Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Daycroft Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
We loved the teachers during our time there over 5 years. They always cared a great deal for the students and were very knowledgeable about their material.

Daycroft Montessori School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
They could increase the amount of math homework as the students get into 4th and 5th grades but the rest is great.


Daycroft Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The independent work plans that the students complete each week give the students flexibility to be responsible and struggle with material.

Daycroft Montessori School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The students maintain a high level of respect for the teachers and administrators. They really know how to work with the students.

Daycroft Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
They have a fantastic staff that talks about empathy and the feelings of other students with the clas on a regular basis.


Daycroft Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very involved with the students every day and take care to address situations where honesty, integrity, or fairness come up.

Daycroft Montessori School 5

Posted June 30, 2013
- a parent
The teachers, parents and children at the school are great. The art teacher and the music teachers are amazing.

Daycroft Montessori School 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at Daycroft and it has been a fantastic experience. The teachers give a good deal of attention to the children and create a very supportive non-threatening environment. The parents are very involved and the head of school is great. I am quite shocked to read the review about being focused on money. Daycroft is a non-profit and they continually spend money on financial aid scholarships and equipment for the school. I have seen six kids leave Daycroft due to financial reasons (hard to justify cost of private school when AA public schools are good), but three came back within a year because they realized there was a substantial difference in quality. Most cited large change in student-teacher ratio going from Daycroft (10-1 for my children's classes) to public schools (26-1 for some). My kids really like the Montessori approach and the literature on it suggests it has its advantages. Try searching Google for "Montessori Mafia", and related scientific studies on Montessori teaching. Overall, Daycroft has been well worth the price for us.


Daycroft Montessori School 1

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
This school is all about profit . Once you have enrolled your child - there is no getting out. They make a lot of promisses at first (like "individual learning plans"..) but after you sign that contract - nobody cares anymore. We were very unhappy about our child's academic progress and went to the principle. Well, it was like talking to a brick wall, she almost blamed us for having high expectations and our child's inability to focus. Very dissapointing experience if your child is bright. Personally know 3 more families that left for Go like the wind or Honey Creek.

Daycroft Montessori School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a community member
I worked at the Zeeb Campus for about 4 years as an administrative assistant. I now have children of my own and can compare what I experienced working at Daycroft to the public charter school that my kids attend. Daycroft ran like a well-oiled machine when I was there. It was a warm and inviting work environment. There was high parent involvement in the form of the Parents' Guild and lots of positive attitude. Daycroft is not a pure Montessori environment. The schools educational approach finds its foundations in the Montessori style and can incorporate other styles as well. I found the elementary school to be amazing and I loved watching the children learn and grow each year that I worked there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Daycroft Montessori School
1095 North Zeeb Rd, Ann Arbor, MI  48103
(734) 662-3335
Last modified Daycroft Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Daycroft Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top