Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thurston Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
For three years now, 2nd throgh 4th grade, my son has improved on both the academic and the social/ extra curricular level and the community involvment as well. Amazing involved orincipal who is always active and is right there literally everywhere i go inside the school. She knows the students by name offerung support wherever needed. Teachers are goid listeners. Parents teacher organization always on fire making thurston unique with all its activities and student /family focus oriented. Really excellent environment to be for my family.

Thurston Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Principal york the first that comes to mind. Great support, friendly and personal to everyone. Knows the kids and sometimes parents by name. No task nor activity is "too trivial" for her to be involved in. My son's 4th grade teacher mrs Scovone. Hard worker with amazing attention to detail.my son's intellect level has gone higher just this year under her care. Maticulous and leaves nothing to chance.it feels like she expanded my son's brain capacity! Thank you


Thurston Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I wouldnt mind a little more....not at all! Hehe...what he s given now is a good variety, i like to see more of the type that makes him think and analyze.

Thurston Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My son' s class teachers have helped him through academic challenges, helping him come out of it feeling confident and like he has always gainedsomething. i confidentally categorize that as teaching him persistance.....

Thurston Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The school is very diverse, i am of what is nowadays being called "a minority" group.have experienced nothing but respect from teachers, peers and the principal herself.


Thurston Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Different situations we have gone through, different situations friends have gone through, all came out satisfied.

Thurston Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
Thurston is amazing! My children have attended several elementary schools and Thurston is the BEST by FAR!!! The principal is so connected with the students and have a personal relationship with most students. The principal and staff also work to celebrate the diversity of its students and provide opportunities for children to learn unique things about one another. My son and daughter have excelled there. But this is especially the case for my son; he stated to me that his 3rd grade teacher at Thurston was the BEST teacher that he's ever had and when she was out sick for a time, her students missed her miserably because they loved her so very much. This teacher had excellent communication with me and advocated for my son to have special services to accommodate his learning style, which the principal, social worker and other support staff FULLY SUPPORTED. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL AND THE GREAT STAFF!!!

Thurston Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
My son is currently attending Kindergarten at Thurston. He enjoys going to school here. The diversity in the school is a great reflection of Ann Arbor. Teachers vary, my son's teacher provides the necessary structure for my son to focus and learn.


Thurston Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 23, 2008
- a parent
Thurston Elementary is the heart of our neighborhood. It gives attention to every student and incorporates the heritage of every child into events throughout the year. It has an excellent art and music programs, sports, library, media center and wonderful teachers and staff. Children do well here because it is a safe, nurturing environment which expects the best of its students. My child was at Thurston K-5 years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thurston Elementary School
2300 Prairie Street, Ann Arbor, MI  48105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (734) 994-1970
Last modified Thurston Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top