Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Name School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $250,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

This school is terrible. Behind the mask of a welcoming and kind environment there is lazy, self-centered teachers who demand respect from parents and students but give none in return. This school offers a subpar education compared to the schools in the surrounding area, I would definitely not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

This school is terrible. My children were miserable at this school. The teachers are mean and there are no help classes for the students. I would not recommend this school at all. My children are now in derby middle coho land much happier I would recommend sending them there. Holy Name reminds me of a prison with the strict rules and harsh punishments. It is a truly miserable place
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

My kids love Holy Name. The kids are so nice and welcoming to new students. It may not have all the bells and whistles of a new school but as long as I know that my children are being given a great education and reinforcing compassion & morals into the leaders of tomorrow, that's what is most important. New computers, iPads, promethium boards etc. There are some wonderful teachers that my kids have experienced. Tons of parent involvement! Great community. Smaller class sizes. Strong curriculum. Lots of sports opportunities. Fun Mother son/father daughter events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

Preschool seems very dated in its curriculum. School is very small and parents are SUPER involved--everyone is in everyone else's pockets. Super clique-y. People are nice, but...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

Holy Name is an outstanding academic experience for children. I switched my child from Birmingham public schools. He has a lower teacher to student ratio, and the curriculum is structured, yet active. He is thriving at the school, and is supported by his teacher and by the wonderful principal and her staff. Highly recommend this school if you are looking for an excellent catholic based religious enviornment and a superlative academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

I do love this experiance for my kids. The teachers are fair and sometimes exceptional. There is a very strong sense of community and family. The parents are kind and inviting and so is the pincipal.This school is about teaching right from wrong and about treating people like you would like to be treated. They don't offer the bells and whistles, but the State test scores are in the elite level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

Those previous reviews refer to the past. Holy Name Catholic School has a new administration this year. Our new principal is wonderful. She is creating a warm and positive environment where teachers maintain their high standards and students continue to achieve a first-class education.


Posted September 14, 2007

I am a parent who's daughter attended this school thru 5th grade and then switched to the Birmingham Public School. We have never regreted it. They had no orchestra program no foreign languages to choose from,or many of the other choices available in the 6-8 grade middle schoolsand the facilities are all not even comparable. The public schools in Birmingham encourage more parent interaction. You can still get the religious education after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

I love Holy Name! The principal is wonderful and the atmosphere is so great! They are very welcoming and the teachers are very caring. I am a member of the class of '06 and I loved Holy Name! There are many different areas that parents can get involved in. Such as, Reading Month, Hot lunch, and sports. There is also a room parent for each classroom. I highly recommend Holy Name.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 22, 2006

I am an alumni of this school (class of '06) and i think that this is a terrible school. do not send your children there they will complain and they will not like it. in all my years there, only five of my twenty two teachers were good teachers. the princapal was sometimes nice and never fair. Just say no! no to Holy Name School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 7, 2006

Holy Name School has a very strong academic base. In no way is it middle of the road. The downside is that there aren't special programs for children with special needs. Children that complete Holy Name School will be very well prepared for high school. The religion is just icing on the cake. Parents aren't encouraged to participate in the classroom but parents don't belong in the classroom anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

A typical Catholic K-8 school in a residential Birmingham neighborhood. Playground is the parking lot. A solid Catholic education for the middle of the road child - no help for underachievers or options for gifted students. Parents are not encouraged to be involved in the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 71%
Multiracial 8% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 5%
African-American 0% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mary Ann Grady
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (248) 644-1191

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

680 Harmon St
Birmingham, MI 48009
Phone: (248) 644-2722

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Quarton Elementary
Birmingham, MI


Roeper School
Birmingham, MI





Birmingham Covington School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT