Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
236 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School 5

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
When you walk into a classroom in the Rudolph Steiner School of Ann Arbor, what you notice is that the walls are paneled and the windows trimmed, with wood. That makes the classroom feel less like a government institution, and more like a home. Art and beauty are at the center of the curriculum, whether it is the woodworking, clay sculpture or paintings that they produce. My daughter is now in 7th grade, and has been here since Kindergarten, and we plan to stay all the way through the end of High School. Its an amazing experience that produces well rounded young adults. What else could we ask for?

Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
An hour or two per night in 7th grade. One big project per year, she also usually has several hours of homework on the weekend.


Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
Rather than spending a few weeks learning skills such as clay sculpture or German, they spend YEARS doing these things, slowly building up, with patience and repetition, solid bases of knowledge and skills, making sure that everyone improves. Some at different rates than others, of course.

Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
Team work, team sports where "everyone plays", as the years go by, everyone gets to be the "lead" in the annual class play.

Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School 5

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
I couldn't be more pleased with Steiner. We've got a 3rd grader and a preschooler and we've been there for 4 years. I find the environment to be very open and accepting. My daughter's learning style is not only accepted but encouraged, helping her to fit into her classroom community as well as encouraging her individuality. I love how all subjects are taught with a similar emphasis so that everything from language and math to art and music are treated with equal respect. I adore the early childhood program. The way they manage to achieve a daily rhythm is gentle and nurturing. I was worried that the school would be too dogmatic for me but on the whole I've found the environment to be welcoming and accepting of all of our values. [We were not even shunned for having a tv! ;) ]


Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School 2

Posted January 09, 2015
- a student
I believe that the Rudolph Steiner philosophy is amazing, and I have no prior experience with the lower school (Which as far as I know could be absolutely phenomenal) but the high school caters to a very specific type of student. If you do not fit into that specific demographic you are gradually pushed away, whether it be intentional or unintentional. Many of the students and some of the teachers are quite judgmental and there is a great amount of favoritism going on as well. The staff also generally handles situations very poorly. As far as the education /curriculum goes, it's fairly good and there are quite a few dedicated teachers. It's certainly worth checking out, but I suggest really doing your research and visiting before investing your time and money into this school.

Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School 4

Posted December 16, 2014
- a student
I admire the general concept of Rudolf Steiner and I especially enjoyed the wonderful arts and language classes they have. I hope it keeps on improving. :)

Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
The Waldorf curriculum is amazing and really meets a child developmentally. In this school most of the teachers are really dedicated and work hard to create a beautiful learning environment. Great community and parent involvement. The most disappointing aspect of this school, is the way they communicate with parents in difficult situations. There are many parents who have felt frustrated by the way in which things get communicated and have finally left the school.


Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School 2

Posted June 07, 2013
- a community member
I was shocked to discover that not all the teachers have a teaching degree. Can you imagine? I know people can be very intelligent without a college degree but when it comes to teaching I really expect a certain level of college education. Especially when I am being asked to pay thousands of dollars each year in tuition. I also noted a morale problem among the employees, issues with the early education department, and rumblings about the head of school's leadership and human resources abilities. Some people are certainly very qualified and the philosophy great if everyone were operating by it. I hope it can find the right leadership to bring everyone together in an organized fashion to truly live the philosophy they use to get people to sign a contract. Some of the administration do not act in a manner consistent with the marketing. They are just too divided and it can be noticed by anyone spending even a little time on the campuses. Recently they seem to have lost key employees for various reasons and the turnover is alarming. This is a sign that things at the top are not running correctly. The board should take notice and the teachers should take back some control.

Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School 5

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
The faculty is simply wonderful. Kids score extremely well on college board exams. The school teaches both math and literary lessons at very high level. Every student must pass all classes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School
2775 Newport Road, Ann Arbor, MI  48103
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (734) 995-4141
Last modified Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor Lower School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top