Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
361 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Name School 1

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
This school is terrible. Behind the mask of a welcoming and kind environment there is lazy, self-centered teachers who demand respect from parents and students but give none in return. This school offers a subpar education compared to the schools in the surrounding area, I would definitely not recommend.

Holy Name School 1

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is terrible. My children were miserable at this school. The teachers are mean and there are no help classes for the students. I would not recommend this school at all. My children are now in derby middle coho land much happier I would recommend sending them there. Holy Name reminds me of a prison with the strict rules and harsh punishments. It is a truly miserable place


Holy Name School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
My kids love Holy Name. The kids are so nice and welcoming to new students. It may not have all the bells and whistles of a new school but as long as I know that my children are being given a great education and reinforcing compassion & morals into the leaders of tomorrow, that's what is most important. New computers, iPads, promethium boards etc. There are some wonderful teachers that my kids have experienced. Tons of parent involvement! Great community. Smaller class sizes. Strong curriculum. Lots of sports opportunities. Fun Mother son/father daughter events.

Holy Name School 3

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Preschool seems very dated in its curriculum. School is very small and parents are SUPER involved--everyone is in everyone else's pockets. Super clique-y. People are nice, but...

Holy Name School 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
Holy Name is an outstanding academic experience for children. I switched my child from Birmingham public schools. He has a lower teacher to student ratio, and the curriculum is structured, yet active. He is thriving at the school, and is supported by his teacher and by the wonderful principal and her staff. Highly recommend this school if you are looking for an excellent catholic based religious enviornment and a superlative academic program.


Holy Name School 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
I do love this experiance for my kids. The teachers are fair and sometimes exceptional. There is a very strong sense of community and family. The parents are kind and inviting and so is the pincipal.This school is about teaching right from wrong and about treating people like you would like to be treated. They don't offer the bells and whistles, but the State test scores are in the elite level.

Holy Name School 5

Posted November 16, 2007
- a community member
Those previous reviews refer to the past. Holy Name Catholic School has a new administration this year. Our new principal is wonderful. She is creating a warm and positive environment where teachers maintain their high standards and students continue to achieve a first-class education.

Holy Name School
no rating

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
I am a parent who's daughter attended this school thru 5th grade and then switched to the Birmingham Public School. We have never regreted it. They had no orchestra program no foreign languages to choose from,or many of the other choices available in the 6-8 grade middle schoolsand the facilities are all not even comparable. The public schools in Birmingham encourage more parent interaction. You can still get the religious education after school.


Holy Name School 5

Posted January 27, 2007
- a student
I love Holy Name! The principal is wonderful and the atmosphere is so great! They are very welcoming and the teachers are very caring. I am a member of the class of '06 and I loved Holy Name! There are many different areas that parents can get involved in. Such as, Reading Month, Hot lunch, and sports. There is also a room parent for each classroom. I highly recommend Holy Name.

Holy Name School 1

Posted November 22, 2006
- a student
I am an alumni of this school (class of '06) and i think that this is a terrible school. do not send your children there they will complain and they will not like it. in all my years there, only five of my twenty two teachers were good teachers. the princapal was sometimes nice and never fair. Just say no! no to Holy Name School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Name School
680 Harmon St, Birmingham, MI  48009
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (248) 644-2722
Last modified Holy Name School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top