Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ann Arbor Hills Child Development Center

Private | K-2

 
 

Living in Ann Arbor

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

The reviewer of December 9, 2013 is reviewing another school. Here's why: 1) This school has no "small rooms." 2) There is no wealth-based discrimination that I see (and I'm not wealthy!) 3) The school is never described as "American." 4) Children who are interested in toys and books are welcomed at the school. 5) The school is not a day care. 6) Students are well prepared to go to any school in the Ann Arbor area after learning at Ann Arbor Hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

Interestingly enought my last review disappeared ! This school take children with clear "disabilities " the children have small to very small room to be in. The staff makes a clear contious effort to discouraged people that visit if they are not white and rich. They also discourage parents of children that are just normal Meaning running talking being kids! The new normal is kids that are subdued and unarticulated As we visited the school several times we were told that it was an "American school" and frown up our happy child who demonstrated interest in looking at toys and books!!!! Many people know very well that this school is for a certain type of people usually rich with kids with learning disabilities It is not a school for excellence in academic A mere day care not well staffed If you preferred self gloating comments then you will erase this comment also People like us who visited the school and some who went there and took their children out Know the truth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

This is our fourth year at Ann Arbor Hills, and we couldn't be happier with the education and nurturing environment there. My oldest son finished the primary program at AAH with a great enthusiasm for learning and school, as well as a outstanding academic foundation. His math, literacy, and writing skills were all highly developed. I have another child currently attending AAHCDC who is blossoming as well. All this without pressures of standardized testing, lots of busywork, etc.. You simply can't beat the teacher to student ratio. AAHCDC is a place that nurtures the whole child. My children have had instilled in them qualities of empathy, kindness, and maturity through their interactions with the staff and students in this community. At school my children discovered a love of art and creativity that I see manifested at home with self directed projects and playing. AAHCDC has a gentle yet stimulating approach to education that allows children to thrive in a very unique way, and experience the joys of childhood fun and learning. The teachers and administrators are among the best I have seen in education and provide wonderful examples for the children, and parents as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

All 3 of my children attended Ann Arbor Child Development Center over the course of 7 years. As a new mother trying to find her way in a new city, new country I was able to settle into this environment seemlessly. It employed qualified, patient and attentive staff who were able to teach and nurture all of them in so many ways. They learned the basics yes, but more than that, they learned to trust an academic environment which has led to success in their future years. Foundation is the cornerstone of this facility. They bring a strong base for which future schools are able to build upon. I highly recommend this school for families seeking a warm, inviting space for their child to thrive and grow. Years have passed since we have attended AAH's but nonetheless, I still enjoy the friendships that were forged with other AAH's parents in our community. It was always nice to see Holiday cards posted on the wall at AAH's from families of the past who still think of this school as home away from home while their child attended. Some of these families have college graduates and it all began here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

My daughter went to elementary school extremely well prepared both academically and socially because of the high quality of education she got at AAHCDC. She started there when she was almost 3 and went through the primary school. It is a very nurturing school with teachers who have an obvious joy for teaching. I have recommended the school to many families who were looking for the best preschool for their kids, and every experience that I know has been extremely positive. My daughter is in 5th grade this year and we still keep in touch with the other families who were at the school when we were there. We were very lucky to have AAHCDC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

Our daughter went there for 4 wonderful years. The teachers are the most caring and the environment is really nurturing. The school is amazing and you really cant find a better place to allow your children to grow in confidence and intellect. Its a safe school that listens to parents and children alike and is very thoughtful in helping all of its children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

AA Hills is more than a school- it is a family. AA Hills is a community of caring teachers and staff that nurture the students in a safe, fun environment. My child grew exponentially in academics as well as group play and social skills. When I dropped my child off each morning we each had a smile on our face. My son looked forward to his day at school and I had the peace of mind knowing he would be happy in the environment of creativity, learning, and growth that embodies AA Hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Provides a good foundation in basic skills. If you have an active child please compare your child to the others enrolled. Rambunctious children are frowned upon and discouraged from attending. Exclusionary practices pervade the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

A wonderful nurturing and stimulating environment! I can't imagine a better place for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 69%
Multiracial 21% 2%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Ramelle Alexander
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Secular,Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2775 Bedford Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Phone: (734) 669-0383

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Summers-Knoll School
Ann Arbor, MI



John Allen School
Ann Arbor, MI


Pattengill School
Ann Arbor, MI


Pittsfield School
Ann Arbor, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT