Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pierce Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 621 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Knowledgeable teachers, very open and friendly principal and involved parents. Very well situated in a green and safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

I had 3 of my children go to that school we recently moved , I have to say that they are racist , and whoever has more money has a say here . The principal does nothing . Some staff is very rude . And I don't find some teachers even teaching my kids came with homework of things they didn't teach them . They want us as parents to teach them at home that's ridiculous if you are a so called great school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

Academically this school was great for my child. She is really prepared for middle school but I am happy she is finished with Pierce. The principal does NOTHING in regard to bullying situations. He picks and chooses whom he prefers to associate with. He is a clueless, cowardly man who forms his opinion on solely what he thinks. He was the one and only thing I despised at that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

Great school. I had two kids go through Pierce. They are both very different students and both were prepared for middle school. Focus is beginning to shift to be more thinking skills then just memorizing facts. Has a wonderful ESL program that gave my girls an opportunity to meet and become friends with other kids from around the world. Almost all the teachers are high quality. Leadership strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

We moved to Pierce from another state. Everyone told me how great the Birmingham schools were, but I'm quite unimpressed, at least at the elementary level, which is the level in which we have a student. We came from a very academically challenging school, and Pierce is laughably easy. My third-grader is being given work that she honestly did in the first semester of first grade. The test scores on schooldigger.com & the B'ham district website are very telling, too. (Greatschool's reports are delayed by a year.) Last year, when the MEAP changed to be nationally-normed rather than Michigan-normed, all B'ham schools saw their scores plummet, including Pierce. (Only Covington, the STEM school didn't.) Pierce is a safe, loving school, but my child isn't really learning anything new besides Spanish. We are looking to move to the west side of the Troy district where scores are higher than even at Covington and the student population more diverse. (The two are related, given the higher population of immigrant engineers in Troy.) B'ham might have cache, but I think the schools have a case of the Emperor's New Clothes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

Great teachers! The parents are all helpful not demanding and crazy...I'm enjoying my expierence with the school and so is my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

My son is enjoying his second year at Pierce and I feel the principal and staff are amazing. There is a sense of community and academics that I have never seen before. The foodservice team, librarians, special education professionals, counselers and everyone at the school are always helpful, kind and responsive. Tons of parent involvement means the kids have great role models all around them, all the time from the staff and the great parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

The principal is arrogant and non-responsive, a careerist interested in social gatherings rather than academics.The assistant principal is a non-presence. Parents should note the rate at which top teachers are leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

My daughter has been at Pierce for three years. In that time, I've been extremely happy at the quality of learning she has received. She has been challenged in areas where she excels--beyond her grade level. She feels at home in her school, and looks forward to going every day. That says a lot about the involvement by the faculty in making Pierce a safe, fun, and interesting place to learn. Personally, I enjoy volunteering as a way to meet other parents. One substitute teacher commented that she'd never been to a school with so much parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

Our children attend Pierce and we cannot say enough about the Pierce community. The principal is great. The teachers are dedicated and caring. The families are very supportive of the school. One small example: Our daughter is reading the Harry Potter series. She finished one of the books and we didn't own the next one. The next morning, my child's teacher realized that my daughter had finished the book but couldn't get the next one from the school library as all the copies were checked out. The teacher, without being asked by my child or me, emailed other teachers in the building and found a copy of the book for my daughter that same day. My daughter was thrilled. The principal and the staff at Pierce always seem willing to go above and beyond for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Our first impression of Pierce was extremely favorable. During an open house, we were greeted by the principal who then remembered us by name three months later. He later took the time to meet with us one-on-one, answer questions and give us a personal tour of the school. And, now that we are a Pierce family, we love the school. The kids do, too. All the teachers have been exceptional. Any concerns we've had have been properly addressed and feedback is well-received. Even more impressive, parents are a valued partner. I would recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

We just started in elementary schools and have been thrilled with our experience at Pierce. The leadership of the principal and assistant principal has been dynamic, friendly and forward-thinking. In the face of difficult financial times, the school continues to maintain the highest quality. Pierce has an "old time" traditional feel in the best sense while embracing change that makes sense and is research-backed. We are lucky that our children can thrive at Pierce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

My daughter is new to Pierce this year and although she started mid-year, she has adjusted very well. The staff at Pierce is amazing and the parent-teacher involvement is exceptional. We could not be happier with our choice of school systems - which was are number one reason for the move. If you have a choice in elementary schools, Pierce is the one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Our daughter is in her 2nd week at Pierce, transferred from a highly regarded school in California. So far this school has been the best part of our move. Starting with the principal: we were in contact by email before we moved and he was helpful and welcoming. Gave us a personal tour. Knew how to talk to a child, allay her fears, get her excited. He observed a conversation between our child and some other girls who immediately welcomed her, saying 'come to our class, we have the best teacher in the school;the principal picked up on that- guess what class our daughter was placed in? The class is at the same point in the material as they were in CA. but so far she seems to be thriving in the more relaxed atmosphere. There are plenty of eyes to watch the campus for strangers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

I agree that the teachers are great at Pierce but don't understand how they can say the principal is not. He is young, energetic and has made many improvements since he began in Sept. 2005. As far as security goes, I cannot imagine how it could be improved. Doors are all locked and the recess door even has a code for teachers. Visitors are asked to sign in and if they don't they are approached. The principal and assistant principal are seen out front every morning greeting students and every evening saying their goodbyes to assure the safety of our kids. Finally, I happen to have a child that might be classified as 'difficult' and I feel that this school has very supportive and my child is learning and has grown in so many ways. They are great with modifying lessons and adjusting behavior plans. I also suggest visiting... The assistant principal took me on a great tour and answered all my questions, I went with my gut.. Pierce and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

Please check out the other 7 elementaries in this district before sending your child here. The teachers and parents are great, but you can only do so much vs. principal. The school sells anyone with the beautiful grounds, new playground, computers, etc., but the security is very poor-inside and out. Easy access to your children by strangers all day long. We have been here for 3 years and are switching. Overall, parents are very active...not your most diverse schools -mostly married, caucasian families. The school has some great programs, but not very flexible with students that do not automatically go with flow. If you have a hyper, difficult child or a different learner, this is not a good learning environment. I suggest visiting, go with your gut not test scores:)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
African-American 5% 18%
Asian 5% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • James Lalik
Fax number
  • (248) 203-4393

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1829 Pierce Street
Birmingham, MI 48009
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 203-4337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eton Academy
Birmingham, MI


Beverly Elementary School
Beverly Hills, MI


Roeper School
Birmingham, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT