Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Haisley Elementary School 2

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I am not a complainer. That being said, I do have some complaints about Haisley. My son went there from second through fifth grade. We had an awesome intro year with Ms. Everett. Couldn't ask for a better teacher. After that, not great experiences. Especially fifth- I have to say that my son (while having fun his last year), was woefully underprepared for middle school. Fifth grade he would come home with no homework regularly, and didn't do a single long-term project. Honestly one of my biggest complaints was one of the office staff. Flat out rude and always made me feel like I was imposing on her when I needed something. It made for a very unwelcoming atmposhere and I always left with a bad taste in my mouth. The other office staff was amazing.

Haisley Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Office staff is wonderful. They are kind and hard working. They are really nice to the kids.


Haisley Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
The homework is a waste of time and too easy for most students. I compared it with friends at Angell and I couldn't believe it.

Haisley Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
This school focuses on low achieving students and leave average and high achievers to fend for themselves.

Haisley Elementary School 2

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Kids were not ready for middle school. The middle school teachers are very open in letting parents know that Haisley students don't come in prepared (especially in math). The third grade is a mess. There are really no great options there. Last year we had 30 kids in our class and the principal had no idea how to advocate for the students (and teachers) at the district level. I moved my kids over to Wines and it was the right move. You can really see the difference. The buck stops at the principal and this principal has been shuffled from school to school. The school (while not perfect) was much better under previous leadership. Parents have voiced concerned to the district but nothing has changed. It's no surprise that this school's "great school" rating has gone from 9 to 7. The good thing to know about Ann Arbor is if you move into a specific area and you're aligned to a school, you can do school of choice in Feb/March. A good way to know the good schools is to look at the schools that are leftover with space after school of choice. Haisley is one of them. Hope the district steps in and turns this school around. It can be great again.


Haisley Elementary School 3

Posted June 27, 2014
- a community member
As I look back on my years at Haisley, I see fun times, but also times of great boredom. In some classes, teachers failed to challenge me. One teacher let me finish the math book and then do whatever I want for a month before the end of school. Another teacher ranked kids by how smart they were. Other memories were better, with fun, engaging teachers who challenged and encouraged their students to do their best. The current principal is doing an average job. Sometimes I felt she was talking to 5th graders in a voice that should be used for little kids. That experience was not ideal. This is my view on the school, and may not match others. I am trying to voice a student's perspective.

Haisley Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
A wonderful, caring, progressive, open environment for kids to enjoy their first years of school. From the principal, Mrs. Scarnecchia, to every one of the teachers I have encountered (especially Mrs. McGee!!), I have found this school to be above and beyond expectations. VERY happy with it!!!

Haisley Elementary School 3

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
I am only giving this school 3 stars because the principle is aweful. The teachers are super awesome. I have heard from several parents that she is abrasive, cold and fake. However the teachers are incredible.


Haisley Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
So sad to hear that the current principal retired. She was fantastic! Really cares about kids and is always around in the hallways, on the playground and in classrooms. She has really turned around the bullying problem and all three of my children feel happy and safe. The education they receive at Haisley is top notch!

Haisley Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
The school has been a top notch school for over 50 years!

Nearby schools

Haisley Elementary School
825 Duncan Street, Ann Arbor, MI  48103
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (734) 994-1937
Last modified Haisley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top