Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Ann Arbor, MI
Students enrolled: 349
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eberwhite School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
Dicken is a wonderful community that gets better every year. Our 5th year at Dicken and this learning community has great leadership of the Principal and PTO. Students are challenged to excel. The staff spends a lot of time assessing and meeting the needs of the individual child. The PTO benefits from parent and volunteer involvement that allows educational, healthy activities throughout the year (i.e Dicken Dash, Dicken Garden, Community of Cultures, Super Science Day,,,the list goes on). In addition, Dicken is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood with tree lined streets and sidewalks that make walking and biking to school a snap.

Eberwhite School 2

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
For academically strong children, this school is pretty good, though a bit - as a previous poster put it - "tired". Alternately, they don't flinch when passing children with failing grades, and they lower expectations when a child and/or their parent(s) don't put in any effort. They are more concerned about looking good on paper, being politically correct, and keeping up the numbers than the actual academic experience of the child. Major disappointment for the kids who need the school's help the most.


Eberwhite School 1

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Eberwhite has become a school more interested in productivity than individual students learning experiences. Bullying is a problem and is not only perpetrated by fellow students but by teachers and the principal as well. Of course, this outrageous behavior all takes place under the guise of what is best for the students! The school is so far from a nurturing educational environment it is terrifying. If you want your kids to be able to follow rules only and not to be able to think for themselves than this is the place for you. They are very busy making sure kids are productive and the school looks good on paper. I never expected such a unthoughtful, unsupportive educational experience would be what my child would experience in a well educated town.

Eberwhite School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
We moved to Eberwhite several years ago and are overwhelmingly thrilled with how wonderful it is. The principal is phenomenal. The teachers have all been excellent (i have three children here). Many of them have been there a long time because they love it and show that love in how they interact with each other and with the students / community. The community is warm, down to earth, welcoming, and diverse. There is never a shortage of volunteers, and i'm always amazed at the variety and creativity that pervades the classroom activiites and the fieldtrips etc. Academically it is leaps and bounds above the school we attended previously (which is in the district a few miles away) . Might i add, that there is an absolutely amazing music teacher (AMAZING) and fabulous gym teacher and, well, when you have so many brilliant staff under one roof, you just can't go wrong.

Eberwhite School 3

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
Overall it's been an OK year for my kids. However it seems like things are really disorganized. The teachers seem more frazzled and are less patient. Even the building looks dirty and tired. Does anyone ever mow the grass, trim bushes or pull weeds?


Eberwhite School 5

Posted October 06, 2011
- a parent
We have been meaning to write this for quite some time, as we love Eberwhite School! The teachers work hard, the kids are happy, and both the current and past principal are and have been outstanding! This staff is receptive and works well with parents. The past principal worked hard at improving the site to make it welcoming to all families. Her dedication set the tone for the new principal, who is continuing on with a high level of service to the school. Eberwhite is a great place!

Eberwhite School 3

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
In our experience, Eberwhite is a mixed bag. The EDO kindergarten teacher is top-notch, really excellent. The wooden playground and the surrounding forest are great. However, the 2nd and 3rd grade teachers seem like they're just 'putting their time in.' The principal is not accountable to parents. Her decision-making is arbitrary. At school functions, her main focus is "inclusion/tolerance," especially since Eberwhite is a magnet school for developmentally disabled children across the district. This is appropriate, but academic excellence for the average, above average, or gifted student does not seem to be a priority for her. Overall, the curriculum does not seem very challenging. Many parents supplement with up to 1-2 hours of homeschooling/day so that their kids learn something. Several neighborhood families have recently sent their kids to private school. Eberwhite is not a bad school, but it is not a great school either.

Eberwhite School 3

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
There are many things to like about Eberwhite. One is that the kids can walk to school. There is a crossing guard that helps them across the main road if they need it. You meet a lot of parents and kids that way and there is a real sense of community. Also, there are "Eberwhite Woods" surrounding the school. The kids take "Woods Walks" and learn about nature "in their own backyard." And this year some parents started a garden on school property and distributed the harvest to the classrooms. Another thing to like is that after school many kids stay and play on the all wood playground, even in winter. This also adds to the community feeling. Finally, the hallways and bathrooms were refurbished this year, making the school more cheery and modern. The only things that could improve are probably the math curriculum (a little weak) and foreign language learning (none offered), but overall it is a very nice school in a great neighborhood.


Eberwhite School 5

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
Great experience transferring into the second grade from another school. We were very pleased with the over all classroom experience. My child has developed well this year and we hope will have an equal or better time next year.

Eberwhite School 3

Posted June 29, 2006
- a parent
I think that Eberwhite is a bit overrated. I think the surrounding neighborhood is a great place to live but I think that the school isn't everything it has been talked up to be. Academically I think that the test scores are low compared to other schools in the district. My child was bored last year and learned very little. I think that the teachers could be more involved, more enthusiastic, more encouraging and a bit more sensitive to everybody's needs, not just the children that bring attention to themselves by acting out in a negative way. There were quite a few school functions where I did not see one teacher in attendance from Eberwhite. I think if they brought in younger more enthusiastic teachers, Eberwhite would greatly prosper!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eberwhite School
800 Soule Boulevard, Ann Arbor, MI  48103
(734) 994-1934
Last modified Eberwhite School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eberwhite School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top