Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Greenhills School

Private | 6-12 | 72 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Ann Arbor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $221,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2014

The teachers are great but there are some strange kids and parents there. Ann Arbor has some great schools. Maybe not worth the money for Greenhills because not that well known outside of Michigan. Two kids from Huron (public school) are going to Harvard this year and zero from Greenhills. College placement was very disappointing--for some reason they don't have the connections. I don't think they really have a plan for the kids to make them look great in the college application process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

My oldest is now entering 8th grade and we have another child starting in sixth grade. The 8th grader is thriving at the school. Her classmates all seem to be high-achievers in academics and extra-curriculars. It's great that she is surrounded by peers how want to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

Greenhills shines as a college prep school high school. Class sizes are small, averaging 14-16, and the faculty is well qualified (top tier college educated, mostly Master/Ph.D), enthusiastic and a bit diverse and quirky. This is a great school for quiet high achievers, non-elite sports enthusiasts, and where your child won't need to fight for attention from harried, overworked teachers locked into a prescribed curriculum. The school is small enough that the teachers to provide individualized help and attention. Each grade has 70-80 kids, large enough for diversity but small enough to be a community. 9th grade is mostly lock-step (except math & foreign language with options like music/art) and options increase in later grades. Kids can 'concentrate' in sciences, arts, etc... Many of the courses are multidisciplinary and faculty designed. Homework load is heavy, so expect your child to work hard. This is not a school for slackers! GH is rated by colleges as one of the top HS in MI (e.g. UM admits 75% of GH applicants). Overall, a great choice for college bound, high achievers who want a traditional high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

Like all schools you will have the best experience if the school fits the child. Greenhills was the best choice for my child and is worth the expense, even with the need to make hard choices. My child is very self motivated and driven, this was seen in public school as something to admire, give her A's, but never to challenge. At Greenhills the teacher's offer more than just an A in class, they are willing to review and motivate your child. My child does more work now but it is often for her own personal reward, because she has been challenged to expand herself beyond grades. That joy of learning was being lost in the Ann Arbor School. (The school was referred to me by a teacher in AARP who also sends their children to Greenhills.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

This school was a great find for our family! Your treated like family. Great parent involvement. Kids love it there and they think very highly of their school. Small classes and they get to know your child, one on one. No where is perfect but I feel they come really, really close!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

I went to Greenhills for middle school. I entered 6th grade expecting to be challenged by passionate teachers within an "intimate" setting, far removed from those public schools where students sunk into an abyss of anonymity. Sadly, the 6th grade program at Greenhills was regressive, aimless, and bizarre. We sat on the floor daily for storytime, worked on long and uninspiring projects for months, and lounged around for hours inside the kindergarten-esque forums that stood in lieu of hallways. The weirdness gradually leveled off during 7th and 8th grade, but the predominant feature of the day was abundant amounts of free time and classes taught by self-congratulatory teachers with antiquated methods. Since so much is made of these loving Greenhills teachers who long to hold your hand as you face junior high perils, it's worth mentioning that many of them are roundly awful. Perhaps it's their meager salary--cut handsomely since they only have to teach "good kids"--that accounts for their bitterness. In terms of diversity, Greenhills is white to the bone. While African-Americans and Hispanics may be prominently displayed in their brochures, it will take awhile to track one down.


Posted December 12, 2010

Greenhills school has been the most increidbly opportunity in my life. I was forced to go as a 6th grader, but soon started to enjoy being at school more than anyone else. It's not just the education that's superior, but the fact that you are surrounded by people that care and are automatically taken into a tight-knit community. You are opened up to connections and teachers that will walk you through step by step, one on one, through the material if you have the slightest bit of difficulty. It is often rumored that it is full of "snobby rich kids" but this is not the case at ALL. Many kids are there on scolarship, and those that are not don't show off their wealth, but are rather polite and classy about it.


