Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Haisley Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 419 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2013

A wonderful, caring, progressive, open environment for kids to enjoy their first years of school. From the principal, Mrs. Scarnecchia, to every one of the teachers I have encountered (especially Mrs. McGee!!), I have found this school to be above and beyond expectations. VERY happy with it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I am only giving this school 3 stars because the principle is aweful. The teachers are super awesome. I have heard from several parents that she is abrasive, cold and fake. However the teachers are incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

So sad to hear that the current principal retired. She was fantastic! Really cares about kids and is always around in the hallways, on the playground and in classrooms. She has really turned around the bullying problem and all three of my children feel happy and safe. The education they receive at Haisley is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The school has been a top notch school for over 50 years!


Posted October 9, 2009

warm loving upbeat atmosphere Effective education A wonderful place for anyone to be in
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We embrace diversity of all kinds! Our self contained physically handicapped students are mainstreamed and integrated with our general education classes and special friendships are made with students and staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

Haisley has the best, most caring teachers, and a program that is about so much more than academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Haisley Elementary has been an outstanding school for my kids. They have grown and expanded their horizons due to the wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Both of my granddaughters have attended Haisley School. I have always been impressed by the great teachers and activities they have for the children. For example last year the whole school was involved in learning Spanish. Even the Kindergarten classes.


Posted October 5, 2009

Great teacher that go above and beyond the call of duty =]] I feel lucky that I had the opportunity to put 3 kids through Haisley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers and staff are amazingly committed to these students and provide outstanding guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Haisley is awesome! A warm, welcoming and wonderful place to learn and grow. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Great Kid, great staff, great families, great Principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Haisley is an amazing place to TEACH and to LEARN! The students are amazing and the parents. I LOVE my job!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

A great school with a close knit community of students, parents and teachers! No worries because the teachers are first rate and the whole school is exceptional in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The teachers are excellent, highly skilled and very committed to the students. The parents are actively involved and volunteer in numerous ways to help our school reach its full potential. The principal is enthusiastic and the students cooperate and participate and work hard to leanr and grow every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

We love Haisley School. The atmosphere is one of learning and caring. Parents are always welcome to volunteer and encouraged to be involved with their children's school experience. There are many wonderful learning events offered for the children. The principle is active and visible at the school. The special education teams are second to none and are committed to working with the children who have special needs. We feel so fortunate to have our childen at Haisley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

Haisley is an outstanding school. I have high expectations for my children and so do the teachers at Haisley. The kids are truly challenged. The PTO is very active and there are parents in the school helping every day. This is a quality school. I feel very lucky to have my children attending Haisley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2006

Haisley is very strong in academic program. I have 2 boys in Haisley and they love it. The extracurricular activities are strong. The art program doesn't just teach them about impressionist artists, she lets them make it. Same in the library, computer lab and gym. Parental involvement is the key. Parents care and are always here to help. Some parents do more than others, and all do what they can. It is the best there is in Ann Arbor. I can't tell you how happy I am with the faculty. The principal sets the tone and it is that the children come first. The new multi-purpose room will open Fall 2006 and will be beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

this is a fantastic school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 69%
Multiracial 14% 2%
African-American 11% 18%
Asian 9% 3%
Hispanic 5% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kathleen Scarnecchia
Fax number
  • (734) 994-1371

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

825 Duncan St
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-1937

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Abbot School
Ann Arbor, MI





Eberwhite School
Ann Arbor, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT