Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Huron High School

Public | 9-12 | 1612 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

I have had no good experiences at this school. The counsellors do not care about me at all (mine is never actually in the school), very few teachers actually know my name, and I have not been challenged academically once since I have attended Huron. I guess the only classes you actually learn anything in are AP. The student body as a whole is incredibly ignorant; one of the worst groups of kids I have ever been around. My advice: if you are considering Huron and you want to have a good high school experience, do not go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2013

This is an excellent high school. Many students go on to college with a academic scholarship. The teachers and grade level principals value every students sucees and are always willing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

While this school is great in some aspects, the teachers are either hit or miss. I have had some truly amazing teachers who really did their job well. On the other hand, there are some teachers that were clearly there to get their ten year and muddle through the next 30 years. Additionally, due to the amount of students, if you don't stand out in your counselor's mind they do basically nothing for you and make it very difficult to get any classes changed around without a parent present to pressure them into doing what they should be able to handle with the students. Great opportunities for those who want to take advanced classes, but depending on the teacher the student will need to be able to take control of teaching themselves a class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2011

At Huron, I met a teacher who changed my life. I wasn't a needy kid or anything. My teacher simply taught the course incredibly well and we got to know each other through class debates. There are friends for everyone here, even kids that might not have had friends in middle school. Everyone can find their little niche of people to hang out with--and there's no shortage of clubs to meet new people. It's a little overcrowded and lots of swearing goes on in the hallway, not to mention there is violence waiting for those who seek it, but I *love* Huron.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2010

I attended this school when is was brand new - was in teh very first graduating class in 1970. My son now attends and I see that a lot of things need either replacing or repaired or provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

Ann Arbor Huron is indeed a fantastic school with highly intelligent, passionate teachers. As a college student who underachieved in high school, I was amazed to find how easy college is. I'm not currently at a prestigious university, but a college that is renowned for producing well-prepared students, and I'm breezing through the curriculum here and looking to transfer. While not every teacher is competent, most are beyond competent and prepared to assist any student looking to push themselves. However, I would agree that the single complaint I must put out there: The administration at this school is far too used to being full of kids from wealthy, supportive families. Therefore, they are awful at supporting bright kids who are facing far more problems-of-origin than their peers. Teachers don't have time to deal with these issues, so it has to fall to the administration which is fairly incompetent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

the best academics, art, and music along with an extraordinary counseling staff and admin that puts the kids first. This is the best school in the State, maybe the USA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

A great place to learn. Wonderful teachers in a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

This school is pretty awesome. It helps you learn with pretty hard teachers while sometimes balancing it with fun. Some teachers don't teach too well but other good ones make up for that. Huron is a great place to go if you have high standards. But I agree with one of the other parents, if you do not do too well in school, it will be hard.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2009

It's an excellent school. Sends many kids to top universities. This year we had people going to Princeton, Harvard, Yale, Stanford, MIT, Caltech, Columbia, U-Penn, Cornell, etc. The student body is diverse and some teachers are really great and genuinely care about students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

This is a top notch school, great opportunities, high quality teachers, challenging courses. Our AP courses are University of Michigan standerds.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2009

Huron is an exceptional public high school. My third child is in his freshman year there. He is doing very well. My oldest graduated in 2005. She took most of the AP classes offered, and she received enough credits to graduate from U of M in three years. Huron has great athletic programs as well as academic. I have been very impressed with the dedication of the coaches, and the comraderie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I love Huron! I graduated in 2007, went on to a prestigious university, and really feel like I got a great education. Extracurriculars are outstanding at Huron. Academics (especially math, to name on) can't be beat by any school in Ann Arbor. (the private schools do not offer nearly the range of AP classes, as well as classes for any level a student may be at). I'd love to go back to high school. My only gripe about Huron is poor college advising, but those resources are available elsewhere for those students willing to get them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

Both of our children graduated from Huron. One went on to MIT and the other to Texas A&M. Huron gets lots of local grief for its sports, but its music and academics are terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I graduated from Huron in the year 2005 and this school has greatly prepared me for success at the collegiate level. Due to the education I received, I have had a noticeable advantage over my classmates.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

horrible place really. bureaucratic, you don't learn, you aren't taught, you aren't cared for by the administration, and the adults are generally awful with few exceptions. not a good learning environment for kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

My daughters are about to graduate from Huron and they've had the best experience, a quality education and excellent teachers. There was a safety issue last fall (2007) but the school acted quickly and the students involved were expelled and since then it's been quiet and safe. I recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Huron tends to be very stratified in terms of performance. There is a good deal of very high achievers that get accepted into top-10 universities and there are very many underperforming students that get ignored by faculty and administration. For those who are self motivated (or pushed by their parents), there are many opportunities at Huron- lots of AP classes (the math and science ones prepare students very well for the AP tests, the majority of students get 5's), chances to take college courses at UM, EMU or WCC, and online classes. The english and social studies departments are somewhat weak at the underclassman level, but the senior AP and Honors classes are much stronger. One thing to note, however, is that the new high school is opening next year, so many of Huron's teachers and students will be redistricted to the new school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2007

Both my son and daughter attended Huron. My daughter did well, but my son had a hard time. Huron is a good school for students who are already doing well. If a student is mediocre they fall through the cracks. I had to keep a constant check on what was going on with my son because I learned that if I didn't, no one else was going to lead him in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

I went to Huron HS and graduated in 2004. I absolutely loved it. Lots of classes to choose from, and so much diversity. That was the best part. It creates an open environment where all kinds of people are accepted. It was a great part of my educational experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

377 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

379 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

382 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female50%
Male66%
African American27%
Asian88%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities60%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
African American48%
Asian88%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial81%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students50%
Female39%
Male61%
African American16%
Asian78%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial54%
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities52%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students66%
Female58%
Male73%
African American33%
Asian84%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial65%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female70%
Male71%
African American38%
Asian92%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial73%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

23

Graduation rate

89%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 69%
Asian 19% 3%
African-American 18% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 6% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Hein
Fax number
  • (734) 994-2048

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2727 Fuller Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-2040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Greenhills School
Ann Arbor, MI




Community High School
Ann Arbor, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT