Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mary D. Mitchell School 5

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
My children are having a great experience so far. Loving the changes in curriculum and curious where the IB program will take the school.

Mary D. Mitchell School 1

Posted April 24, 2015
- a teacher
Unhappy ex perience. Im glad my kids dont attend. Some students are very disruptive, ruins the whole learning experience.


Mary D. Mitchell School 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
The staff here has been incredible all through my children's education. In the last few years they have also added a number of after-school and extracurricular programs run by student teachers from U-Mich. They seem to have a bad rep because of low state test scores but the attentiveness, learning growth and experience my children have had since moving to Ann Arbor have been incredible. Highly rated!

Mary D. Mitchell School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
My child has been going to this school since 1st grade. Love this place. Teachers are great and the new principle Mr. Karr is doing everything to make this school better. Love the fact that Ann Arbor Schools is very diversified, and that the U of M parentership is helping to improve this school and Scarlet as well.

Mary D. Mitchell School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
I have been at Mitchell for all 5 years. Since Mr. Karr took over and the U of M partnership is in place, I have never been happier. We live in a different area of ann arbor and I do an in district transfer just to go here! Caring knowledgeable teachers and with an amazing principal like Mr. Karr, we will continue to go far and its the students that will benefit the most.


Mary D. Mitchell School 5

Posted July 07, 2010
- a parent
After 8 years I'm no longer a Mitchell parent.I'm very proud to say that my girls had a great elementary school experience there. Principal Kathy Scarnecchia and her staff do an outstanding job of forming good students and good citizens. Many of the Mitchell teachers own children go to school there and a lot of the staff live in the neighborhood. Having your child in such a nurturing and diverse atmosphere gives them a strong foundation for life. I highly urge you to give Mitchell a strong look.

Mary D. Mitchell School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Mitchell has loved, educated and nurtured my three boys and continues to be a great neighborhood school.

Mary D. Mitchell School 4

Posted June 28, 2007
- a parent
The individual attention, dedication of the teachers is amazing. Sam's Club Teacher of Year winner of 2006-2007 school year is part of the teachers there. My children were with the 2nd grade teacher, Ms Babcock. They were behind in math entering the 2nd grade and hated math. I was amazed at her eagerness to assist me, and include me in the plan to get them on target. Ms.Babcock turn my girls attitude around, they became excited about learning new things including MATH! The last field trip of the year, I assisted with the life guard reported to us adults they have never had children so well behaved.

Nearby schools

Mary D. Mitchell School
3550 Pittsview Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48108
(734) 997-1216
Last modified Mary D. Mitchell School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top