Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pattengill School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
Pattengill/Bryant are full of diversity and pride. Our kids love the environment and are excited to be in such an amazingly supportive school with all of their neighborhood friends and families. Pattengill is a focus school and the principle puts together score statistics every year to show how much the test scores have improved to close the gap. It is refreshing to see school educators and leaders help our students not only do the best they can in school but also be the best persons they can be. Don't hesitate to put your child in this school, you will not regret it!

Pattengill School 2

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
My child is not happy at Pattengill. Most of the teachers at Bryant and Pattengill don't actually live in Ann Arbor. I feel it's beneficial for children to have teachers that are a part of their local community. Perhaps Pattengill and Bryant don't pay salaries to cover the cost of living in Ann Arbor. The kids are given a lot of homework to compensate for what they don't actually learn at school. Several of the Bryant/Pattengill teachers skip classroom recess because they don't have time for everything in the curriculum. I feel it's important for kids to have breaks and to go outdoors in order to be able to refresh and return to class and focus on learning. Most Ann Arbor public schools are very good. Unfortunately Pattengill and Bryant are not as good as the other elementary schools in the district.


Pattengill School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Great environment for learning. My child is excited to go to school everyday. The staff of the school is exceptional.

Pattengill School 4

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
These two schools are one of Ann arbor's hidden treasures. This diverse community is preparing our children for life as it is in the world. The education, experiences, and friendships my child is receiving are bar none the greatest option in Ann Arbor. Best of all, my boy loves it too!

Pattengill School 5

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Our school has a dynamic team of dedicated and enthusiastic teachers and a Principal who care about and know each child and strive to teach each child at his or her academic level through differentiated instruction. Our school has a very diverse population, which allow the children to form friendships across racial, religious and socio-economic groups, preparing them to succeed in the multi-cultural world in which we live. Additionally, our school has strong instruction in library sciences, art, music, band and physical education to complement the primary academic subjects. Our school further offers opportunities for students to participate in a wide variety of extra-curricular activities before and after school. Finally, the school community and climate is supportive and friendly for children and parents alike.


Pattengill School 2

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
I think there are good teachers at Pattengill and the principal although new, is trying to sort things out. But there is a reverse discrimination problem at this school which interferes greatly with feelings of safety and accomplishment. Too many fights among the kids and too little accountability makes kids stressed and angry about how they will be perceived if they report being bullied. This is a huge problem.

Pattengill School 4

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
We love Bryant/ Pattengill because of the diversity, principal, and dedicated teachers. I was an elementary teacher, subbed at Bryant/Pattengill, and volunteered extensively in and out of the classrooms. I've had 3 kids go to Bryant/Pattengill, Tappan, and Pioneer and I have another child at Pattengill. My kids' learning levels range from low to high and all of their individual needs have been met. I love that it's social studies everyday just by attending class. I've seen Bryan/Pattengill teachers handle discipline problems with care while also preventing disruptive students from hindering learning for others. For my older kids, the instruments, student council, Girls on the Run, languages, rec & ed sports, and the talent show offered at Pattengill led into band, leadership, testing out of college language requirements, sports, and theatre all through high school. I also really like that all of Pattengill stays together for Tappan and Pioneer, which helped make a big school feel smaller. Last but not least, I like the division of k-2 and 3-5 because with so many teachers at each grade, it is easy to find a good match-up for your child's learning style with a teacher.

Pattengill School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a teacher
I have substitute taught at this school in the past. Teachers are friendly and highly qualified. I am a veteran teacher and was very impressed with the split grade classrooms and the special needs program. I would recommend this school !


Pattengill School 5

Posted January 18, 2011
- a parent
Love everything about Pattengill! Couldn't pay any amount of money to have had a better teacher than my son had last year. Truly challenged the advanced kids and directed the class with such warmth! Also love all the after school classes offered. Hard for him to choose between Lego Robotics, flag football and chinese!

Pattengill School 4

Posted December 26, 2010
- a parent
The new principal is a friendly person, intent on making the school better than before. It has good, hardworking staff, and we are pleased with their performance. The things that are issues is the newness of the principal, and whenever an institution runs a big push to improve and implement new ideas, sometimes it is a trial and error experience. Overall, we are quite pleased with the performance and enthusiasm of the school's staff. It's a nice school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pattengill School
2100 Crestland Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48104
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (734) 994-1961
Last modified Pattengill School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top