Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Birch Run High School

Public | 9-12 | 594 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2011

I attended Birch Run Schools from middle school through high school. I was active in extracurricular activities and sports and enjoyed participating. I will agree that students who participate are more popular, but thats true no matter what school you attend. I felt no more or less prepared for college at Western Michigan University than any other freshman there. I plan to send my children to BR schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2010

i think we have a good school we have many classes we can choose from also unlike most schools we have labs that we can not worry about blowing the school up :) i think we could improve the lunch though but what student wouldnt say that?! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2010

I graduated from Birch Run High School and went on to attend Michigan Technological University. I feel like I was very well prepared for University. I had a great time and the school offered plenty of oppourtunities to further my education beyond textbook learning.


Posted May 4, 2010

Five stars, students are safe and the academics are the center of the school educators philosophy. Some staff changes that will really help learing


Posted May 4, 2010

Great school - some don't get their way and may not like that We have always been treated well and the staff / principal are very involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I have worked at Birch Run High School for the last four years and have seen a great decline in student participation ever since the new principal came to power. Our budget is one of the worst funded that I have ever seen and the food selection appears to have come from a third world country!!! These kids might as well go to Millington. Thank you for taking time to listen to me describe the best features of our schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2009

I'm a student at the school, and I personally think it is one of the worst places to be. The teachers do not care about the students or the students education. I have a teacher who, honestly, gives us an assignment maybe once every couple weeks. I'm a good student. I'm at school to further my education. I'm going to college, but with the education I've recieved from going to Birch Run schools all my life, I feel that I'm not prepared for college at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

The principal is making improvements at the high school, but with so many poor quality teachers...how long is it going to take? As my child suffers through with a teacher that is not even an adequate person, let alone a teacher, and she effects my child's education and daily qualilty of life at the school. Until a handful or so poor teachers are corrected or eliminated, life is still a struggle at BRHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

I have 2 children in Birch Run schools and wish I could move to get them out of there. The staff has been nothing but horrible and the administration is WORSE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

I feel as though I am not respected as much because I dont do sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2007

My two boys goes to Birch Run and I graduated from BR also. I am very pleased with the community and the schools. It is all what you make of your education. If you are unhappy with the school system, then you need to get more involved to help change the current situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I am a parent of a student currently attending BRHS. I enjoy the new principal but the teachers show little care for the students. The students are told not to do somthing and if they do it all they get is a 'don't do it again,son'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

The teachers lack involvement with the students. Many important things have been cut in the stead of more popular programs. The students that disrespect the administration are only disrespecting them because the administrators fail to respect any student that needs help or does not participate in any sports activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
18%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female22%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female61%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students29%
Female22%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students43%
Female32%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students43%
Female56%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

94%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 69%
Hispanic 6% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12450 Church St
Birch Run, MI 48415
Website: Click here
Phone: (989) 624-9392

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT