Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pattengill School

Public | 3-5 | 330 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

I think there are good teachers at Pattengill and the principal although new, is trying to sort things out. But there is a reverse discrimination problem at this school which interferes greatly with feelings of safety and accomplishment. Too many fights among the kids and too little accountability makes kids stressed and angry about how they will be perceived if they report being bullied. This is a huge problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

We love Bryant/ Pattengill because of the diversity, principal, and dedicated teachers. I was an elementary teacher, subbed at Bryant/Pattengill, and volunteered extensively in and out of the classrooms. I've had 3 kids go to Bryant/Pattengill, Tappan, and Pioneer and I have another child at Pattengill. My kids' learning levels range from low to high and all of their individual needs have been met. I love that it's social studies everyday just by attending class. I've seen Bryan/Pattengill teachers handle discipline problems with care while also preventing disruptive students from hindering learning for others. For my older kids, the instruments, student council, Girls on the Run, languages, rec & ed sports, and the talent show offered at Pattengill led into band, leadership, testing out of college language requirements, sports, and theatre all through high school. I also really like that all of Pattengill stays together for Tappan and Pioneer, which helped make a big school feel smaller. Last but not least, I like the division of k-2 and 3-5 because with so many teachers at each grade, it is easy to find a good match-up for your child's learning style with a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

I have substitute taught at this school in the past. Teachers are friendly and highly qualified. I am a veteran teacher and was very impressed with the split grade classrooms and the special needs program. I would recommend this school !
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 18, 2011

Love everything about Pattengill! Couldn't pay any amount of money to have had a better teacher than my son had last year. Truly challenged the advanced kids and directed the class with such warmth! Also love all the after school classes offered. Hard for him to choose between Lego Robotics, flag football and chinese!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2010

The new principal is a friendly person, intent on making the school better than before. It has good, hardworking staff, and we are pleased with their performance. The things that are issues is the newness of the principal, and whenever an institution runs a big push to improve and implement new ideas, sometimes it is a trial and error experience. Overall, we are quite pleased with the performance and enthusiasm of the school's staff. It's a nice school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

My experience was less then optimal and although the teachers were very nice In my opinion the teach the test. However the children did not retain much and it is very easy to get lost in the masses. Cultural diversity does not mean cultural division and the schools flag ceremony in place of the pledge reminded me of a funeral.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

We our very happy with Pattengill School. Our daughter has received a great all-around education so far. The teachers are top-notch. There is also great parents who give much of their time to make the school even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

Excellent School. This is a safe school with highly valued diversity and academics. Has provided a nurturing and challenging education to three of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

We've been very pleased with our experience at Pattengill. We like the age-specific opportunities focused on grades 3-5; the setting is a bit more 'mature' and the kids have a great sense of pride being at the 'big' school. There are many enrichment activities at Pattengill: academic games, science olympiad, performing arts classes (to name just a few) and many highly committed parents. We love the great diversity and how the staff handles differences through the multi-age Puma Pride character program and peer training. Teachers are fantastic and very dedicated to the success of every child. My oldest of three is soaring through middle school academically and socially thanks to great preparation at Bryant and Pattengill-- two of the best kept secrets in Ann Arbor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

My son is not very challenged here. Much too easy for his ability. We moved here from out of state and he would definately be behind if we would move back there. No languages offered, no extracurriculars, no drama. Very little parental involement and very little information provided by administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 69%
African-American 22% 18%
Multiracial 13% 2%
Asian 11% 3%
Hispanic 10% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Melita Alston
Fax number
  • (734) 994-1276

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Organize cultural events
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 Crestland Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-1961

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Summers-Knoll School
Ann Arbor, MI


John Allen School
Ann Arbor, MI


Clonlara School
Ann Arbor, MI


Central Academy
Ann Arbor, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT