Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pattengill School 1

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter had a terrible time at this school. The principal, Melita Alston, was of little to no help in addressing serious concerns about her staff and how certain children are targeted and tracked. After two years of trying to cope, we transferred our daughter to another, better ranked, Ann Arbor school. While at that school, we watched our child flourish under the care and professionalism of a much more competent principal and a teaching staff.

Pattengill School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
Our child had endured almost two years with teachers that bullied her and made her feel as though she didn't matter. The last month of her second year at this school, she was transferred to Ms. Blair's classroom and finally received the care and understanding she deserved. My daughter went from crying in the car every morning on our way to school, to actually wanting and looking forward to going to school.


Pattengill School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
My child's 4th grade teacher (Ms. Cheladyn) and the social worker (Ms Elster) helped her learn to manage her anxieties and emotions in a sensitive and effective way, so that she was better able to focus and learn.

Pattengill School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
My 5th grader has about 5-20 minutes of homework a night. When there is testing or special projects, they get a night off

Pattengill School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
Melita Alston is a kind, caring, effective and involved Principal. I always feel that I can come to her if I feel concerns aren't being addressed by my child's teacher.


Pattengill School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
Pattengill/Bryant are full of diversity and pride. Our kids love the environment and are excited to be in such an amazingly supportive school with all of their neighborhood friends and families. Pattengill is a focus school and the principle puts together score statistics every year to show how much the test scores have improved to close the gap. It is refreshing to see school educators and leaders help our students not only do the best they can in school but also be the best persons they can be. Don't hesitate to put your child in this school, you will not regret it!

Pattengill School 2

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
My child is not happy at Pattengill. Most of the teachers at Bryant and Pattengill don't actually live in Ann Arbor. I feel it's beneficial for children to have teachers that are a part of their local community. Perhaps Pattengill and Bryant don't pay salaries to cover the cost of living in Ann Arbor. The kids are given a lot of homework to compensate for what they don't actually learn at school. Several of the Bryant/Pattengill teachers skip classroom recess because they don't have time for everything in the curriculum. I feel it's important for kids to have breaks and to go outdoors in order to be able to refresh and return to class and focus on learning. Most Ann Arbor public schools are very good. Unfortunately Pattengill and Bryant are not as good as the other elementary schools in the district.

Pattengill School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Great environment for learning. My child is excited to go to school everyday. The staff of the school is exceptional.


Pattengill School 4

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
These two schools are one of Ann arbor's hidden treasures. This diverse community is preparing our children for life as it is in the world. The education, experiences, and friendships my child is receiving are bar none the greatest option in Ann Arbor. Best of all, my boy loves it too!

Pattengill School 5

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Our school has a dynamic team of dedicated and enthusiastic teachers and a Principal who care about and know each child and strive to teach each child at his or her academic level through differentiated instruction. Our school has a very diverse population, which allow the children to form friendships across racial, religious and socio-economic groups, preparing them to succeed in the multi-cultural world in which we live. Additionally, our school has strong instruction in library sciences, art, music, band and physical education to complement the primary academic subjects. Our school further offers opportunities for students to participate in a wide variety of extra-curricular activities before and after school. Finally, the school community and climate is supportive and friendly for children and parents alike.

Nearby schools

Pattengill School
2100 Crestland Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48104
(734) 994-1961
Last modified Pattengill School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top