Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Logan Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 334 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, July 30, 2014

The leadership at this school is abysmal. The principal has lied straight to my face, and does not fight for the children. Instead, she's focused on her own agenda, whatever that may be. This school is also big on negative reinforcement, which does NOT work for my children. Reward them positively and they will thrive! If you only focus on the negative, they will quickly spiral downhill! My children came from another school within the district where they thrived. They were star students, and were loved by their teachers. At Logan, the staff clearly lacked the ability to teach to their needs, which is so upsetting to experience in Ann Arbor. The negative reinforcement made them feel like bad kids. I don't know how this school received a 5 star rating; after 1 year, we are pulling our children out and we should have done it sooner! Please learn from our mistake, and do not place them here at least not under the direction of the current principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

My children love their teachers! We have been very happy with all of the teachers at Logan but the principal is a terrible leader. I doubt she knows the kids names and she never greets kids or parents in the morning like principals at other schools do. The lunch room is consistently chaotic and she does nothing to solve the problem. The special area teachers are particularly bad and there hasn't been a consistent gym teacher at Logan all year. My kids are learning and thriving at this school but the principal is a disappointment. For the amount of taxes we pay to live in Ann Arbor and send our children to acclaimed Ann Arbor schools, we expect more from the principal. Every teacher we've had at Logan has been good except for the special classes. The biggest problem with this school is the principal. Like the other reviewers, I'm not sure how she is in this role.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2014

I agreed with the last two reviews. The principal must go. The first day of school was so disorganized. And why was the fire drill scheduled in late October 13 when it was freezing cold? If the school had a good leader, the fire drill would happen in September and the first day of school would leave a wonderful and positive impression on all of us. To have great school I believe a great leader must be a part of the equation, without a great leader the success of our children will be severely limited. As parents and taxpayers we must do what ever it takes to ensure the success of our children. I suggest AA district complete a full performance evaluation on this principal and also ask parents and teachers on what they are really think about this principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

The principal is the worse administrator that I ever encountered. No communication skill, organization skill, or people skill at all. I'm not sure why she is in that position.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

My son has been in the school since 1st grade. Love the teachers and their commitment. Love the encouragement he gets everyday. Teachers help him with above grade math level and exactly point where he needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

We love this school. Our son started here in 2nd grade and is now entering 5th. We've had 3 smart and energetic teachers who know how to get students motivated and engaged. The parent community is fun and welcoming and helps to organize al lot of great activities. Check out the MEAP scores for this school. Off the charts for the city and state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We are currently having our second generation attending this school (my two grandchildren), and it remains a great school for kids.


Posted November 12, 2008

I love the teachers and principal at Logan. They seem to really care about our kids. From the support staff and teachers they come together to make sure each student is taken care of. If extra help is needed they are on it!!! I feel my kids are getting the best education. Thanks Logan!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

I really like my daughter's 2nd grade teacher. She is the best of the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Teachers at Logan are only interested in collecting the pay check. Teaching is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

Logan is a great home away from home for kids. Teachers are topnotch, and make it their business to get to know all the kids in the school, whatever their grade. Science instruction is outstanding, and kids have a full slate of extra-curricular activities. The diverse environment is also great for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

We love Logan's Heritage Festival, culture diversity, principle Barnes, friendly staff and open layout. My son had always be shy and timid. Now he is comfortable going to school and not afraid of speaking up in class. Logan invites parents participation. I am glad that I could participate in my son's school activities by volunteering just a couple of hours a week in his class. It has been invaluable for me to watch his progress and to gain understanding on how and what he learned. Keep it up! Logan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

In a word I love this school! But more important than how I feel, is that my daughter loves this school. She started first grade a shy child now not only has she grown personality wise but more confident in her class work. The teachers, staff and Principal Barnes (Excellent!) truly have the children's best interest at heart. When my daughter finishes 5th grade, I truly will hate seeing her leave Logan. I take comfort in knowing that she will be totally prepared for the 6th grade. Thank you to all at Logan, you have made a difference in [her] life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

Here at Logan, Parents are expected to teach their children at home. There is no cohesive math program-Some teachers teach basic math facts others do not. The writing program is a joke. Teachers show little interest in the students. Bullying is encouraged. I would not send my children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 69%
Asian 30% 3%
African-American 13% 18%
Multiracial 11% 2%
Hispanic 5% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2685 Traver Rd
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-1807

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT