Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Forsythe Middle School 3

Posted October 02, 2015
- a student
Forsythe is not spectacularly amazing, nor is it spectacularly terrible. I've had about 13 different teachers at Forsythe, 4 of who I did not learn anything from, 3 who are average, 5 who are above average, and one who is absolutely amazing. This one amazing teacher is Ms. Caird! She is an example of an amazing teacher who encourages her students to strive for their best, she is so knowledgeable and nice! Sadly not all teachers are like her. Some teachers have gotten way off topic, skipped chapters, or made us do useless projects. Others are just average, not too good not too bad. The school culture it's alright, the new principal seems reasonable and nice. Forsythe is a place you can survive, you might be lucky and strike gold.

Forsythe Middle School 1

Posted March 14, 2015
- a parent
I would never recommend this school for any child. My children come home upset daily. There is chronic bullying. When there is a fight, only the Caucasian students are suspended. There are groups of intimidating students that push others into walls, pull hair and threaten. They are never stopped. My children have gone here for two years and these same kids are allowed to live their reign of terror. I will be removing my children from this school as soon as possible.


Forsythe Middle School 4

Posted June 27, 2014
- a community member
From a student perspective, Forsythe is like most schools, good in some ways, while also having some qualities not as desirable. My teachers this year were overall, not what I was expecting. One teacher put together arts and crafts projects with barely any meaning, while others lagged behind other classes, getting off topic daily. I was pleased with one teacher who challenged me and encouraged students to do their best. As for the principal, people really don't understand how hard it is to be principal these days. They have limited flexibility when it comes to removing unsatisfactory teachers, and if they appear a bit rude, it may only be because you have caught them at a bad time. I think the quality of education at Forsythe could be better, but is alright. This is my view on the school, and may not match with other's views. I am just trying to but in a student's point of view.

Forsythe Middle School 1

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Appearances are not what they seem. The principal is very controlling and manipulative at the expense of students and the community. It makes it into the type of school where even a charter school would be a better option.

Forsythe Middle School 3

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
I had a meeting with the principal yesterday and was pleasantly surprised by her warm and caring demeaner. I have had other unpleasant experiences with her, but yesterday was a great experience. I felt she really cared and wants to help resolve our issue.


Forsythe Middle School 1

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
The principal creates a negative and unhelpful environment. While it could be a good school otherwise, don't expect much due to the principal.

Forsythe Middle School 2

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
Athletics are great, academics not so great. Principal does not know how to treat children with respect.. When teachers repeatedly ask the kids to get their parents to write a letter of complaint to the superintendant about her, that says something! Several teachers should have retired years ago, their old school teaching is boring and their inability to accommodate kids' different learning styles is a shame. Having had two other children go through Forsythe with the previous administration, I am sadly disappointed!

Forsythe Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2009
- a parent
Forsythe is a great school. I've had 2 children go there in the past and they loved it. The teachers were great. They had a great learning facility at Forsythe. Any child to go there is a very lucky child.


Forsythe Middle School 4

Posted August 24, 2007
- a parent
This middle school does an excellent job of creating a warm and caring environment where children feel safe to pursue an education that is bound only by their own curiosity and work commitment. The teachers are excellent, highly educated and committed, there are many clubs and teams where all are welcomed, the music program is outstanding and support staff takes a real interest in you and your child.

Forsythe Middle School 3

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
Most of the teachers at this school use approaches to instruction that are outdated and incredibly boring. Very little imagination is demonstrated in this school. There is also a annual science fair where students are forced to participate and little instruction is provided. A positive is that a lot of good athletes have come from this school.

Nearby schools

Forsythe Middle School
1655 Newport Road, Ann Arbor, MI  48103
(734) 994-1985
Last modified Forsythe Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top