Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Ann Arbor, MI
Students enrolled: 446

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
This was our first year at KING!! LOVED IT LOVED IT... I am very happy how parents are involved in everything.. I have no complains my child loves the school..Love everything about KING SCHOOL!!

Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 kids at King and both have loved it! It is nice to have such a diverse school. My kids have had classmates from Japan, Korea, India, Russia, China, etc. The new principal has been seen just as much as the old principal. She replies to e-mails better too. She has been involved with the PTO. She is out helping kids getting out of the car in the morning. Great parent involvement and strong PTO. Kingcare is nice as there is child care available from 7:15am- start of school and end of school to 6:15pm. This is longer than Rec and Ed child care for other schools. It is flexible too- you can do drop in care. The new secretary is really nice and helpful. I like how some classrooms are encouraging non-food birthday parties so kids with allergies don't feel left out and your kid does not eat cake 20+ times a year. They also encourage fruit/ veg snacks the first 1 month so they can figure out the allergies in the classrooms. It also helps to encourage good eating habits. The new King garden is a great learning experience. They have computers in every room. Many teachers have webpages and communicate through e-mail well. They have new large lockers now instead of hallway hooks.


Martin Luther King Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are excellent at what they do and parents are very involved as well. The office staff are very rude though and not to mention the new principal is as well. She never comes out of her office. The old principle was everywhere, helping outside with the kids and traffic, so friendly and always involved. The new principle is very unprofessional and not good at handling issues correctly, instead she just acts as if they never happened and ignores everything. They definitely made a huge mistake picking her to represent such a wonderful school.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2012
- a parent
King is a great school with many extracurricular activities and very dedicated teachers and parents. Kids can participate International Night, Academic Games, Science Olympiad, and Math Olympiad, just to name a few. While Rec and Ed may nor offer many extracurricular activities, it is the activities run by the King School Community that make the school so special. My children have had excellent teachers who identify their strengths and weaknesses and push them to grow intellectually. Their classmates have parents from around the world. Many students are bilingual. Great school.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 3

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
It ranked as 10 point school, but I didn't see the shiny points yet. The extracurricular activities are poor. Very few RecEd classes offered in the school and the after-school care is just for kids to free play. For kids who like arts, you will understand the situation when you see their lobby wall.


Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2012
- a parent
Teachers are generally very good, kids are respectful and good students, parents are very involved. A lot of extracurricular activities, including academic/intellectual activities.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2008
- a parent
We have loved King School for 22 years now. We'll be missing it next year as our younges moves on to Clague.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2006
- a parent
K and 1st grade at King school have been great for my child. I couldn't ask for better. Excellent caring staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Luther King Elementary School
3800 Waldenwood Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48105
(734) 994-1940
Last modified Martin Luther King Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin Luther King Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top