Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Queen of Martyrs School

Private | PK-8 | 36 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Beverly Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2013

Our children love OLQM, it is our second family. The teachers are great and go beyond to help the students in every way. It's a very welcoming school. We have been happy here for the past 7 years. There are plenty of CYO/Intramural sports to choose from each season. Great scouting and AHG programs. Plenty of fun family school events. Lots of parent involment in many ways-making you feel more a part of your childs learning. Mom-Tot playgroup drew us in-and we anticipate staying til 8th grade graduation! Great preschool program and bonus of an after school and before school program for school age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

The post from December 23rd 2011 is not referencing a fourth grade student. The attitude displayed by the poster on February 29th is typical of the prevalent attitude that if you don't "just go along", you are labeled as irrational. That post is a perfect display of trying to single out an individual and label them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

We have 2 young kids at OLQM and we love it there. We don t think we could have found a school that cares more for our kids. We know our kids are safe and in good hands when we drop them off. We are also amazed at how much our kids are learning, even at such a young age. OLQM s academics are top notch, as is its teaching/reinforcement of character and respect. OLQM is helping provide the solid foundation kids need to grow into caring, responsible, and productive adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

The problem with forums like this (and other internet blogs) is that it allows anyone to post a comment for the world to see. Whether right, wrong, just, injust, rational or irrational (ref 12/23/11 post). OLQM has a first rate staff and excellent leadership. Most importantly, there is not a bullying problem at OLQM and parents are not pulling their kids because of it. In fact, enrollment is increasing. What it does have is a disgruntled ex parent, who feels the world is against their only child, who could not manipulate the staff to his (or the parents) liking. This child has since moved on to his fourth school (currently a 4th grader), which is a clear indication of where the problem resides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

We have three boys at OLQM and we have been in the school since 2003. The overall environment is incredible. The acedemic program is second to none and the teacher's and staff really care about the kids. There is a real partnership between the teacher's and the parents to ensure that the children thrive. The family involvement in the school is amazing - it feels like home whenever you walk into the building. We will always make whatever finanical sacrifices are needed to ensure that our boys can continue to attend this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

I have gone to OLQM since pre-k and have loved every second of it! The teachers are great! but the only thing that is somewhat bad would be that since you are in a small class enviroment, you get sick of everyone once you are in 8th grade. but overall it is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2008

I have 3 children at OLQM and can't say enough about this school! It is such a wonderful, loving community and my children love going to school everyday! The staff is fantastic, challenging, nurturing.The families are all very involved and all and all this school is wonderful and I can't imagine my children anywhere else! If your considering this school I too urge you to visit the staff and speak with the kids, you will see what a great school it is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

The parents seem to think this school is a blessing, in my opinion its more of a burden, and their kids obviously aren't saying the truth about this place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2008

We became involved with OLQM through the Pre Kindergarden program. The families we met and got to know have kept us here at OLQM. It is a true community of families to support the students and teachers. Our two sons love their teachers. Excellent place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

I am a student at OLQM! I enjoy my time there! A lot of learning goes on and the teachers are really nice! Thanks A Million!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2008

My son came to OLQM as an eighth grader. I only wish I would have found this school years earlier. Every aspect of this school is outstanding from academics to extracurricular activities. The learning environment is filled with the warmth of the teachers, who go above and beyond to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

I can't say enough about the education and environment offered to our two children at OLQM. Expectations are high, the learning environment is appropriate, and the children are loved. I wouldn't send them any other place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

My daughter has attended OLQM since 1st grade and is now in her final year (8th). My son attended OLQM's Early Childhood Center and 1/2 day K, and is now in 1st grade. We have found every important aspect of the school to be excellent: staff; academics; faith; discipline; intramural & CYO athletics; extracurricular activities; diversity. The parents at OLQM are second to none. This is the right school for my kids without question. For those shopping for a school for their kid/s, I encourage you to give OLQM a look. Meet the faculty, take a tour of the school and meet some of the students and parents. If you value what we do, you will make it your second home like so many of us have!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

We have three children at OLQM ranging from 1st grade to 7th grade. The school is academically demanding, spritually fulfilling, challenging and loving. It is made up of a close knit community of parents, teachers and administrators with the common goals of a great education along with strong Christian values. Sending our children to OLQM has been an outstanding choice for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

We have had children at OLQM since 1995. This school is a blessing! The faculty is dedicated to the education of your child. I would encourage you to visit and talk to current families. This school is for every level of student, They encourage and challenge the very brightest to the struggling, I thank God every day for this beautiful school, Lorri Delaney Mother of 7 OLQM students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

Great learning environment, dedicated teachers, involved parents-fantastic prep for high school. The children are well disciplined. Great math and science programs. Good athletic opportunity at all levels. Good religious environment. The pastor is just tremendous. You can not go wrong sending you child to OLQM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

I agree with the Oct '04 review. There is a lot to be said for a school whose parents get so involved. The teachers are first rate and all care. More after-school activities are being added. I have two kids there (several years) and very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2004

My child 1st semester in 4th grade. 'It's a tough school mom.' Academically demanding!!! I like that. Great location, facility and faculty. Caring people. Drawbacks: student body & staff has no much diversity, predominantly wasp. Art program is weak. Once a week for 1/2 hour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

OLQM is by far the best school I have ever been associated with. I taught there for four years and they were the best four years of my life. The faculty and administration had one thing on their minds and that was to provide the students with the best education possible. Parental involvement was high and students were held accountable for their actions. The Principal and Dean of Students are wonderful. I would recommend OLQM to anyone who wants a quality education for his or her son or daughter.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 69%
African-American 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Joseph Vincler
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (248) 642-3671

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32460 Pierce Street
Beverly Hills, MI 48025
Phone: (248) 642-2616

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Beverly Elementary School
Beverly Hills, MI



Eton Academy
Birmingham, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT