Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dicken Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 365 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2014

We are very happy with the education our daughter is getting at Dicken. The teachers, principal, staff and parents do an amazing job. Our daughter loves Dicken and loves to learn. As a parent I am thrilled that she is excelling academically and is performing well above her grade level. Even more important is that she is learning about the importance of community and how to be a thoughtful/good citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

Dicken is a fantastic school! As a parent with 6 years invested in the school (and a few more ahead), I can say it is a great place to send my kids. What makes it special are 3 things: strong leadership by the wonderful principal and active PTO, incredibly involved parents, neighborhood school with diversity and a strong sense of community. Parents here realize that you get out what you put in, and they put in! The values at this school are outstanding. It is not snobbish or on the "fast track" culture. (Kids with iPhones Etc). Like any school, some teachers are amazing and others so-so. But the overall environment is top notch. Kids have access to so much enrichment: Amazing recess programs including gardening, chess, recycling program, choir, and some others too. Strong PTO brings funding for enriching school assembles and field trips. Students here are great kids, happy kids who feel secure knowing that Dicken is more than just their school, it is their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

Dicken is a wonderful community that gets better every year. Our 5th year at Dicken and this learning community has great leadership of the Principal and PTO. Students are challenged to excel. The staff spends a lot of time assessing and meeting the needs of the individual child. The PTO benefits from parent and volunteer involvement that allows educational, healthy activities throughout the year (ie Dicken Dash, Dicken Garden, Community of Cultures, Super Science Day,,,the list goes on). In addition, Dicken is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood with tree lined streets and sidewalks that make walking and biking to school a snap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

I have had 3 kids at Dicken over the past 7 years. I couldn't be happier. The teachers go above and beyond to make sure that every student's needs are met. Teachers are welcoming to parents and grandparents when they come into the classrooms. I volunteer weekly in one classroom and the library and have been very impressed with the way the staff interacts with the students. There are so many parents who volunteer on a regular basis. My three kids have all enjoyed Dicken and learned so much. My oldest has made a smooth transition to Slauson Middle School. There are lunch time enrichment activities like singing, gardening, and recycling. The annual Dicken Woods Walk which takes place in February is a time for the whole Dicken neighborhood and Dicken students to interact by walking through Dicken woods lit up with hundreds of decorated vases. The art teacher at Dicken is phenomenal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

We just moved to the area, and were excited to have our kids in Ann Arbor schools. It is nice to be in a better school system than where we were previously. However, we are a bit disappointed with Dicken because the environment is not a friendly one. My kids complain every day that all they hear is teachers yelling at kids. My son's teacher has been wonderful...keeps parents informed on learning and happenings through weekly newsletters. My daughter, who is in 4th grade, used to LOVE school, but now she hates it because it is not a happy place of learning/lacks nurturing (she came home from school on her first day and cried for an hour). I am now worried that she is losing her love of learning :( I like how this is really a neighborhood school and lots of involvement from parents. The Dicken Dash was a fantastic fundraiser. I also love that the kids get to bring home fresh veggies from the school garden!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

After being at Dicken for 6 years, we decided to move to another school within the Slauson cluster. Others have commented here that other schools are academically superior to Dicken- this is absolutely the case. Dicken is mediocre at best. Ask any parent who transferred from Dicken to another AAPS school - they all say the same thing. If you are in the Slauson cluster, you can do much better than Dicken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

We moved our children because they were unhappy here . There are many schools in Ann arbor that have much better learning environments .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

We have been at Dicken for 6 years and the thing that I appreciate most is the diversity of the community both ethnically and socio-economically. I also appreciate the high participation rate of parent volunteers from the full range of that diversity. At our impressive Community of Cultures celebration this year, the principal shared that there are over 70 languages spoken at our school. I feel that this teaches lessons that cannot be taught from a book. The sense of community at this school is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

This is a very average school. There are a lot of folks writing positive reviews right now because they would like to raise the status of their local school and their community and housing value. But having moved out of this neighborhood and moved my children to another location, i am stunned at how different and better the education is in other schools in ann arbor. Sorry to burst everyone's bubble, but you should know the truth. Good luck .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