Posted April 7, 2010

To the poster below, in response: I had some negative experiences at Greenhills, but they were truthfully few and far between. There were two teachers in particular that I did not like, but both have since passed, and two bad eggs out of two dozen isn't worth a negative review. Secondly, in all my years there, I never once heard of a parent arguing with a teacher because a student got a bad grade. I'm sure it happened, but I doubt it's common practice. And lastly, most students are academically talented, but in any institution you're going to find kids who have more means than brilliance. Do you think every student at Harvard/Yale/Princeton/etc. is a genius? Definitely not. If you're in Ann Arbor, and you're looking for a strong prep school, you're not going to find anything better than Greenhills. Just because it's not *perfect* doesn't mean it's not the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2010

Having attended both the AAPS and Greenhills, I feel comfortable in saying that a GHS education is superior. Yes, the AAPS are good schools that test well and are highly rated, but they simply cannot provide the one-on-one attention that GHS can. If your child does not learn well as yet-another-face in a sea of thousands, then GHS is a wonderful alternative; teachers are supportive and attentive, classes are small, and the parental involvement is instrumental. As a student who could have easily gotten overwhelmed or downtrodden in a large public school, GHS was a saving grace; it is the reason I have excelled academically and intellectually, and that fact alone makes it worth every penny.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

It is interesting how the people defending the school have not had any negative experiences. It is hard for me to believe that they made it through the system without any criticism, since I do know that parents have been known to gang up on teachers that they feel are not giving their children the grades they need. It is one of those schools that depends on parents who can afford full tuition to pay for those actually academically talented kids on scholarship. So, truthfully there are students that are there because they can afford it and not because they are academically talented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

20% of senior class are merit scholars-that is a lot. School is great for motivated students. Getting better with struggling students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I went to Greenhills for middle school, and the Ann Arbor Public Schools for elementary and high school. Greenhills is a good school, but it doesn't offer much that the public schools do not. People at Greenhills think they are special because of the school that they attend, not because of their own personal merits or abilities, and I believe this is a probelm. Yes, Greenhills sends a lot of graduates to Ivy leagues and other great universities, but I believe these students are motivated and intelligent, and would have made it to these schools regardless of their attendance at Greenhills. People at Greenhills think they are the best thing since sliced break, but they don't know that other people are laughing at them for spending thousands of dollars on an education they could be getting for free nearby.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

We have been at Greenhills since 1998 with two of my children. It has been a fnatastic experience as a parent and an incredible learing experience for my children. It has opened up avenues that I believe would have not been there had they attended public school. We will truely miss the school at graduation this june.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

Greenhills is a wonderful school. Being a graduate and current parent, I can not say enough positive things about it, and whole heartedly recommend it - as I have to many people. In my mind there are no negatives at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

Greenhills talks a lot about diversity. While they focus on the racial side, few realize how diverse the school is in so many other ways that matter much more. Greenhills has brilliant minds, gifted athletes, talented artists, and they all learn, compete, and work with each other in ways that show how diverse the student body really is. The person who said that Greenhills is not for gifted students is very wrong. A school with diverse minds and interests forces everyone to learn from each other, and that is exactly how Greenhills functions. Parents are extremely involved in everything going on from theater events and art shows, to track meets and basketball games. The teachers seem to live for the students, devoting not just part of each day, but much of their lives to helping each student. Greenhills has had 100% college acceptance for more years than I know.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 1, 2005

I think this is find academic school, but it not necessarily for gifted children. Our experience has been up and down and in the end I think I would have been better off checking into other schools with gifted programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

Greenhills school prepared our son for college better than we ever could have imagined! The combination of small class sizes, extremely committed teachers and staff, and an atmosphere that lends itself to the love of learning make this the ideal choice for your son or daughter. Graduates from the school are accepted to the best colleges and universities in the country. Our son's class had kids accepted to Harvard, Cornell, Brown, Dartmouth, Columbia, Amherst, Wellsley, Wesleyan(sp?), Washington U., U.ofM., Yale, and too many other top-notch schools to name. This is a private school with a tuition, and you won't find a better place to invest your money! Parents are actively involved, and their participation is really appreciated. There are many opportunities for participation in athletics, the arts, publications, student government, and community service. The school is like a very close family that you would want to be a part of!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Peter Fayroian
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (734) 205-4089
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 Greenhills Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
Phone: (734) 769-4010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Clague Middle School
Ann Arbor, MI



Tappan Middle School
Ann Arbor, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT