Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor

Private | K-8 | 313 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ann Arbor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

I admire the general idea of Rudolf Steiner. However, as a former student I deeply regret having attended.


Posted June 7, 2013

I was shocked to discover that not all the teachers have a teaching degree. Can you imagine? I know people can be very intelligent without a college degree but when it comes to teaching I really expect a certain level of college education. Especially when I am being asked to pay thousands of dollars each year in tuition. I also noted a morale problem among the employees, issues with the early education department, and rumblings about the head of school's leadership and human resources abilities. Some people are certainly very qualified and the philosophy great if everyone were operating by it. I hope it can find the right leadership to bring everyone together in an organized fashion to truly live the philosophy they use to get people to sign a contract. Some of the administration do not act in a manner consistent with the marketing. They are just too divided and it can be noticed by anyone spending even a little time on the campuses. Recently they seem to have lost key employees for various reasons and the turnover is alarming. This is a sign that things at the top are not running correctly. The board should take notice and the teachers should take back some control.


Posted January 27, 2013

The faculty is simply wonderful. Kids score extremely well on college board exams. The school teaches both math and literary lessons at very high level. Every student must pass all classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2012

Everyone gets a long very well, everyone loves what their doing. This is a great place to work. It is a home for so many of us.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 19, 2012

I have heard and learned about Waldorf education and actually went to all 3 Waldorf schools in Michigan. They are all wonderful schools and although Detroit Waldorf was closer from our house but we chose to send our daughter to RSSAA. One of our reasons is because at RSSAA my child spends most of her day in this beautiful magic woods (that's what they call it). They actually started and finished the day outside. One day my daughter told me proudly that she can now climb a tree by herself! Something that has lost in this new high tech world and this was the very reason why we sent her there. I want her to grow up knowing her surrounding and to love nature just like I did when I was a kid. She often came home with clothes full of mud and I want that for my child. Now, is there any other schools out there who can give that to my child? She also learned to bake her own bread and make her own oatmeal for snack. I also feel the most positive environment when I am in the school, although I do believe you have to be willing to learn more about Waldorf education and also willing to get involved with the school's activities. This is definitely not a drop off your kid school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

I believe in Rudolf Steiner's ideas about childhood and education, but this school has a "one size fits all" approach to learning -- all children are expected to conform to it and the Waldorf pedagogy is the only one relied upon to address issues. Our child was there for two years and we found the atmosphere to be strict, extremely rule-oriented, and much too teacher-centered, leaving the children little or no freedom for self-discovery, self-discipline, and creative expression. There are some happy, confident, experienced teachers at the school, and you are fortunate if your child has one of them for 8 years. In our experience, Waldorf philosophy did not translate into joyful learning and positive child development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

My children attended this school for several years and there were many things we loved about it. Waldorf education can be a wonderful thing, and was in the school that my children attended in another state before moving here. What eventually drove us away, however, was the school's inability to resolve conflict and deal with issues as they arise. In two of the three we were a part of, there were numerous families that had relatively small problems arise (learning disabilities, minor conflicts with teachers or other students, etc). We watched all of these families, some of them close friends, as they tried to navigate through these issues using the "process" set down by the school which includes various levels of administration, teachers, board, etc. Most of these issues were never resolved, and many of the families pulled their children out of the school. The ones that stayed were so resentful that it created a constant atmosphere of tension and conflict in the two classes. Eventually, we felt our children were being negatively affected by all of the conflict, friends leaving and overall instability of the school so we decided to find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

I love Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor (RSSAA) because their philosphy treasures childhood and the curriculum meets the child as a whole being, with lots of movement and outdoor time besides academic learning. I find RSSAA a rare and unique educational community. The Waldorf curriculum emphasizes academic intelligence, social intelligence, and community consciousness. Waldorf s hands-on experiential curriculum cultivates a love for learning, self-confidence, and a creative and imaginative mind. The dedicated faculty, place a high importance on their long term relationship with the children. This relationship enables the students to grow and develop to their full potential. I am grateful that our family has been apart of this education for all these years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

Beauty would be the first word that would come to mind if you asked me about The Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor. Beauty of mind, beauty of the arts and beauty in the development of an individual's character. At the RSSAA, each person, whether they are a parent, child or teacher is given the opportunity to reach their full potential in life. Everyone works together. I have a child with special needs who attends the RSSAA and I have been met with nothing but kindness and support to help my child flourish. I highly recommend the RSSAA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

My child spent one year recently at the Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor. In my opinion, the worst part was the oppressively strict environment. For example, children were not allowed to talk to friends in class or leave their seats without the teacher's permission, and were sent to stand in the hall as punishment. After spending one day observing in my child's class, I felt like I was suffocating. The school offers one rigid approach to teaching. If it doesn't happen to fit a child's learning style, the teachers astonishingly label the child as having learning and/or behavior problems, and blame is placed on the child and/or the parents. There is much good about Waldorf education, but this school seems to be unaware of 21st century research on brain development, and how to incorporate innovative, diverse and effective teaching methods into the Waldorf philosophy. If you visit the school, I urge you to look beyond an idealistic vision of what a Waldorf school could be, and see if the children in the classrooms appear to be lively, active learners, or quiet, obedient students. There is an important difference between the two that I think RSSAA does not fully recognize.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

