Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
383 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Francis of Assisi School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to the ladies in the office. They were very good at their jobs and always polite.

St. Francis of Assisi School 2

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
First, my child is now retaking Algebra 1 along with the rest of her class in high school. Only 1 or 2 students passed the entrance exam from her eighth grade class. Teacher just read the book most of the time. Teachers at this school were very hit or miss. Some were just obnoxious. The gym teacher was sexist. He liked to toss in the occasional blonde joke. Girls sports are there, but not taken seriously. When I saw the training for the boys basketball compared to the girls it was pretty sad. It seems the Gym teacher teaches the boys teams and parent volunteers are used for the girls teams. No favoritism there. One teacher was a personal friend of the principal and was texting several times during class. She was also very rude in front of other students to other students. They have a lot of extra curricular's, but they are all lame. Sadly they all seem like anyone could have tossed them together at home. This school screams average. Bullying is not handled well. The principal is very nice, so I am sorry to give her school such a low rating. I hope they will improve in the future.


St. Francis of Assisi School 4

Posted January 03, 2015
- a parent
We transferred our children to St. Francis, from another parochial school in Ann Arbor. It was the best decision we have ever made. The kids graduate very well prepared for HS. They work hard and have homework that increases with age. Math Curriculum is very strong as they divide the children according to their ability. English curriculum is also very good. Literature is weak in the upper grades. St. Francis provides a great environment for the sporty kid to excel. It also gives the chance to participate in their excellent choir, theater and musical theater productions. Art is weak.

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
We have had children in St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School for the past 11 years. We've been extremely happy with this school, and we cannot say enough about the positive experience that our family has had there. 1.) The school has an exceptionally talented collection of educators, administrators and support staff, and they genuinely love and care for each student as if they were their own. 2.) The level of parental involvement and volunteerism at the school is unbelievably high. 3.) The sense of community within the school and the parish is truly unique. 4.) The academic and extra-curricular programs are excellent, and there is phenomenal support for children who face educational challenges and require additional attention and accommodations. 5.) In our opinion, the school s tuition structure is the most reasonable of any private school in the area. We feel as if we ve stumbled onto the best kept secret in education in the Ann Arbor area. We would highly recommend St. Francis to any family that is looking for a great place to educate and nurture their children.

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Ann Arbor and surrounding communities offer lots of good choices in public, private, parochial, and charter forms. Despite living in the Ann Arbor school district, we chose to send our children to St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School for several reasons: first, the academics are very solid, and actually include art, music, and other "specials"! Second, the class sizes are significantly smaller than in the public schools. Third, and maybe most crucially for our family, religious education is an integrated element of the curriculum -- prayer, all-school Mass, and even Eucharistic Adoration, along with a values-based environment -- augment the usual academic elements. We are very pleased with this school and the community it fosters.


St. Francis of Assisi School 2

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
I withdrew my children from this school after a very unpleasant experience with the teachers and principal. I do not think this school is a good fit for anyone whose children are above average or need extra help. But if you have an average, middle of the road, student then they should do just fine. Discipline was ineffectual and very rigid, treating kindergarten students like they are at the same developmental stage as a middle schooler. Also, supervision at lunch and during lunch and lunch recess was by volunteer parents only who were told to solve any conflicts by telling the students that "that is not what Jesus would do" which I found to be very ineffective.

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy that we have chosen to send our children to St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School. The teachers at St. Francis are truly committed to educating our children to the highest standards, all the while taking the time to know each child and family and to ensure that each child is getting the most out of the learning process. The faith-based environment allows the children to build a solid fundation in values and in caring for others. St. Francis still teaches the curriculum basics, such as memorizing math facts, memorizing spelling words, and learning basic sentence structure, which are essential to a child's education. In addition to teaching the basics, St. Francis provides students a well-balanced access to technology to enhance learning. Also, music, art, physical education, library, and even Spanish classes are offered to all children from preschool to 8th grade! I really enjoy telling people that my preschooler and older children are taking Spanish classes, and in this way are also learning about other cultures as well. Overall, I consider St. Francis to be a caring community of staff and families truly committed to the education and success of each student.

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
St. Francis of Assisi School is an outstanding school. Both of my children attended St. Francis from kindergarten through 8th grade and were well prepared for the rigors of honors and AP courses in high school. The faith filled, family type atmosphere fosters confidence in classroom participation, and acceptance of all kids. The leadership is excellent, Mrs. Pritzel is an exceptional educator and principal that knows every child enrolled and is always striving to make St. Francis and even better school.


St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
St Francis of Assisi is an excellent school. Our son is currently enrolled in first grade, and we are very happy with the education that he is receiving. The teaching staff and adminstration are very thoughtful individuals, who hold the integrity of their students with highest regard. The quality of our son's educational experience is also excellent. His teacher provides ample homework and is very encouraging. She has a weekly blog that is posted regarding classroom events and upcoming activities. In summary, I highly endorse St Francis of Assisi Catholic School.

St. Francis of Assisi School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School keeps getting better! The school offers a 1:1 tablet-based curriculum for the middle school, and students in lower grades use school-provided tablets. Exceptional math and science curricula, foreign language instruction for all grades, team sports with a no-cut policy, an excellent fine arts program, dedicated and well-qualified teaching staff, an active parent community and highly affordable tuition.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Francis of Assisi School
2270 East Stadium Boulevard, Ann Arbor, MI  48104
(734) 821-2200
Last modified St. Francis of Assisi School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Francis of Assisi School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top