Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
544 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Greenhills School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
To the Admissions committee ESP Betsy Ellsworth and Eric Gajar - thank you for giving a military child a chance especially after just losing his father , a USAF vet , to brain cancer . You recognized the sacrifices of military families and saw the potential in a student who was a bit lost and mourning - but had a lot to give and gain at Greenhills . Greenhills is a quiet hidden gem in Michigan and fosters stewardship , a strong value system , inclusion and diversity , and strong academic performance in every student . My son is smiling again and has developed strong integrity and confidence he had lost for a while. The friends he has made are solid caring peers who fit the typical Greenhills student . He has joined the strong arts and sports programs , and continued volunteering - making a difference for others hurting . You saw his potential and his worth as a student who would appreciate, exemplify values that will ensure his success later , and even give back to such an excellent school through his performance and loyalty . He feels the support and in turn pays it forward . He no longer wonders if he will get into college but knows he will as do 100% of students at Greenhills if that is their plan . Thank you for reminding us all that there are teachers and staff who value each student individually and will go the extra mile to give a student with life challenges a chance to find his path - giving him hope again .

Greenhills School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Although this is a private school , financial assistance and scholarships are available so do not let the cost deter you ... As an education specialist , I am over the moon with the classroom size , dedication of teachers, and relaxed but warm,safe environment at Greenhills . Greenhills is a hidden gem of Ann Arbor : the curriculum is solid and strong . In addition , Greenhills ability to prepare students for college including time and stress management, and mindfulness is to be commended . Highly qualified Counselors and staff who do not see my child as a number but as a human being are available on site at all times . The athletics are stellar and the focus on community service helps each student develop self-esteem, team building skills and a strong sense of stewardship . Our only regret is that we did not discover this school until my child had already attempted public high school where size and quality of teachers are the lick of the draw . How important is your child's education and development as a strong confident caring individual to you ?


Greenhills School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
My son is motivated and respects all his teachers - that is rare in any school . This is so because the teachers respect him and all their students individually .

Greenhills School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
My child was encouraged despite his own life challenges never to give up and to bring his creativity and ideas to Greenhills including his volunteer club . GREENHILLS has plenty of ways to volunteer but the more the merrier as they believe in having students do well not just academically but having developed into critical independent open-minded thinkers, who wish to make a difference in this world .

Greenhills School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
The strong community service programs and involving our students in their curriculum choices and preparing for their future - helps develop mutual respect and strong self-confidence .


Greenhills School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and Counselors are heavily involved in helping develop a sense of stewardship , and integrity which sadly was not a priority when my son attended public high school where rampant cheating seemed to be ignored . It was survival of the fittest . We raise our kids with their teachers - integrity ( honesty and compassion and strong sense of self worth ) needs to be a goal in every school as it is at GREENHILLS .

Greenhills School 3

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great but there are some strange kids and parents there. Ann Arbor has some great schools. Maybe not worth the money for Greenhills because not that well known outside of Michigan. Two kids from Huron (public school) are going to Harvard this year and zero from Greenhills. College placement was very disappointing--for some reason they don't have the connections. I don't think they really have a plan for the kids to make them look great in the college application process.

Greenhills School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Ruthless competition. Group projects are only about the grade, not the process. Kids "take-out" kids who do not do their work or leave them out.


Greenhills School 5

Posted March 25, 2015
- a student
I am in ninth grade, and I have loved every part of my Greenhills experience. With the exception of a few teachers here and there, the whole staff is great, nice and driven, especially the front desk people. Greenhills is quite expensive but the school, and the experiences it gives students are worth every penny. The curriculum is modern and up-to-date, and incorporates interactive learning. The school challenges students, and offers many different paths for them to take throughout high school. I actually liked going to school, and looked forward to it. The class sizes are small, providing kids with a one-on-one type connection with their instructors. Most kids just seem extremely comfortable at the school, and it is really a great environment for kids to learn who they are. This school prepares kids for the real world, and all that lies before them! I am sad that I have to leave this school, and hope that I can try to find a school as good as this one. If you are wondering whether or not to send your child to Greenhills, the answer is a pretty clear YES!

Greenhills School 5

Posted December 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has had the privilege of attending Greenhills for the last 2 years and is really looking forward to moving into the Upper School next year. I cannot say enough about this school. From the moment I walked in to the Open House, I was hooked. The faculty is outstanding and truly committed to teaching, the kids are incredibly polite and understand the value of working hard, and the administration goes out of their way to make sure that students, parents, alumni, etc. are involved, informed, and feel appreciated. True, this is not a school for every child. But, if your child is feeling lost in the traditional, large public school environment, wants to be challenged, is self-motivated, and is willing to work hard, this school is a must see.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenhills School
850 Greenhills Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48105
(734) 769-4010
Last modified Greenhills School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Greenhills School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top