Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pittsfield School

Public | K-5 | 245 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

My oldest daughter attends Pittsfield through school of choice, we've been here 2 years now. I absolutely love it. I had her in a Charter School previously and it was not well structured at all and there was bullying that they were not dealing with. Her first year at Pittsfield she was a tad behind but with their reading specialist she caught up in half a school year and now she is ABOVE grade level in every subject. The teachers are super awesome and the parents are as well. This is a very parent-involved school where the students know each others parents almost as well as the teachers themselves. The principal is an AWESOME lady who works hard to ensure that the school does well, the custodial staff, the office staff, everyone is amazing. Needless to say my 2nd daughter will be attending (school-of-choice) kindergarten for the 2014/2015 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

Pittsfield has been a wonderful school for all three of my children. The school has a warm, family feel. There are only two classes per grade. My kids have been supported both academically and emotionally at Pittsfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

Teachers and principal are excellent and really care about the students. We believe that our child is getting a solid, well-rounded education. (AAPS has a terrific curriculum.) It is a small school, classroom sizes are smaller than normal, and there are only two classes per grade. As a result, my child feels more secure. I wouldn't base my decision solely on MEAP scores - this school's scores are lower than district average. One reason is due to high enrollment of nonnative English speakers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

We love Pittsfield - the little school that could! The teachers and staff are enthusiastic and supportive and our experience (we have one in K and one in 2nd) with all of them has been that they go the extra mile to make sure our children are excelling and happy. I think everyone in that building knows my children personally. Saving the best for last, our Principal is the most vocal supporter of the school. She knows all of the students' names and attends every school event. We can't say enough about how much we love Pittsfield!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Pittsfield has been a very positive experience for us since enrolling in 2009 after much investigation into other options. The small size encourages great communication between teachers and staff which makes for a terrific learning atmosphere. The wonderfully diverse population gives the school a very global feel. We have been impressed by how all the kids enthusiastically participate in Science Fair, Talent Show and Student Council. Test scores don't tell the whole story. We have a high percentage of "English As Second Language" students who make great progress that standardized testing doesn't always reflect. There is a great sprit of support across grade levels which is really inspiring to watch and as a parent I feel welcome at all times. Give Pittsfield a serious look. We are glad we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

I attended this school K-5. My son is now in kindergarten there. It has maintained a small school feel, while providing a great education for students! There are only 23 students in my son's class, and his teacher works very hard to make sure that the students get the individual attention they need!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2010

The staff at Pittsfield go above and beyond to make students and parents feel at home. This small school has a lot of great teachers who invest their time and money into the students on a daily basis. The principal is always available for students and parents. She is always in the hallways talking with the students and asking them about what they had learned that day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Had problems with a punitive, erratic teacher. Transferred my children as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

I am a former student (class of 2007-08) and I absolutely loved this school. Everyone acts so kindly and like a big family. It is a great education, but not as pressured as a lot of schools. It is so fun. I love this school!!!


Posted May 28, 2009

My daughter attended Pittsfield , and we were very happy with the school. She had some difficulty in first grade with math & reading and the teacher was very quick to pick up on it and get her into a group to support her. She continued to improve greatly with the help and support of the special education teachers . She is currnetly in middle school and now achieves straight A's on a regulatr basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

We have been very happy with the school. The staff is really awesome. The teachers are always making that extra effort for the kids to perform better. We also very satisfied with the spanish language class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

I was extremely impressed with the principal of this school. She was courteous, sensitive and respected my questions. She clearly had a positive rapport with both students and teachers along with a business sense, recognizing that we live in a time of school choice. The school is growing academically and with attention to art, music, libary and developing the whole child, socially and emotionally. The children looked happy, and the school had an organized feel. I noticed that the Kindergartners are treated with high regard. They have a separate lunch, to help them get used to the potentially busy distractions of lunch period. 1st graders come in later, allowing the Ks to finish eating. Children with allergies have a nut-free table for them and their friends. Each child sanitizes hands before leaving. The salad bar offered cherry tomatoes, raisins, pears, and lettuce for all kids (not just hot lunch purchasers).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

I am a parent at Pittsfield Elementary with two different but both highly positive experiences at the school. One daughter went through the school with high achievement and good, close friendships after 6 years there. A younger child is still at the school. She entered school with learning problems and was supported to such an extent that she no longer requires special education assistance. It was a remarkable success story and a true team effort between teachers, principal, and the special ed teacher working with us. She also has made wonderful, good friends through the school. My family feels we owe much to the staff there and I volunteer as much as I can as a result. We came from Canada have been so pleased with the experience at this diverse, energized school. I've heard it referred to around Ann Arbor as a little gem of a school - it's true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

I am a alumni student of Pittsfield elementary school (class of 2005). Overall the school was okay. They were other schools in the city that were better than pittsfield but i enjoyed my years there and say it would be good for some and not for others it just matters what you opintion is about the school. It is a muti-cultered school! I loved that about it. Dedfently look into Pittfield.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 69%
Hispanic 22% 6%
African-American 20% 18%
Asian 7% 3%
Multiracial 7% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carol Shakarian
Fax number
  • (734) 997-1229

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2543 Pittsfield Blvd
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 997-1218

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carpenter School
Ann Arbor, MI


John Allen School
Ann Arbor, MI




Summers-Knoll School
Ann Arbor, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT