, MI


Pattengill School
Ann Arbor, MI


Ann Arbor Academy
Ann Arbor, MI


Central Academy
Ann Arbor, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT