Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Ann Arbor, MI
Students enrolled: 544
 

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenhills School 5

Posted March 25, 2015
- a student
I am in ninth grade, and I have loved every part of my Greenhills experience. With the exception of a few teachers here and there, the whole staff is great, nice and driven, especially the front desk people. Greenhills is quite expensive but the school, and the experiences it gives students are worth every penny. The curriculum is modern and up-to-date, and incorporates interactive learning. The school challenges students, and offers many different paths for them to take throughout high school. I actually liked going to school, and looked forward to it. The class sizes are small, providing kids with a one-on-one type connection with their instructors. Most kids just seem extremely comfortable at the school, and it is really a great environment for kids to learn who they are. This school prepares kids for the real world, and all that lies before them! I am sad that I have to leave this school, and hope that I can try to find a school as good as this one. If you are wondering whether or not to send your child to Greenhills, the answer is a pretty clear YES!

Greenhills School 5

Posted December 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has had the privilege of attending Greenhills for the last 2 years and is really looking forward to moving into the Upper School next year. I cannot say enough about this school. From the moment I walked in to the Open House, I was hooked. The faculty is outstanding and truly committed to teaching, the kids are incredibly polite and understand the value of working hard, and the administration goes out of their way to make sure that students, parents, alumni, etc. are involved, informed, and feel appreciated. True, this is not a school for every child. But, if your child is feeling lost in the traditional, large public school environment, wants to be challenged, is self-motivated, and is willing to work hard, this school is a must see.


Greenhills School 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
Greenhills is flat out exceptional. It is worth every penny. Smart, caring, and enthusiastic staff and excellent teachers. The vast majority of students are interested in learning, highly driven, as well as compassionate and kind. My children (grades 8 and 10) have had a remarkable learning experience here.

Greenhills School 2

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Schools is ok, but 10% of the 9th graders left this year. My oldest son went there any GPA was low 3.0 while his public school friends had 3.8's or higher. My son's low GPA did not allow him to attend competitive summer programs at Michigan or other schools which require a 3.5 or higher. All his public school friends are going to Michigan and he is going to a public school with 90% acceptance rate. Colleges only care about grades and scores these days. Lots of disappointed kids in his class who thought the Greenhills name would make-up for the lower GPA. It doesn't.

Greenhills School 3

Posted July 11, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are great but there are some strange kids and parents there. Ann Arbor has some great schools. Maybe not worth the money for Greenhills because not that well known outside of Michigan. Two kids from Huron (public school) are going to Harvard this year and zero from Greenhills. College placement was very disappointing--for some reason they don't have the connections. I don't think they really have a plan for the kids to make them look great in the college application process.


Greenhills School 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
My oldest is now entering 8th grade and we have another child starting in sixth grade. The 8th grader is thriving at the school. Her classmates all seem to be high-achievers in academics and extra-curriculars. It's great that she is surrounded by peers how want to do their best.

Greenhills School 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Greenhills shines as a college prep school high school. Class sizes are small, averaging 14-16, and the faculty is well qualified (top tier college educated, mostly Master/Ph.D), enthusiastic and a bit diverse and quirky. This is a great school for quiet high achievers, non-elite sports enthusiasts, and where your child won't need to fight for attention from harried, overworked teachers locked into a prescribed curriculum. The school is small enough that the teachers to provide individualized help and attention. Each grade has 70-80 kids, large enough for diversity but small enough to be a community. 9th grade is mostly lock-step (except math & foreign language with options like music/art) and options increase in later grades. Kids can 'concentrate' in sciences, arts, etc... Many of the courses are multidisciplinary and faculty designed. Homework load is heavy, so expect your child to work hard. This is not a school for slackers! GH is rated by colleges as one of the top HS in MI (e.g. UM admits 75% of GH applicants). Overall, a great choice for college bound, high achievers who want a traditional high school experience.
1 person found this helpful

Greenhills School 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
Like all schools you will have the best experience if the school fits the child. Greenhills was the best choice for my child and is worth the expense, even with the need to make hard choices. My child is very self motivated and driven, this was seen in public school as something to admire, give her A's, but never to challenge. At Greenhills the teacher's offer more than just an A in class, they are willing to review and motivate your child. My child does more work now but it is often for her own personal reward, because she has been challenged to expand herself beyond grades. That joy of learning was being lost in the Ann Arbor School. (The school was referred to me by a teacher in AARP who also sends their children to Greenhills.)


Greenhills School 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
This school was a great find for our family! Your treated like family. Great parent involvement. Kids love it there and they think very highly of their school. Small classes and they get to know your child, one on one. No where is perfect but I feel they come really, really close!

Greenhills School 2

Posted January 24, 2011
- a community member
I went to Greenhills for middle school. I entered 6th grade expecting to be challenged by passionate teachers within an "intimate" setting, far removed from those public schools where students sunk into an abyss of anonymity. Sadly, the 6th grade program at Greenhills was regressive, aimless, and bizarre. We sat on the floor daily for storytime, worked on long and uninspiring projects for months, and lounged around for hours inside the kindergarten-esque forums that stood in lieu of hallways. The weirdness gradually leveled off during 7th and 8th grade, but the predominant feature of the day was abundant amounts of free time and classes taught by self-congratulatory teachers with antiquated methods. Since so much is made of these loving Greenhills teachers who long to hold your hand as you face junior high perils, it's worth mentioning that many of them are roundly awful. Perhaps it's their meager salary--cut handsomely since they only have to teach "good kids"--that accounts for their bitterness. In terms of diversity, Greenhills is white to the bone. While African-Americans and Hispanics may be prominently displayed in their brochures, it will take awhile to track one down.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenhills School
850 Greenhills Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48105
(734) 769-4010
Last modified Greenhills School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Greenhills School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top