Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bath Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 473 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2012

This is my daughter's first year at Bath Elementary School. And in just the short time that school has been in session I am in awe of the security precautions that they have in place to protect our kids. I would strongly recomend this school and the whole district to anyone looking to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Good school with good hard working teachers and administrators.


Posted February 9, 2009

I have a student that has been attending Bath for several years now. The competency and compassion of the teachers seems to vary greatly from year to year, and the office can be very misleading and rude. The facilities are adequate and the maintenance/lunch staff are friendly and do a great job. Overall, I would not recommend this school, as the headaches and heartburn that come with dealing with the office are not worth the (sometimes) mediocre teachers that don't honestly seem to care about the children. I am on this site looking for another option for my child, as I am tired of the poor communication and negative attitudes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I also have a student that has attended the elementary for several years now and would have to second the displeasure with some of the office staff. This is definately not the warm welcome you would expect from an elementary school. I have experieced teaching staff that are very interested, caring and compassionate about the students but when the opposite is the case it definately stands out. I would not recommend this school unless and until the office staff and especially the principle positions were changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

As the parent of a kindergartener, so far everything is wonderful. We really appreciate the amount of information and feedback we receive from our son's teacher and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2003

My child is new to this school in 2003. To date, we have both experienced excellent communications between teacher(s) and parent. Since my child has changed school districts, Bath Elementary Staff has worked to orient the student to the many differences between the schools. The Elementary School webpage does need some work as it has not been updated and some of the posted event dates differ from that on the printed calendar which was distributed by teacher staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 69%
Multiracial 7% 2%
Hispanic 5% 6%
African-American 3% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Zachary Strickler
Fax number
  • (517) 641-7288

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13789 Webster Rd
Bath, MI 48808
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 641-6771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Summit Christian Academy
East Lansing, MI


Donley Elementary School
East Lansing, MI





Pinecrest School
East Lansing, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT