Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Leadership Academy

Private | K-12 | 153 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bloomfield Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $245,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

I have four children at CLA, all of whom have been enrolled at CLA since kindergarten. My oldest is now in 11th grade. We are extraordinarily pleased with CLA for several reasons. First and foremost, this is a devoutly Christian school where teachers instruct the students in the Scripture not just in the Bible classes but also in all the other subjects so as to develop a strong Christian view of the world. Second, we love the classical model where students are not just taught to regurgitate facts, but are taught Latin to develop their vocabulary, taught formal logic to see the proper relationships between concepts, and taught formal rhetoric so that they are able to express their ideas. Third, the students read the great works of history. By reading these great works for themselves, the students are able to participate in the great conversations that have been taking place for thousands of years. All of this means that the students know God's word, can properly interpret God's word, love God's word, proclaim God's word and defend God's word. We trusted this model 12 yrs ago when we enrolled our first child into the school and we are now seeing the wonderful fruit of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

We have five children currently attending Christian Leadership Academy. I have had the privilege of watching them grow and mature at Christian Leadership Academy under the guidance and nurture of wonderful teachers and staff. Our children have been attending Christian Leadership Academy since the fall of 2006. I cannot say enough good things about the school. The teachers are completely committed to the students and their education. They sacrifice much of their time to go the extra mile to help a student in need. The body of Christ at Christian Leadership Academy is also an incredible group of families who, when the need arises, step to the front to help each other through difficult life situations. I would highly recommend Christian Leadership Academy. My children would be devastated if they ever had to go to another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

I have had two children graduate from Christian Leadership Academy. Both have subsequently gone on to complete Bachlors and Masters degrees. I believe CLA served them (and my family) well and that it is one of the reasons that they currently both are involved in successfull careers. As an educator of over 30 years, I would give CLA my highest endorsement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

My son went to this school for two years, and was made to feel stupid. They grated upon his self esteem. The teachers were unapproachable at the very least. They did not offer my son any help. They just made him feel as though he was not good enough. (Strange, considering this was a "Christian" school.) They wanted to fail my son, which was killing his self-esteem and they seemed perfectly comfortable with that sacrifice. We left that school and are now happily at another Christian School where my son is thriving. Not only did he NOT fail a grade, he is a straight A student, involved in plenty of sports and well adjusted with Christian morals. I would shutter to think what would have happened to him if we had left him in this school's toxic environment. Please research with other sources than the school itself because the program you are getting when you go to interview the school is not as "amazing" as is seems. Do your research before you hand over your cash and your CHILD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

My son attended Christian Leadership Academy Kindergarten thru 12th grade. Because of the strong academics that he received he has graduated from Oakland University with a B.S. in Biology. He has gone on three medical misson trips to Guatemala through McLaren Oakland Hospital and wants to become a doctor. He will be taking the MCAT in April and will be applying to Michigan State's College of Osteopathic Medicine. I strongly believe that because of the classical and Christian education that these students receive, they are well prepared to become the best in any field of their choice. I hope and pray that my grandchildren will be able to attend Christian Leadership Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

I've been a parent at CLA since my son was in kindergarten and am 3months away from watching him graduate with a classical Christian education. Never once have I regretted the decision to send my children to CLA, have I considered pulling them out and moving them to a larger school or homeschool, and never have I considered allowing them to walk a block to the local high school. CLA has provided my children with an education that is superior than the other choices because it's taught my kids to think. It's taught them how to learn and how to question what they're learning and filter it through God's lens. And they've been taught by some of the most intelligent and loving people I've ever had the pleasure to know. If you haven't taken the time to visit this school, the teachers and classrooms, just come on a recitation day or during speech meet and see how these children can stand in front of their peers, fearless, and passionately recite their passages. Come during mock trial & watch them think on their feet. Come during a basketball game & see how gracious they are with each other and their opponents, whether they're winning or losing. Just come check it out. You'll see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2012

CLA is a very special school. It has a rigorous academic curriculum and knowledgeable, caring teachers who love God. My children have just completed their second year there - I love to see them being gently challenged in every way to fulfill their potential. If you want your children to grow up with the leadership skills and the education to be bold ambassadors for Christ, you should highly consider this classical Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

CLA is a very warm and welcoming school. The teachers are academically tough, but fair. My son just completed his first year at CLA and excelled. His teachers really worked with him, which contributed to his success. My child loves this school, and is looking forward to returning in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

Our kids have attended this school for nine years. Our daughter started in the 4th grade and our son in the first. Our daughter is now a senior and the dividends of having her attend a classical and Christian school are obvious and enormous. She just returned from the senior class trip (14 days in Europe - no boondoggle - teacher/parent chaperoned and curriculum oriented) Our son is in 9th grade and blossoming into a young leader - I can't wait to see the finished work - if you don't know about the classical and Christian model of education, you owe it to yourselves and your kids to look into it. Search the internet for Dorothy Sayer's essay entitled 'The Lost Tools of Learning.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

We love this school--it provides a Christian faith-centered, Classical model education with fabulous caring teachers. Our son loves to go to school and is learning wonderfully! The quality of the music and arts programs has been a welcome added bonus. We highly recommend our son's school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 71%
African-American 5% 20%
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Multiracial 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Robin Schmidt
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACCS
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (248) 499-3359

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3570 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 499-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Way Elementary School
Bloomfield Hills, MI





Conant Elementary School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


Bloomfield Hills Middle School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT