Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eberwhite School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
I went to an orientation once but that's it so I truly do not know...but based on instincts only if say yes.

Eberwhite School 4

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
The feeling was comfortable from the staff and building. The building did look a little run down but it didn't feel abandoned or strange in any way. Could be a good thing because my house isn't always kept up perfectly because our attention goes to the kids mostly. I really feel this school is down to earth goodness for education!


Eberwhite School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Principal Bill Harris goes above and beyond to care for the students, families and staff at Eberwhite. In the past week, I've seen him helping a special needs student clean up after a bathroom accident, saw him serving school lunches when the lunch line got backed up, and saw him fill in for a paraprofessional when no sub was available. Never afraid to get his hands dirty, no job is too small for Mr.Harris.

Eberwhite School 5

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
Eberwhite has met all of our expectations and more. We have had three children attend over the years and have never been concerned about the quality of learning - it is top notch. The staff are highly organized, caring, and committed. The community of parents are welcoming and fun. Excellent transition to middle school which is just down the street. We love it.

Eberwhite School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
Dicken is a wonderful community that gets better every year. Our 5th year at Dicken and this learning community has great leadership of the Principal and PTO. Students are challenged to excel. The staff spends a lot of time assessing and meeting the needs of the individual child. The PTO benefits from parent and volunteer involvement that allows educational, healthy activities throughout the year (i.e Dicken Dash, Dicken Garden, Community of Cultures, Super Science Day,,,the list goes on). In addition, Dicken is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood with tree lined streets and sidewalks that make walking and biking to school a snap.


Eberwhite School 2

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
For academically strong children, this school is pretty good, though a bit - as a previous poster put it - "tired". Alternately, they don't flinch when passing children with failing grades, and they lower expectations when a child and/or their parent(s) don't put in any effort. They are more concerned about looking good on paper, being politically correct, and keeping up the numbers than the actual academic experience of the child. Major disappointment for the kids who need the school's help the most.

Eberwhite School 1

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Eberwhite has become a school more interested in productivity than individual students learning experiences. Bullying is a problem and is not only perpetrated by fellow students but by teachers and the principal as well. Of course, this outrageous behavior all takes place under the guise of what is best for the students! The school is so far from a nurturing educational environment it is terrifying. If you want your kids to be able to follow rules only and not to be able to think for themselves than this is the place for you. They are very busy making sure kids are productive and the school looks good on paper. I never expected such a unthoughtful, unsupportive educational experience would be what my child would experience in a well educated town.

Eberwhite School 3

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
Overall it's been an OK year for my kids. However it seems like things are really disorganized. The teachers seem more frazzled and are less patient. Even the building looks dirty and tired. Does anyone ever mow the grass, trim bushes or pull weeds?


Eberwhite School 5

Posted October 06, 2011
- a parent
We have been meaning to write this for quite some time, as we love Eberwhite School! The teachers work hard, the kids are happy, and both the current and past principal are and have been outstanding! This staff is receptive and works well with parents. The past principal worked hard at improving the site to make it welcoming to all families. Her dedication set the tone for the new principal, who is continuing on with a high level of service to the school. Eberwhite is a great place!

Eberwhite School 3

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
In our experience, Eberwhite is a mixed bag. The EDO kindergarten teacher is top-notch, really excellent. The wooden playground and the surrounding forest are great. However, the 2nd and 3rd grade teachers seem like they're just 'putting their time in.' The principal is not accountable to parents. Her decision-making is arbitrary. At school functions, her main focus is "inclusion/tolerance," especially since Eberwhite is a magnet school for developmentally disabled children across the district. This is appropriate, but academic excellence for the average, above average, or gifted student does not seem to be a priority for her. Overall, the curriculum does not seem very challenging. Many parents supplement with up to 1-2 hours of homeschooling/day so that their kids learn something. Several neighborhood families have recently sent their kids to private school. Eberwhite is not a bad school, but it is not a great school either.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eberwhite School
800 Soule Boulevard, Ann Arbor, MI  48103
(734) 994-1934
Last modified Eberwhite School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eberwhite School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top