Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
230 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Hello, I am glad you stopped here! I love to share about our St. Thomas Family. St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic School is dedicated to nurturing spiritual growth, strengthening moral values, and developing academic excellence. The benchmark of our success as a school is not measured in grades or percentages, but in the development of individuals ready to explore possibilities, meet the challenges of life, extend themselves to others in order to do the work of Christ, and to always rise to their potentials. Students are encouraged to participate in co-curricular and extracurricular activities that offer different avenues for personal development. Independent learning is fostered in and out of the classroom, thus preparing the students intellectually, spiritually, and socially for their futures. All of these activities strengthen the sense of community at St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic School while helping to develop and foster lifelong friendships. These activities have also helped to form support networks for families new to the area and new to the school. Come see what great things God is doing in us and with us. It is truly an excellent academic education for life and an intentional discipleship in Catholic Faith for living!
April 15, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
We are extremely pleased with St Thomas School. We have three of our daughters in the school (pre-school - 2nd grade). The school has great academic standards, and develops strong study habits in the students. The teachers are very attentive to the personal needs of each child. In particular, we are really impressed with the pre-school. The pre-school as an age-appropriate and well-planned curriculum to stimulate thinking and encourage the students to pursue science and art. The pre-school staff communicates very frequently and effectively about the development and needs of our children. It is an environment that really keeps the parent an integral part of the educational process.

St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
St. Thomas Elementary & Little Saints Preschool are amazing schools where the students are well-cared for, receive a quality education and interact with wonderful people, whether they be staff, peers or parents. I have two students in the school (1st & Pre-K), and we couldn't be happier with our school choice. The preschool is so warm & inviting, and the teachers in the preschool are particularly kind and nurturing. They also spend a lot of time on age-appropriate curriculum and make all learning fun and engaging! The elementary school is a place where positive morals and values are expected and taught. The teachers are kind, yet expect their students to excel in all tasks required of them. The entire school has a lot to offer, both during school hours and during non-school times! St. Thomas Elementary & Little Saints Preschool are family-centered communities where children thrive and succeed!


St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
St. Thomas is a wonderful school with a family centered environment. My children transferred this year and they have blossomed. The teachers and staff work very hard to create a warm accepting environment. The academics are top notch. St. Thomas supports a wide variety of learning levels and styles. The athletic program encourages all students to participate if they are interested. We are so happy to have found St. Thomas. It has been such a positive experience for my family.

St. Thomas the Apostle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
The principal of St. Thomas is Ms. Marshall. She is outstanding. Very compassionate and dedicated to students and staff.

St. Thomas the Apostle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
St. Thomas incorporates core values into every day curriculum. Each month a specific virtue is taught and reinforced. The children are learning and practicing how to be upstanding citizens. I love St . Thomas for the values that it instills in my children.


St. Thomas the Apostle School 1

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
The Preschool is very disorganized and not equipped to communicate your child's need to you. Avoid if you care about how your child is treated during his or her most tender years.

St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
St. Thomas' rigorous curriculum, and small class sizes allow children to get the optimal education. My children have grown so much academically, socially, and spiritually. I work in public education, and can attest that the Principal, and teachers are among the best in the city.

St. Thomas the Apostle School 1

Posted January 03, 2015
- a parent
If you would like your children to work hard and have homework every school night, this is not the school for your family. Math curriculum is very weak. Overall, I was very disappointed with the academic standards in this school. There are better parochial schools in Ann Arbor to choose from.


St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
St Thomas has been a wonderful experience for my family! The teaching staff is incredibly kind and dedicated to all of the children. The educational standards are high. I feel blessed to have found St Thomas for my children!

St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
We love St. Thomas School. The loving, nurturing community of teachers, staff and parents makes a wonderful learning environment. My child who needed extra help, has been given the tools she needs to be successful. My child who is ahead, is challenged with extra websites and fun activities. After school programs and enrichment have increased in recent years, and my kids have taken full advantage.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Thomas the Apostle School
540 Elizabeth St, Ann Arbor, MI  48104
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (734) 769-0911
Last modified St. Thomas the Apostle School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top