Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rogers School

Public | K-6 | 455 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2012

My son just started attending this school, and although its only the first week, I am already VERY unhappy with this school. It is the most unorganized school I have ever seen...the whole school meets in the gym? School is supposed to start at 7:58. At 8:10 they are all still sitting in unorganized lines on the floor, I was told this was the teachers prep time? Can 't they prep on their own time? Nobody seems to know whats going on, I have gotten nothing home yet...and my son was crying after school the other day because his teacher is mean and yells all the time and she wouldn't let him get a drink!! I think I am moving out of this school district ASAP
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Just want to get more involved in the school environment, since my daughter is going to Kinder to Rodger's...let see how it goes. Thank You. Cynthia Ramos
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

For the last two year's my nephew came to this school he attended, Kindergarten and First grade this a failing school ,for three reason's,one,there is no leadership,two, under achieving faculty,three, parents who care very little,they come out when the school hand's out a free meal or something that they are giving away for free. This is why i give it one star and my nephew will be a in a better school in a new school district......


Posted September 12, 2006

I've been dealing with this school for 8 years we are unable to move we always seem to have a problem with this school I have 2 kid in the school now and 1 that now in middle school I've been told many times its not the teachers job to let you know your kids are not turning homework or having problems with other kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

I have been involved with Will Rogers for 4 years and it has consitently scored near or above State standards. The principal, who retires this year, has strong moral fiber and great educational ability. The teachers that my children have had are great and if I have a problem they listen. I have my doubt about the rest of the school district, but Rogers is the reason most parents in the area don't put their children in private school. I can only hope that the State and school district gets their act together and stops the attrition of good teachers that are going to be seen this January. If your child is behind on reading it is because you aren't involved in their lives. The teacher's aids are being cut. Come to the PTA meeting and make your voice heard or volunteer in your child's classroom. That is where the difference is made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

we moved to auburn hills not knowing that our children would be attending pontiac schools.being an involved parent,i was to make the best of it. wrong! there are no programs for the children,teachers are being laid off left and right with no explaination. the media center staffer and janitor were laid off. can you imagine? no library? and getting answers is impossible.classes are being collapsed with 34 6th graders in one class. the 2nd grade has had teachers moving around and will again with the buy-outs in dec. we are now moving out of the district mid-year and couldnt be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

My son had 4 different teachers for Kindergarten. No consistency. Reading/writing skills were way behind 'norm'. Not unusual to see (other) teachers yelling at their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2005

This school is very behind compared to the neighboring districts. The school lacks helping students in areas such as reading and has no latch key program or many after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 41% 18%
Hispanic 40% 6%
White 14% 69%
Asian 3% 3%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Arlee Ewing
Fax number
  • (248) 451-7862

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Dexter Rd
Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 451-7850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakland Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI



Heritage Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI


Havenwyck School
Auburn Hills, MI


Herrington School
Pontiac, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT