Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harper Creek High School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a student
I am currently a student at Harper Creek High School. The teachers genuinely teach and want to see their students succeed not only in the classroom, but also after graduation in the real world. The administration has recently (school year of 2011-2012) hired several new teachers that are fresh out of college - these young professionals are able to better connect and reason with students than older teachers might, due to the narrower age gap. The class choices are wide and varied and speak to all types of high school students; from new, AP courses and required core classes, the number of paths a student can take at Harper Creek High School are infinite. The new five block schedule which takes effect next school year continues to offer additional classes which hadn't been able to be run before (such as speech, debate, etc.) and has created entirely new courses that students of all kinds may enjoy (I know, for example, that there is a video game design class that has been recently approved for the curriculum). Additionally, students are able to dual enroll at KCC, the Math and Science Center, and/or the Career Center. All in all, Harper Creek High School is a cut above the rest.

Harper Creek High School 1

Posted March 18, 2011
- a student
I think Harper Creek wastes more time on their discipline and athletics than they do academics.


Harper Creek High School 2

Posted November 29, 2010
- a student
I recently graduated from Harper Creek. There are many good teachers in that school that take the time to teach you. However, the administration is changing things so drastically that the teachers are forced to spend time walking on egg shells so they won't get fired instead of being a mentor for their students. I was in two choirs, SADD, and Asset Committee during my time at HC. The choir ALWAYS had to provide their own transportation and the school was never willing to help. However, the football time is transported whereever they need to go. My sister is a varsity cheerleader. They do NOT recieve transportation to away games. The parents must provide it. That is absolutely ridiculous that they complain about having no school spirit and yet the one group that is suppose to provide that, doesn't feel as if they are needed. I was NOT ready for college what so ever. There is only one counsler in that whole school who will give you the materials you need in a timely manner and help you with their best effort. Overall, I would NEVER allow my children to attend this school unless they make some major changes including focusing more on academics over their stupid, new football field.

Harper Creek High School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a student
Harper Creek has become a joke. Seriously i'm a student and if we didn't spend alllll the money on a football field we wouldn't have to fire teachers. (like we are any good at football anyways?)

Harper Creek High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Harper Creek High School 1

Posted June 11, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Harper Creek High School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Harper Creek High School 4

Posted November 08, 2007
- a student
Harper Creek is ok, good technology escpecially in the woods department. A few minor bugs here and there, but meh. Go HERM!!! <----WoodLINKS Teacher of the Year!


Harper Creek High School 5

Posted October 26, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Harper Creek High School 2

Posted September 22, 2007
- a former student
I am a former student who is sadly disappointed by the administration of this school. At a school rules are a must. But, at Harper Creek, the rules are changing at a rate that not only the students are unable keep up with, but the teachers themselves are hard pressed to find time to effectively enforce all the rules. Also, new academic policies create a no fail policy, whereas teachers cannot fail a student and must pass that student with a D-. This is an attempt to make the teachers 'motivate' the students to do better but in reality it is only passing kids no matter what, without doing any work, which only inflates grades. This school does have great facilities and teaching personal but has poorly managed policies and rules to the point of students opting to leave for other nearby schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harper Creek High School
12677 Beadle Lake Road, Battle Creek, MI  49014
(269) 441-8450
Last modified Harper Creek High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harper Creek High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top