We sent our first grader here after a difficult experience in the public schools. We were given promises that they would individualize his need for advanced math and his difficulties with reading. Instead when he did not respond well to "one size fits all" teaching, they labeled him a behavior problem and told us how we were failing him as parents. We were given advice on everything from sleep to diet to clothing to our visitation schedule (we are divorced). They told us often our child had a "dark side". When he was diagnosed as dyslexic and gifted, we brought in educational experts to help the teacher meet his needs. She was hostile and completely uninterested in adopting any plan we might suggest. She told us we should "trust" her plan and then simply began sending him home everyday when he became too frustrated to function. Our child came home with bruises and scratches, and we were told it was healthy "rough play". However when a classmate complained our child was "too rough" he was labeled "aggressive". I would not recommend anyone with a child "outside the norm" choose Steiner. They are completely unprepared to handle it, and are likely to pathologize the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

As public educators, my husband and I have a clear understanding of how the Rudolf Steiner School of Ann Arbor measures up to public offerings. We are proud of our profession and our colleagues are capable and inspiring people. However, the size and personalization provided at Rudolf Steiner is impossible for us to match in the public arena. Rudolf Steiner provides a superior experience. Sending our daughter to Steiner is quite simply, the best parenting decision we have ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Our experience has been WONDERFUL at both the Rudolf Steiner High School and the lower school. Our son has been attending the school since the second grade and he is currently living abroad as a foreign exchange student. The teachers are very well educated and their commitment to the students' education is obvious. The school educates the entire person, not just the intellect. My son could easily have been on the typical "male" track of athletics and math. At the Steiner School, he excels at sports, math, art, drama, woodworking, science, singing, English, German and I'm sure a few other subjects I'm forgetting right now. Most importantly, he is becoming a good citizen, capable of meaningful work and maintaining healthy relationships with his peers as well as with adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

The faculty of this school is amazing. If you want your son or daughter to discover their own talents, abilities, passions...rather than trying to fit them into a mold that will fill some unspecified need in the economic sector in years to come, this is the school you have been seeking. I have had two children in this school since kindergarten, one is now in college studying criminal justice and the other is in high school. Every student receives a thorough education in music, science, mathematics, foreign languages, art, literature/English, physical education, history. They leave the school prepared to become citizens of the world, capable of meeting the challenges they themselves and society as a whole will face in the future. I cannot imagine a better place to send a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

Rudolf Steiner High School is a failing experiment in an alternative liberal education enterprise. Teachers are over educated, overpaid and more concerned with protecting their egos, reputations, and salaries than instructing students. Another website lists enrollment at only 54 students. Less than four years ago, there were well over 100. By Waldorf philosophy, teachers dominate the organization. Teachers can and have overridden repeated parental concerns and proactive administrative policies. As a direct result, administrative staff has had an excessive turnover rate to the detriment of students and parents. SUMMARY: RUN, DON'T WALK TO OTHER HIGH SCHOOLS in the Ann Arbor area. PS: Note the two misspellings in one sentence of the parental posting of November 1, 2007. While some Steiner students and their parents are not yet proficient in reading, writing, mathematics and the hard sciences; they excel in music, arts and dance. And their self esteem is off the charts. If you don't want to believe this opinion regarding their collective self worth; I suggest you simply consider asking the students, their supportive liberal parents and most of the Rudolf Steiner teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

I originally chose this school for my first child, but have loved the experience so much that it has been a natural progression for the others to follow. The curriculum is unlike any other, including charter and private schools. I would be hard-pressed to find another school that could give my children excellent academic skills while fostering their sense of kindness and beauty. Because teachers stay with the class the entire eight years, there evolves a sense of family in the classroom. It is startling that this curriculum is not the norm -- and a pity. It puts all other 'alternative' education to shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

This school is amazing! My doughter has been going here for almost 7 years & her whole class is like a scond family. I love you steiner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

My children have been at this school for nearly 6 years and love it. For those who want to provide their children with a well-rounded education this is the place. Unlike most schools, RSSAA does not cater to the idea that children are future consumers but meets them at a personal level, fostering not only their academic talents, but their creative talents as well. The teachers stay with their students throughout all 8 grades of elementary school, proving that this education seeks to nurture the whole child from head to heart. We have been very fortunate to have for our child one of the original teachers whose 25 years' experience is unsurpassed. It is by far the most unique education available in the area. Parents run the gamut from hippie to suit, but their common idea of education keeps the parent body a pretty tight community. Worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 71%
Multiracial 8% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
African-American 2% 20%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sandra Greenstone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
Fax number
  • (734) 669-9396

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2775 Newport Rd
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Phone: (734) 669-9394

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Abbot School
Ann Arbor, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT