Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Ann Arbor, MI
Students enrolled: 383
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
We have had children in St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School for the past 11 years. We've been extremely happy with this school, and we cannot say enough about the positive experience that our family has had there. 1.) The school has an exceptionally talented collection of educators, administrators and support staff, and they genuinely love and care for each student as if they were their own. 2.) The level of parental involvement and volunteerism at the school is unbelievably high. 3.) The sense of community within the school and the parish is truly unique. 4.) The academic and extra-curricular programs are excellent, and there is phenomenal support for children who face educational challenges and require additional attention and accommodations. 5.) In our opinion, the school s tuition structure is the most reasonable of any private school in the area. We feel as if we ve stumbled onto the best kept secret in education in the Ann Arbor area. We would highly recommend St. Francis to any family that is looking for a great place to educate and nurture their children.

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Ann Arbor and surrounding communities offer lots of good choices in public, private, parochial, and charter forms. Despite living in the Ann Arbor school district, we chose to send our children to St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School for several reasons: first, the academics are very solid, and actually include art, music, and other "specials"! Second, the class sizes are significantly smaller than in the public schools. Third, and maybe most crucially for our family, religious education is an integrated element of the curriculum -- prayer, all-school Mass, and even Eucharistic Adoration, along with a values-based environment -- augment the usual academic elements. We are very pleased with this school and the community it fosters.
1 person found this helpful


St. Francis of Assisi School 2

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
I withdrew my children from this school after a very unpleasant experience with the teachers and principal. I do not think this school is a good fit for anyone whose children are above average or need extra help. But if you have an average, middle of the road, student then they should do just fine. Discipline was ineffectual and very rigid, treating kindergarten students like they are at the same developmental stage as a middle schooler. Also, supervision at lunch and during lunch and lunch recess was by volunteer parents only who were told to solve any conflicts by telling the students that "that is not what Jesus would do" which I found to be very ineffective.
1 person found this helpful

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy that we have chosen to send our children to St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School. The teachers at St. Francis are truly committed to educating our children to the highest standards, all the while taking the time to know each child and family and to ensure that each child is getting the most out of the learning process. The faith-based environment allows the children to build a solid fundation in values and in caring for others. St. Francis still teaches the curriculum basics, such as memorizing math facts, memorizing spelling words, and learning basic sentence structure, which are essential to a child's education. In addition to teaching the basics, St. Francis provides students a well-balanced access to technology to enhance learning. Also, music, art, physical education, library, and even Spanish classes are offered to all children from preschool to 8th grade! I really enjoy telling people that my preschooler and older children are taking Spanish classes, and in this way are also learning about other cultures as well. Overall, I consider St. Francis to be a caring community of staff and families truly committed to the education and success of each student.
2 people found this helpful

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
St. Francis of Assisi School is an outstanding school. Both of my children attended St. Francis from kindergarten through 8th grade and were well prepared for the rigors of honors and AP courses in high school. The faith filled, family type atmosphere fosters confidence in classroom participation, and acceptance of all kids. The leadership is excellent, Mrs. Pritzel is an exceptional educator and principal that knows every child enrolled and is always striving to make St. Francis and even better school.
2 people found this helpful


St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
St Francis of Assisi is an excellent school. Our son is currently enrolled in first grade, and we are very happy with the education that he is receiving. The teaching staff and adminstration are very thoughtful individuals, who hold the integrity of their students with highest regard. The quality of our son's educational experience is also excellent. His teacher provides ample homework and is very encouraging. She has a weekly blog that is posted regarding classroom events and upcoming activities. In summary, I highly endorse St Francis of Assisi Catholic School.
2 people found this helpful

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School keeps getting better! The school offers a 1:1 tablet-based curriculum for the middle school, and students in lower grades use school-provided tablets. Exceptional math and science curricula, foreign language instruction for all grades, team sports with a no-cut policy, an excellent fine arts program, dedicated and well-qualified teaching staff, an active parent community and highly affordable tuition.
2 people found this helpful

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
We have had 4 children through St. Francis and love the school and teachers. The curriculum and faith development activities are outstanding and the children are very well prepared for high school. I particularly love their choir and drama electives, and the multitude of afterschool opportunities (volleyball, forensics, basketball, etc.).
2 people found this helpful


St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
St Francis of Assisi is an amazing school because it is challenging academically and it has a very caring environment. Teachers take a personal interest to make each and every student is doing their best. Schools like this are rare and very hard to find. Ms. Pritzel, the principal, runs a tight ship with a caring hand.
2 people found this helpful

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic! It offers a well rounded and individually tailored academics and has recently made major strides in science and technology - having always had a very strong reputation in reading, writing, arts and music. The school is growing in enrolment, has new programs to assist with tuition for first time families, and is achieving great scores and reviews by parents and students alike. All of this is supported by a caring community within the school and church. Leadership is great as well - the principal is even a former student and teacher. Fr. James also has great rapport with the kids.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Francis of Assisi School
2270 East Stadium Boulevard, Ann Arbor, MI  48104
(734) 821-2200
Last modified St. Francis of Assisi School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Francis of Assisi School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top