Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Daycroft Montessori School

Private | K-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ann Arbor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2013

I have two children at Daycroft and it has been a fantastic experience. The teachers give a good deal of attention to the children and create a very supportive non-threatening environment. The parents are very involved and the head of school is great. I am quite shocked to read the review about being focused on money. Daycroft is a non-profit and they continually spend money on financial aid scholarships and equipment for the school. I have seen six kids leave Daycroft due to financial reasons (hard to justify cost of private school when AA public schools are good), but three came back within a year because they realized there was a substantial difference in quality. Most cited large change in student-teacher ratio going from Daycroft (10-1 for my children's classes) to public schools (26-1 for some). My kids really like the Montessori approach and the literature on it suggests it has its advantages. Try searching Google for "Montessori Mafia", and related scientific studies on Montessori teaching. Overall, Daycroft has been well worth the price for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

This school is all about profit . Once you have enrolled your child - there is no getting out. They make a lot of promisses at first (like "individual learning plans"..) but after you sign that contract - nobody cares anymore. We were very unhappy about our child's academic progress and went to the principle. Well, it was like talking to a brick wall, she almost blamed us for having high expectations and our child's inability to focus. Very dissapointing experience if your child is bright. Personally know 3 more families that left for Go like the wind or Honey Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I worked at the Zeeb Campus for about 4 years as an administrative assistant. I now have children of my own and can compare what I experienced working at Daycroft to the public charter school that my kids attend. Daycroft ran like a well-oiled machine when I was there. It was a warm and inviting work environment. There was high parent involvement in the form of the Parents' Guild and lots of positive attitude. Daycroft is not a pure Montessori environment. The schools educational approach finds its foundations in the Montessori style and can incorporate other styles as well. I found the elementary school to be amazing and I loved watching the children learn and grow each year that I worked there.


Posted April 21, 2009

Daycroft is not a true Montessori school. Teachers do not practice Montessori approaches of teaching to the individual. The language used by teachers would pain Maria Montessori and their ability to support children socially is lacking
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

This is definitely the best preschool in Ann Arbor. The leadership in the preschool is excellent and truly makes a connection with the children and the parents. I was definitely headed toward sending my children to public schools but after the wonderful experience I have had I am headed on to the elementary campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

My child has blossomed in this school. The principal was warm and involved; the teachers are caring and top-notch. I have had my child in 2 other preschools and this one is top-notch. Have decided to continue with the Montessori school instead of public. Great teacher/child ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

My child also attends the Oakbrook Campus, and I would have to disagree with the parent who submitted the review below. My child has made tremendous progress in this preschool. She's had tons of fun learning, and has benefited immensely from the curriculum. The teachers have been communicative and wonderful. Could not hope for a better school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

Would not recommend sending your child here. Poor attitude in dealing with children - starts from principal down. not happy environment for children. Have only seen 1 teacher that is good with kids and he is great. This is the Oakbrook campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Diane Mukkala
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Secular
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (734) 662-3360

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1095 North Zeeb Rd
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Phone: (734) 662-3335

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Abbot School
Ann Arbor, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT