Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Huron High School 4

Posted June 09, 2016
- a community member
Had a lot of fun at Huron. met some good friends, met some good teachers, learned a lot.

Huron High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 09, 2016
- a community member
Could easily tell there were a handful of teachers that were checked out. There were mostly good ones, but the bad ones were very bad.


Huron High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 09, 2016
- a community member
Definitely not enough homework. I got away with a lot there. Needs to be more strict.

Huron High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a student
While the other teachers taught me how to get smart, how to study, how to pass tests, Mr. Sumerton taught me how to grow up. I entered his engineering class as a senior. He taught me to dress nicely, to carry myself with confidence, with poise, to help clean up while the other schools left. In the lab, we always worked in groups, argued with each-other, watched others fool around. He taught me how to lead, how to bring your group together and tell them we'll stay focused, we'll put in work and we'll succeed. There was a sub one day and the class used their hour to slack off and fool around. The next day, when no one could look at his face, he taught us a lesson that will stay. He told us what we do when we think no one is looking speaks the truth of our character. What a teacher - he taught me how to win.

Huron High School 1

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
I only spent my sophomore year here before demanding to be transferred out. Every single experience I had in or with this school has been a miserable one. The school is overcrowded, the building is filthy, and the students were so out of control that even the good teachers i had just gave up halfway through the first semester. Not to mention the administration is so convoluted, god help you if you ever find yourself needing to get a hold of anyone. If you or your child care at all about academics in high school, send them anywhere but Huron.


Huron High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
I think the teachers would have been more effective if they had been able to control the classes, and not be trying to teach over students shouting at each other from across the room.

Huron High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
I guess it takes a certain amount to continue showing up here every single day in the vain hope that you might get an education.

Huron High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
Example: Someone in my World History class stole a stack of graded essays off the student teacher's desk. They weren't even our class's papers, so I have no idea what the student was planning on doing with them.


Huron High School 1

Posted February 12, 2014
- a student
I have had no good experiences at this school. The counsellors do not care about me at all (mine is never actually in the school), very few teachers actually know my name, and I have not been challenged academically once since I have attended Huron. I guess the only classes you actually learn anything in are AP. The student body as a whole is incredibly ignorant; one of the worst groups of kids I have ever been around. My advice: if you are considering Huron and you want to have a good high school experience, do not go here.

Huron High School 4

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent high school. Many students go on to college with a academic scholarship. The teachers and grade level principals value every students sucees and are always willing to help.

Nearby schools

Huron High School
2727 Fuller Road, Ann Arbor, MI  48105
(734) 994-2040
Last modified Huron High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top