Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-9|Private
205 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I encourage any parents that are unhappy with anything at Go like the Wind to contact our Head of School, Jim Basel. It is our goal to offer an authentic Montessori education in a positive, caring environment. Jim Basel jbasel@golikethewind.com 734-747-7422
March 10, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Go Like The Wind Montessori School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
I am greatful to all the dedicated staff at Go Like the Wind Montessori. They have fostered my children's creativity and wonder about the world around them. They intuitively focus on the child's strengths while working with them to build up their weaknesses. Any other school would have crushed my children's spirit and at Go Like the Wind, their spirit is strong and set free. It's not just a school, it's a community, a family.

Go Like The Wind Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Happy students, happy teachers, happy parents. The teachers have been absolutely wonderful in guiding the students to reach their goals and overcome any obsticles.


Go Like The Wind Montessori School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Homework is based on grade level and the individual student. Teachers are always there to talk before and after school should there be any concerns.

Go Like The Wind Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
With daily and weekly goals, students learn to prioritize and develope time management skills that they'll use throughout their entire life. Self accomplishment is reward enough.

Go Like The Wind Montessori School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Individualism is warmly accepted by students and staff alike. It all goes back to grace and courtesy.


Go Like The Wind Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Grace and courtesy is taught from infant through middle school. It's not just preached, it's implemented in all areas.

Go Like The Wind Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Children are taught grace and courtesy from infant through middle school. Being a Christian based Montessori, those values are not just taught, but implemented.

Go Like The Wind Montessori School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Authentic Montessori allowing the child to work at his own pace while reaching goals towards a successful academic and social future inside and outside of the classroom. My children's spirit has been given the opportunity to flourish within a safe community.


Go Like The Wind Montessori School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
My family's experience at Go Like The Wind Montessori has been tremendous. Our son was attending a local Ann Arbor charter school where the teachers were very nice and caring but the performance levels were suspect. We moved him to Go Like The Wind for 5th grade and he has remained through middle school with outstanding results. In 3 years at Go Like The Wind his test performance increased by 45 percentile in math and 50 percentile in reading. Go Like The Wind offers an authentic Montessori education individualized for each students skill level and has teacher student ratios of 1:8. In addition to improved academic performance, the school has helped our son develop his leadership and team player skills through giving him in-class responsibilities, holding him accountable and having multi-age class rooms. The head of school and teachers are amazing! They get to know each student as an individual, they genuinely care about the children and they are experienced/effective professionals.

Go Like The Wind Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
My child's experience in the 4-6th grade upper elementary and 7-8th grade middle school has been tremendous. The teachers in both classes are energetic, clearly love to teach and really get to know each student's as an individual. They spent the time and effort to understand my son's personality and how he learns best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Go Like The Wind Montessori School
3540 Dixboro Lane, Ann Arbor, MI  48105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (734) 747-7422
Last modified Go Like The Wind Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Top