We have been at Dicken Elementary for six years and we couldn't be happier. It provides a diverse environment of caring teachers, staff and parents working toward the common goal of providing the best possible education for our children. It is more than a school, it is a community that helps one another both inside and outside the classroom. I would recommend it without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Dicken has been a fabulous school for our children. We deeply appreciate the hard work and dedication shown every day by the teachers and staff. The community is diverse and vibrant, with an active PTO that facilitates numerous enriching field trips and activities for all students. Our children are very happy at Dicken where they are well taught and well nurtured. We feel very lucky to be part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

Exceptional, inclusive and responsive learning environment. When my oldest son transferred (from a private school in Detroit) to Dicken in 4th grade, his transition was absolutely seamless. I was truly amazed by the altruism and warmth his teacher and fellow classmates displayed. These characteristics are demonstrated throughout Dicken s entire learning community each and every day: from the principal and staff, to the parents and volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

I believe that where we choose to spend our time is a clear reflection of that place's importance to us. There are a great number of very-involved and creative parent volunteers at Dicken who have made it a priority to provide amazing (free) noon-time enrichment programs for all students. Our PTO has gone to great lengths to ensure teacher priorities and educator support is at the forefront of investment for our hard-earned funds, and has created a truly wonderful literacy and Fine-Arts focused assembly curriculum for students as well. I am so proud to send my kids to Dicken, and am constantly amazed by the generosity and kindness of our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Dicken has wonderful teachers who are warm, caring and make everyone feel welcome. They consistently go above and beyond the call of duty. Dicken also has a Principal who is always around in the hallways and always available. Every day I pick up my children I see him there making sure every child is safely on the bus. It is a school that is safe, clean and beautiful inside and out. The families of the community really bring something special to the school. There is a tremendous amount of involvement from parents in and around the school. That includes an outstanding PTO that is incredibly successful with fundraising. There are also great parents who volunteer their time providing extracurricular activities during school, coaching the Rec and Ed programs for the school s teams, and supporting the many special events held at the school. I feel very fortunate to have my kids attending Dicken Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Our family loves this school. The principal, staff and teachers are committed to each child achieving their academic potential. Parents are always welcome at the school and do a tremendous amount of volunteering, including enrichment activities. The participation in the Washtenaw Elementary Science Olympiad is amazing. We have always had excellent interactions with the principal and teachers. We also appreciate the tremendous diversity at the school and the respect shown toward different cultural, racial and ethnic backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

I have two children attending Dicken and couldn t be more pleased with the quality of teachers and the school. We switched from South Arbor to Dicken, and find the community of support is amazing. Dicken parents live close by and can drop in to help. It is amazing how much help parents provide during class room activities, and it is true they helkp the students in the lower level grades by providing one on one tutoring that you don t find everywhere. The "ROAR" reading program was created by Dicken parents and makes a difference. Principal Madison is passionate about his work, and his enthusiasm for helping students is contagious. The principal is at almost every evening event, which averages several per week. The PTO is the most active around, with all kinds of activities enhancing the children s education such as a choir that practices at recess, a Thanksgiving potluck, icecream social, a high percentage of participation in the year end science competition, and local community support that helps with huge donations of goods and shared revenue. The best thing is the kids enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

Our family didn't have a good experience at this school. My son went to first grade and his teacher was terrible. I visited the class several times throughout the year and it was always the room mom teaching the kids. Not to mention the scandal with the principal that made national headlines. I enrolled my children in a school outside of the Ann Arbor school district this year and we won't be back. The Ann Arbor school board is a joke. Just do a little research online about the Dicken Elementary principal and you'll see what I'm talking about. I can't go into detail here because of the website's rules on commenting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

This is an excellent school, and the leadership is fantastic. Parent involvement is phenomenal, and one reason is that the principal is very open to parental involvement, new ideas and new programs. He is an excellent leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

I have had kids at the school for the last six years and I could be happier with everything about Dicken! I am at the school often and see the teachers, principal, and parental support in action. They are a well oiled machine! Excellent all around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

Most of the staff and students at this school are excellent. But i am disappointed with the Principal , another reviewer said he is 'All business' and that is completely accurate. Let someone who cares about the staff and kids run the elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 69%
African-American 15% 18%
Asian 11% 3%
Multiracial 9% 2%
Hispanic 8% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael Madison
Fax number
  • (734) 997-1884

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2135 Runnymede Blvd
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-1928

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eberwhite School
Ann Arbor, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT