Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas the Apostle School

Private | PK-8 | 230 students

Our school is best known for an inviting Catholic family atmosphere.
 
 

 
 

Living in Ann Arbor

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Hello, I am glad you stopped here! I love to share about our St. Thomas Family. St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic School is dedicated to nurturing spiritual growth, strengthening moral values, and developing academic excellence. The benchmark of our success as a school is not measured in grades or percentages, but in the development of individuals ready to explore possibilities, meet the challenges of life, extend themselves to others in order to do the work of Christ, and to always rise to their potentials. Students are encouraged to participate in co-curricular and extracurricular activities that offer different avenues for personal development. Independent learning is fostered in and out of the classroom, thus preparing the students intellectually, spiritually, and socially for their futures. All of these activities strengthen the sense of community at St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic School while helping to develop and foster lifelong friendships. These activities have also helped to form support networks for families new to the area and new to the school. Come see what great things God is doing in us and with us. It is truly an excellent academic education for life and an intentional discipleship in Catholic Faith for living!

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

Great school for my child. Safe, caring, nurturing, yet challenging learning environment. Teachers skilled at adapting teaching styles to accommodate varying learning styles. Principal and other staff are also skilled and do a great job. Family-oriented school. The person who posted that the teachers are bottom of barrel is WRONG. These teachers are not paid much, most often do not get raises, but they are teaching at St. Thomas because they care about the kids, truly enjoy teaching, and want to teach. They are not there just to collect a paycheck. My child has ADHD and this school as been the best learning environment for my child to excel - teachers and staff understand child's needs and do a great job of teaching in various styles to adapt to his way of learning. They do not have a one-size-fits-all approach which is so important these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted today

This school has a great family feel to it. The faculty and staff are very friendly and helpful and it is evident they all love their jobs. They do an excellent job of incorporating the faith into the teachings at an age appropriate level and my daughter has LOVED every teacher she has had. They have a ton of great events for the families outside of school and they make sure to make everyone feel included. My daughter has gone to this school since preschool (is now in the third grade) and we have really enjoyed the whole experience. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

I transferred both of my children to St. Thomas a few years ago and have been very happy with their education and the social environment. Socially they blossomed and found many friends and academically they have excelled with the smaller class size. The environment is safe, diverse, and friendly. My only regret is that we didn't start at this school earlier in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

St Thomas is a wonderful school: small class size, great support staff, and amazing teachers! Gifted students or students needed extra help are organized into smaller group with materials appropriate with their levels. Tuition is quite affordable compared to other private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

St. Thomas is a wonderful school with a family centered environment. My children transferred this year and they have blossomed. The teachers and staff work very hard to create a warm accepting environment. The academics are top notch. St. Thomas supports a wide variety of learning levels and styles. The athletic program encourages all students to participate if they are interested. We are so happy to have found St. Thomas. It has been such a positive experience for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

Our three boys attended St. Thomas School from first grade through eighth grade. My children have decided to continue their education with Catholic high schools of their choice. The children were prepared for the rigors and demands of high school. Every child has their own strengths, weaknesses, and unique needs. This school has done its best to provide for all those needs. If you are looking for a warm friendly, family oriented school with many ethnic cultures,excellence in academic standards, Christian and moral principles then you will be pleased with this establishment. Check it out. It will be worth your time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

All my boys have been going to St. Thomas from K - 8th Grade and I have nothing but the best things to say about the school. They are prepared very well for public High School and excel there above average. The teachers instill good study habits as well as citizenship and morality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

My son has attended Pre-K since September 2006. I can only say great things about this school! He has been growing not only academically but socially. His awareness of Godly principles has dramatically increased. It is such a relief to have a school that includes God in the daily lessons. As a pre-k student, my son has Spanish and music lessons and goes on educational field trips. He loves his teachers and they are so patient and kind. The administration is always welcoming. If you approach a student in the hallway, he or she is always smiling. My son thinks of the people at this school as his second family. Parental involvement is high. There are optional violin lessons from Pre-K on. I have been involved in several preschools in the past with other children; St. Thomas is by far the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

I am a new parent to St. Thomas, my child is attending kindergarten. I am very pleased with my experience so far. My daughter comes home everyday excited about the lessons she has learned. There are only 12 students in her class, and her teacher has the time to give individualized attention to her students. I have found the current principal to very involved, demonstrating concern and attention to the smallest detail. He goes so far as to stand outside of the main entrance of the building to greet each student with a handshake as they enter. ANY SCHOOL IS ONLY AS GOOD AS THE PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT WHICH SUPPORTS IT. I have found the level of parental support to be very high. I have found the parent teacher group , PTG, to be an extremely effective tool. I intend to enroll my son when he is ready for kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

St. Thomas is an excellent, ethnically diverse school (K-8). Our two boys have been studying there since kindergarten. The school has an outstanding academic program including an independent learning center for students who need to progress at an accelerated rate or need to spend more time on reading or math. It has a brand new library, computer & science labs, and beautiful, clean classrooms. The teachers are extremely dedicated and have several years of experience. They really care about the academic, emotional and spiritual well being of the students. The curriculum (science, math, spanish etc.) is challenging and the teachers and principal go the extra mile to see that no one is left out. The students are also taught accountability, discipline and respect for each other. The after school program and the cameraderie of the parents are icing on the cake. The fees are very reasonable for such an outstanding environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

My son has been at St. Thomas for three years and loves it. At first he spoke mostly Spanish as he had just immigrated form Guatemala. St. Thomas taught Spanish to all students. During first grade he received individualized attention for reading in the state-of-the-art learning center. In second grade, he s reading above grade level. His teachers have been absolutely wonderful very responsive, dedicated, and invested in each of their students development and education. All of his teachers had extensive experience in elementary education and, importantly, are passionate about it. The school s music program is fantastic and the optional after school string program is a bonus. The computer, library, and art programs are excellent. The flexible before and after school programs are well-supervised and fun. I appreciate the atmosphere of mutual respect, empathy, service, community, integrity, and faith integrated into the top-notch educational mission. I have been very impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

Good school, excellent kindergarten teachers! very responsive principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

St. Thomas is an excellent school that provides and fosters a safe and friendly environment and takes its academic mission seriously. My daughter loves going there and has a great relationship to all the teachers. The teachers are very good and they also teach spelling (see review from September 2005)! Spanish is taught from pre-k on (not true for AA public schools, which do not have foreign language instruction in elementary school). Kindergarten is all day instead of half day as in the AA public schools (although half day is an option). The facilities are outstanding. Art and music are important components of the education. The tuition is very reasonable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

Don't waste you're tuition, this school scrapes the bottom of the barrel for teachers. Plus overall education is inferior to that of A2 public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

I have 3 students at St. Thomas. The environment makes it the best place in the area for a well rounded education. The school has just undergone a total renovation making it the most modern school in the area. The advanced learning center helps the high achievers excell and student that need a little extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 71%
Hispanic 10% 5%
African-American 8% 20%
Multiracial 8% N/A
Asian 7% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 5:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Theresa Marshall
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (734) 769-9078

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lansing
  • Ann Arbor Public School
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football through All Saints
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fr. Gabriel Richard High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

540 Elizabeth St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 769-0911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ann Arbor Academy
Ann Arbor, MI



Angell School
Ann Arbor, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT