Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastern Washtenaw Multicultural Academy

Charter | K-12 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ann Arbor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2014

I once was a student at the school and I hated it so much. At first it seemed okay but I noticed how the teachers had zero time for caring about the students, especially for the major fact that there was ALWAYS favoritism when it came to the students who were related to the owners or head of the school. I noticed how they would immediately send out students who weren't from the same religious group or ethnic background, right away, claiming they were being "disrespectful" even if the child tried to tell the teacher what happened or explain something, the staff would not care and continue to accuse the child anyway. The principal at the time was not very active in discipline and was more of a intimidation instead who did not care about talking kindly to a child or intervening when a problem occurred but much rather just dismiss the child with a harsh consequence. Not only did I hate the school but my parents and siblings. Don't be fooled by the appearance. Never send your kids there. Ever.


Posted June 24, 2014

How does a school with such poor test scores stay in operation? Is anyone paying attention? There are charter schools popping up like weeds with little to no accountability!


Posted June 3, 2014

After attending M.A , it has been a great experince to prepare me for my future. The teaching staff does not allow you to give up. They stay after school tutoring for those who need the extra help. The principal has an open door policy for students and staff for any concerns or needs you have in school or in you personal life. She is someone you can talk to and be social about with anything. Everyone is so caring and helpful with anything. Thank you for everything M.A


Posted November 1, 2013

This school is just amazing my child comes here and has an awesome time. When she changed schools this school really helped and got her on the right path it is amazing how she gets up every morning and excited to go. The staff and administration is VERY polite and caring. They are very helpful. I do recommend someone to bring there child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I Love how this school is they know each of the children and they Great them in the morning and in the Evening they are there to send them off with a smiling face. I always tell everyone they should send their kids here. My Grandson Loves all his Teachers and I am very happy with that because that makes them want to go to school. EWMA Keep up the Great Work !!!!


Posted October 5, 2013

One of the best schools in michigan. small classrooms, good teachers , safe teaching envirnment and good leaderhip.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

all the bad reviewd come from teachers that lost their jobs because they were bad teachers . This is a great school with a great leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

This school is the worst school i have ever been to. , uncaring and don't do a good job of helping out the WHOLE class. The teachers in middle school only care for the kids who are related to the principal. The staff is so rude The principal is extremely selfish and only lets the kids she is related to not get in trouble. I would never go back to this school and i don't recommend anyone going to that school too.


Posted September 17, 2013

I would not recommend this school to any parent,bad school,and the Principal unprofessional with no education at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I feel that the teachers are great, the administration is a different story and nobody should judge school by them. My child is in preschool and had the best school year. I have another child in 3rd grade and again had the teacher answer all my questions and concerns. I never talked with admin and really had no contact with them. The principal did not make a attempt to connect with us but the teachers did. The reason I brought my child here was the preschool and felt the small family value very strong in both grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Multicultural Academy is a great school. I have the pleasure of having two children in the program. I was not even aware that the school existed until my neighbor who also has a child there told me about it. I feel that the staff is caring and pushes my children to succeed. I have been telling more and more friends and family about the school because my experience has been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

The school is a farce. There is not leadership that understands the basic prinicples of education, especially at the middle and upper grades. Students who are related to the administration are favored blatantly and teachers are undermined and belittled daily by administration. There are cultural issues among the students that need addressing by staff, but administration does not have any idea how to handle it.


Posted June 21, 2013

I would not recommend this school to any parent. As one of the reviews said before me it is a "Joke". No one at the school is professional in anyway besides the Secretary. People at the school have their favorite students that they place upon a pedestal. The way behavior is handled is not proficient. There are times when's teachers won't show up, or staff knows about it and places someone in the room who Isn't qualified to be a teacher in anyway. Kids there aren't open to all races. You are expected to learn about one race in general. If your looking for a school I highly recommend Huron, Pioneer, r a private school.


Posted October 30, 2012

VERY high teacher turnover rate. Teachers either get frustrated and quit or they get rid of the good teachers. They expect us to teach 4-5 different classes and get paid next to nothing. The kids are out of control and when they are sent to the office the discipline doesn't happen, especially if they are related to the staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2012

Hi there! I am a student in 8th grade that goes to E.W.M.A! I appreciate that school because it is very fun and great! Every year you get to go to cedar point! i advise every kid to go here! A very great school. Even once you get older- i am saying MAYBE a trip in space. This school has changed into a better school now, Rudness has stop, because Ms.Furha, a great princapal, takes care of everything, and helps us, too. So once again, take your kids here to this wonderful great school!


Posted August 28, 2012

One of the worst schools around. Teachers are constantly battling discipline problems and students are not disciplined properly. Students are extremely rude many are related to the administration so there are a lot of "favoritism" issues. Teacher turnover is high, VERY high. Administration is VERY unprofessional to staff. I do not believe students get the best education here. Many of the teachers are very talented and try their best in a setting that far below average.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 28, 2012

I am so proud that i choose to take my children to EWMA. It is a wonderful school. the learning environment is the best i've seen in a charter school in my life. I had a wonderful opportunity to talk with the different parents that enjoy there cild going there too. words cant even explain how smooth the days go there. there quality is as i expect. there discipline is perfect. check it out and you will know what I'm talking about
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

Its true this school has zero tolerance for bad teachers and students. Their goal is to provide the best education in a safe enviromnet. The teaches and administration always hard to ensure thaa the student receive the deserved education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

This school does not do students any justice. Unfortunately, when parents just complain and don't pull their children out, the school does not feel inclined to change and doesn't. The teacher turnover rate is high because there are better teaching positions out there and teachers leave when those openings occur. Last year, there were at least 6 changes in staff during the year. Some of them took part time jobs, some took contract jobs, and some left without even having a job lined up. With all of these low ratings, there honestly can't be that many people out there who just want to "lie" and "attack a person's character". As with any school, you always are going to have people that are happy with the school and people that are unhappy...however, a great deal of low ratings should say something to a parent who is truly looking for the best school for their child.


Posted September 21, 2011

After attending E.W.M.A throughtout my highschool years, it has been a great experince to prepare me for college. The teaching staff does not allow you to give up. They stay after school tutoring for those who need the extra help. The principal has an open door policy for students and staff for any concerns or needs you have in school or in you personal life. She is someone you can talk to and be social about with anything. Thank you EWMA


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
4%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
8%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 58% 18%
White 27% 69%
Hispanic 12% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 180%N/A48%
Female 253%N/A48%
Male 247%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patricia Eggleston
Fax number
  • (734) 677-0740

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5550 Platt Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Phone: (734) 677-0732

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT