Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Birmingham, MI
Students enrolled: 1,278

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ernest W. Seaholm High School 1

Posted March 16, 2014
- a community member
Pro's Safe school Con's Trimester schedule with 70 minute classes is not as good as semesters. Staff is not professional or friendly toward students or parents. Teachers expect kids to teach themselves by watching videos and using google. Teachers verbally attack students, have their obvious "favorites" and have been caught following porn sites on class social media accounts. Half to three-quarters of the student body come from very rich families and look down on the less fortunate students all while raising money for the "poor" to gain community service hours and attract local media attention. Average to below average students are ignored while advanced placement/honors students (usually the students' whose parents are paying for tutoring by a teacher in the district) are celebrated. Teachers and staff protect one another when mistakes or inappropriate behavior is identified. This protectionism attitude goes all the way to the top positions in the district's administration. The school and district will hide/ignore many things in an attempt to protect the public reputation of the district even at the expense of student well being.

Ernest W. Seaholm High School 4

Posted March 06, 2014
- a student
I am a student at Seaholm currently, and I really enjoying a lot of the teachers here, though many I think could do better. I am torn because I feel half of the student body are very kind, caring, and open, while the others are exactly the opposite. I definitely would believe it would be hard to come to this school from out of state and not knowing anyone previously, because people have "friend groups" already. The classes are very challenging (good) and a lot of the students have parents who push them to do well, and so they do. Some students expect they're going to ivy league colleges or something. Some days I feel as though I would recommend the school and other days no. I also feel as though everything is ultra-competitive, and other students or even staff judge you if you get one bad grade on an assignment or if you don't have the latest designer clothing trends and cell phone. One thing that stood out to me is that 4 times in one trimester different teachers of mine were absent, and substitute teachers never showed up!!! The school did nothing about it. As I mentioned previously, I feel some days I would recommend it and other days I wouldn't. -Student


Ernest W. Seaholm High School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a student
I love Seaholm its a great place to learn at they use different teaching methods so everyone can benefit from each class. Everyone is so nice and everyone can find friends. I always feel really prepared for tests and exams I love it come join the Seaholm community. FEAR THE LEAF!

Ernest W. Seaholm High School 1

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
As a parent, I want my child to have the best education possible that can allow them to be themselves. It is the exact opposite at seaholm. My son told me that it is almost impossible to be creative and yourself at seaholm because of the way you will be judged by the students and staff. He seemed to only get bad grades because of the teachers not liking who he was and not because of his intelligence. He would cry some nights because he wouldn't fit in. Please do not allow your children to go to seaholm.

Ernest W. Seaholm High School 1

Posted May 16, 2012
- a student
Please don't let your child go to this school it is the worst thing that has ever happened to me. I am constantly watched and judged by the staff just by the way my friends and I look.


Ernest W. Seaholm High School 3

Posted April 14, 2012
- a student
First, let me start out with the positive. Coming from a private middle school, I wasn't sure if Seaholm would be a great fit, especially since I'm rather shy. Luckily, I assimilated pretty well into the school, but I actually had to do most of the work of meeting new people...many students here are stuck in their "Birmingham Bubble" and really don't care about anything or anyone outside of the city limits. I'd say half the body is rather naive, while the other half is accepting and friendly. Most of the students strive to achieve and the atmosphere is competitive. There are plenty of clubs, the building is beautiful, and the classes are challenging, but the English program could use some strengthening. Let me also say that trimesters are the worst! No one likes them and it is horrible to have a class 1st and 3rd trimester, since you forget all the material in second tri. There are amazing teachers and horrible teachers, it really depends on the subject area (Most of the math teachers are bad) . Seaholm expects that every student is going to be an engineer or doctor, and there is little creativity. Looking back, I would have chosen a more diverse, accepting school like Groves.

Ernest W. Seaholm High School 5

Posted December 03, 2010
- a parent
As an educator in a different school district, I can honestly say that my two children have recieved and exemplary education in Birmingham MI schools. Seaholm is the third Birmingham school they've attended, and we are completely satisfied, happy really, with the school. The teachers and counselors are engaged, and the principals are all involved in various school activities-it's obvious they truly care about Seaholm students and families. My daughter has 4 AP classes under her belt, and has been accepted at UM and MSU. My son is above average now as a sophomore- thanks to his great teachers.

Ernest W. Seaholm High School 1

Posted May 21, 2009
- a student
I was astonished at what a terrible school this was. I am so glad that I was fortunate to be able to leave! The whole idea of the Trimesters was completely ridiculous, I went from an A's and B's student at my previous private school to a C and D student at Seaholm because of these 'Trimesters.' It sounds ideal until the horrific teachers start their lesson plans that are compacted to fit so much in because of the trimesters. If you were like my family and moved to Birmingham for the good education and or were thinking about moving for the good education I would strongly recommend looking elsewhere.


Ernest W. Seaholm High School 5

Posted March 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ernest W. Seaholm High School 1

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ernest W. Seaholm High School
2436 West Lincoln Street, Birmingham, MI  48009
(248) 203-3702
Last modified Ernest W. Seaholm High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ernest W. Seaholm High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top