Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northside Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2016
- a parent
Transfering to this school was the best thing for our son. He was extremely unhappy when we were in another district and we finally decided we had to make a change. We started at Northside during the STEAM inaugural year of 2014. The project based learning has been a great fit for him and he loves project lead the way. The teachers and staff have been great and I have found them to be very kind and caring.

Northside Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 09, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are top notch. They are the best of the best. They do a great job.


Northside Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted July 09, 2016
- a parent
I wouldn't use the team grit, although I suppose that is a popular buzz word at the moment. I do think it develops persistenc and determination. The projects they work on (at least at the 5+'level) are lengthy and involved.

Northside Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 09, 2016
- a parent
The overall theme for the 2015-2016 school year was about compassion and caring for others and the environment.

Northside Elementary School 2

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
I was visiting the school and I did not feel very comfortable with the environment. A couple kids were screaming at each other in the hallway and it seemed to me that the assistant principal was more amused by this than concerned. Because I am a parent, I know that kids are going to scream at each other from time to time, but I don't think it is ever appropriate for an administrator to find the screaming amusing.


Northside Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
Same reason as before...respect can not develop in an environment where an authority figure comes across as being amused by a screaming match.

Northside Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
Again, if an administrator comes across as being amused by student conflicts, in my opinion, that does not promote compassion or empathy.

Northside Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
If an assistant principal finds a conflict among students to be amusing that is a huge warning sign to me that something is not right at the school.


Northside Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
I think the school secretaries are very kind and welcoming. They greeted me with a smile and they seemed to listen intently to each parent that came in.

Northside Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
I haven't met many of the teachers, but I do know from working in public relations that leadership can have a huge impact on the ability of employees to do their job. I have seen this occur in many different work environments...if the person in charge treats serious situations like a joke that is never a good sign.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northside Elementary School
912 Barton Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (734) 994-1958
Last modified Northside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top