Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Forsythe Middle School 4

Posted June 27, 2014
- a community member
From a student perspective, Forsythe is like most schools, good in some ways, while also having some qualities not as desirable. My teachers this year were overall, not what I was expecting. One teacher put together arts and crafts projects with barely any meaning, while others lagged behind other classes, getting off topic daily. I was pleased with one teacher who challenged me and encouraged students to do their best. As for the principal, people really don't understand how hard it is to be principal these days. They have limited flexibility when it comes to removing unsatisfactory teachers, and if they appear a bit rude, it may only be because you have caught them at a bad time. I think the quality of education at Forsythe could be better, but is alright. This is my view on the school, and may not match with other's views. I am just trying to but in a student's point of view.

Forsythe Middle School 1

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Appearances are not what they seem. The principal is very controlling and manipulative at the expense of students and the community. It makes it into the type of school where even a charter school would be a better option.


Forsythe Middle School 3

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
I had a meeting with the principal yesterday and was pleasantly surprised by her warm and caring demeaner. I have had other unpleasant experiences with her, but yesterday was a great experience. I felt she really cared and wants to help resolve our issue.

Forsythe Middle School 1

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
The principal creates a negative and unhelpful environment. While it could be a good school otherwise, don't expect much due to the principal.

Forsythe Middle School 2

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
Athletics are great, academics not so great. Principal does not know how to treat children with respect.. When teachers repeatedly ask the kids to get their parents to write a letter of complaint to the superintendant about her, that says something! Several teachers should have retired years ago, their old school teaching is boring and their inability to accommodate kids' different learning styles is a shame. Having had two other children go through Forsythe with the previous administration, I am sadly disappointed!


Forsythe Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2009
- a parent
Forsythe is a great school. I've had 2 children go there in the past and they loved it. The teachers were great. They had a great learning facility at Forsythe. Any child to go there is a very lucky child.

Forsythe Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Forsythe Middle School 2

Posted September 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Forsythe Middle School 4

Posted August 24, 2007
- a parent
This middle school does an excellent job of creating a warm and caring environment where children feel safe to pursue an education that is bound only by their own curiosity and work commitment. The teachers are excellent, highly educated and committed, there are many clubs and teams where all are welcomed, the music program is outstanding and support staff takes a real interest in you and your child.

Forsythe Middle School 3

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
Most of the teachers at this school use approaches to instruction that are outdated and incredibly boring. Very little imagination is demonstrated in this school. There is also a annual science fair where students are forced to participate and little instruction is provided. A positive is that a lot of good athletes have come from this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Forsythe Middle School
1655 Newport Road, Ann Arbor, MI  48103
(734) 994-1985
Last modified Forsythe Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Forsythe Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top