Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Francis of Assisi School

Private | PK-8 | 51 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ann Arbor

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

St Francis of Assisi is an excellent school. Our son is currently enrolled in first grade, and we are very happy with the education that he is receiving. The teaching staff and adminstration are very thoughtful individuals, who hold the integrity of their students with highest regard. The quality of our son's educational experience is also excellent. His teacher provides ample homework and is very encouraging. She has a weekly blog that is posted regarding classroom events and upcoming activities. In summary, I highly endorse St Francis of Assisi Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2014

St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School keeps getting better! The school offers a 1:1 tablet-based curriculum for the middle school, and students in lower grades use school-provided tablets. Exceptional math and science curricula, foreign language instruction for all grades, team sports with a no-cut policy, an excellent fine arts program, dedicated and well-qualified teaching staff, an active parent community and highly affordable tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2014

We have had 4 children through St. Francis and love the school and teachers. The curriculum and faith development activities are outstanding and the children are very well prepared for high school. I particularly love their choir and drama electives, and the multitude of afterschool opportunities (volleyball, forensics, basketball, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2014

St Francis of Assisi is an amazing school because it is challenging academically and it has a very caring environment. Teachers take a personal interest to make each and every student is doing their best. Schools like this are rare and very hard to find. Ms. Pritzel, the principal, runs a tight ship with a caring hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

Fantastic! It offers a well rounded and individually tailored academics and has recently made major strides in science and technology - having always had a very strong reputation in reading, writing, arts and music. The school is growing in enrolment, has new programs to assist with tuition for first time families, and is achieving great scores and reviews by parents and students alike. All of this is supported by a caring community within the school and church. Leadership is great as well - the principal is even a former student and teacher. Fr. James also has great rapport with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2008

I sent my son to St.Francis last year and was so pleased by the school. I feel my son was truly appreciated and loved by his teachers. The environment is warm and loving, and I really am thankful for the values taught at St.Francis, from both a Christian and just plain human perspective. I never got the feeling of community and caring from the Ann Arbor Public School that he attended previously, tho that school is supposed to be one of the best in Ann Arbor. I intend to have my son remain in St.Francis thru 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

I am a parent of former St.Francis student. The reason that I decided to ultimately go with another private school in Ann Arbor was their unfair price/cost structure and their lack of ethnic diversity. I could have accepted the later, if they were making a conscious effort to increase it, but they seem flabergasted, when I asked what their plans were to increase this. Also, I just can't seem to justify their tuition cost for 2 hours and 45 minutes for the kindergarten class. The curriculum and staff were very nice, but thier inability to address the social aspects of society and ensure an environment that everyone can feel comfortable, then I suspect that Ann Arbor and this countries demographic shifts will leave St. Francis searching for students to enroll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

St. Francis of Assisi provides an outstanding, well-rounded education and is one of the best private school values in the Ann Arbor area. The academics, middle school elective programs, music and fine arts programs are all of the highest quality and are delivered by the most professional, caring and experienced teaching staff around. The school's standardized test scores simply prove what hundreds of St. Francis families already know: St. Francis provides the best PK-8 education in Washtenaw County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

I am a student at St. Francis and am enjoying it immensely. Remember that one's preparedness for highschool is often based on whether the person prepared himself. And yes, there is a focus on values at St. Francis, and though 'real schools' might be a rather oblique definition, morals and 'perfect catholic virtues' are going to be the things that maneuver you to high places in life and maintain you there. St.Francis is a wonderful school with great teachers and challenging curriculum. Please consider this marvelous school as an option. You won't regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

Ok, What are you people talking abouut!!!, This school did not help me prepare for highschool at all, and over all the school was very close minded about anything that was not 'perfect catholic values' you guys need to go to a real school before you praise this school! -Donald McNair
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 5, 2005

St. Francis helped me become a wellrounded student. I was extremely prepared when I began high school. Many of my teachers commented on my strong academic backround, especially in the Language Arts area. I attribute this to the excellent training I received at St. Francis School. I am appreciative and greatful that my parents provided me with the opportunity to attend a Catholic grade school. It was truley a girft.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 30, 2004

I've Been going to St. Francis school since kindergarten. The people there are so easy to get to know and so caring. As soon as you walk in they talk to you as if they've known you their whole lives. They make sure you understand everything before moving on. The elective classes are always great because the 8th grade gets to work with 7th grrade and the activities, for both the parish and the school activities, really involve you as part of a team. STF also does so many drives and fundraisers for better things in the school, like A/C and for community and poor/service shelters. The 2003-2004 activity was the Heifer project, where we gave an ark full of animals to starving families. Our goal was $5,000, with parish community donations, and a lot of chores, we raissed over $10,000 and the leftovers went to the church! I Love STF!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2003

This is the best school we have found, the teachers are so caring in all aspects, parents are involved in different events, nice friendly and polite environement, teaching of manners, values are the must for this school, my son truly likes his school (which is rare) facilities are fine, teachers interested in kids progress is a blessing. Smily faces all the way, progress is inminent in my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 69%
Multiracial 11% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 3% 6%
African-American 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Michigan Green School (2009)
  • School of Distinction (2009)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55am
School end time
  • 2:35pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Julia Fantone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (734) 821-2202

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lansing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Father Gabriel Richard High School
Pioneer High School
Huron High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2270 East Stadium Boulevard
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 821-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pattengill School
Ann Arbor, MI


Summers-Knoll School
Ann Arbor, MI


John Allen School
Ann Arbor, MI



Clonlara School
Ann Arbor, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT