Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Slauson Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 762 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

The undercurrent of cliquishness and bullying that runs through Slauson creates a general atmosphere that one would expect to find in a medium security prison. Respect, tolerance and kindness have no importance in this school, and will probably remain irrelevant until they are included on the MEAP or turned into competitive sports. There is one prepackaged (and state mandated) anti bullying assembly in the fall which the principal feels is sufficient for the year, and which has zero impact on the kids. There is no dialogue or engagement with the kids, ever, about how people should treat each other. There is also no meaningful adult supervision at lunch and outside of school in the morning. Academically, the main emphasis is on student organization rather than learning. If your child has 7 teachers, they will use Powerschool 7 different ways - because they can. There are a few really amazing teachers here, and the music program is good, but other than that, this school is about adaptation, worksheet learning, and survival of the toughest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Like so many Ann Arbor schools, this is a place where many teachers earn tenure and can sit back waiting to retire. If even 10% of the teachers are awful, that's 10% too many in my view, but nothing can be done. It's true that this school is extremely cliquey, a result of the very cliquey neighborhood of families surrounding it. That seems to set the tone of the school and enough kids are able to muddle through with the bad teachers that no admin has the guts to confront poor job performance. Social environment that is hostile and bullying to some of the kids is a-okay. This school caters completely to the 60-70% who can thrive with little support or genuine challenge, the rest are just written off as misfits. We're still debating the inconvenience of transferring out. It's hard to abandon the local school but every day feels like a compromise, honestly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Although in a lot of ways, Slauson has good academics, I think that a few of the teachers and a lot of the students leave something to be desired. The teachers in question not only don't cover the material in a manner in which it is easy to understand, but often introduce situations that put students in an uncomfortable amount of stress, usually unnecessarily. And even though I've never been the target of bullying, you never have to look far to see or hear someone being singled out negatively. At times, even violence has occurred. While I've made some of the best friends of my life there and had great experiences, Slauson still has a ways to go. - A 7th Grade Student


Posted April 11, 2013

I hate this school. The teachers dont care about anything but their paychecks and don't challenge the kids whatsoever. the kids are jerks, and swearing and vulgarity are tolarated. It's full of jerks and is covered with spraypaint. If you want to be bullied this is your school. I moved here 4 months ago and kids already don't accept me. I would LOVE to transfer out of this school.


Posted April 5, 2012

This is my second year at Slauson (7th grade) and I think it is a great school! The kids here are so nice, you'll have no trouble making new friends! The curriculum is top notch, same goes for the teachers who teach it! I've learned so much at this school and I know the knowledge i've gained will help me toward getting a college education. (:


Posted September 25, 2010

We have left this school and know we made the right decision. The kids are way too cliquey and immature; very few good teachers, a place not one of my kids looked forward to, so we finally made a change for the better. The admin is trying, but they need major changes over there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

This school excells in so many ways! Academically, with great teachers, great staff, great music programs, great sports opportunities. We are very happy with the education our two children are getting from Slauson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

I have attended Slauson Middle School for 2 years now and I still think it is way too easy. The teachers have very low expectations for us and do not supply us as many challenges as we need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2009

This school is run as though most of the teachers and administration is afraid of the students. They have low expectations and rarely challenge them, or don't bother to be inspirational. Most of the teachers just want to get the kids through the system to high school. I'm sure that Slauson students rank among the poorest academically at Pioneer HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

This is my second year at Slauson, and it's not a bad school. The rules are a bit strict, but you'll live.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2004

I have spent only a year in this school, but I had enjoyed it during the time I was there. It was a very good school to go to right after elementary and to get adjusted to the way of higher schools. The rules were a bit strict, but that was just the way the school was, and it was and is great like that.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

243 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

245 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 69%
Asian 14% 3%
African-American 10% 18%
Multiracial 7% 2%
Hispanic 6% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1019 West Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-2004

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wedgwood-Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, MI


Ann Arbor Academy
Ann Arbor, MI


Community High School
Ann Arbor, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT