Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Bloomfield Hills, MI

5 stars
Based on 54 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


80 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


International Academy 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
While the rigor is not for every student, for most students, the school is an AMAZING experience that prepares them well for college and life. It is an extraordinary public high school -- from the culture to the academic program. Anybody with children in the area with motivated children would want to consider this opportunity.

International Academy 1

Posted May 09, 2013
- a community member
I begin to doubt that a lot of comments are written on the same dates, meaning people with same minds collaborated to write something only good for the school. Maybe it is wirtten by the school to promote themselves???? I'm very suspicious of the all the 4-5 stars on the same dates. Is the school honest???? I will have to give it a second thought.


International Academy 4

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
RE:White Lake Campus. Before deciding to send your student here, take a close look at the different campuses and separate their statistics and teacher/student retention rates, if you can. The school does a presentation attempting to lump the Bloomfield Hills campus with the others in order to improve their statistics. Know that you will not be getting the same education, reputation, and treatment on each campus. The White Lake campus practically begged us to register.Look carefully at the difference in classes and cirriculum available at each. Consider the difficulty in transferring the credits to another hs if you find that the pressure and priorities here do not match your student. They will tell you students may take classes at the BH campus, but the odds of this working with your student's schedule are poor.Also, ask why other school districts have recently withdrawn from this collective. Is some of the pressure on students here created or necessary?Is well-roundedness encouraged?The upside, of course, is that your student will be surrounded by self-motivated individuals with high goals and have constant homework. This may result in good college prep or clinical depression.

International Academy 5

Posted February 01, 2012
- a student
this is an amazing school. I first came here and expected a bunch of nerds, but i found none. Fine, there were a couple, but still the school is filled with talent in both academics and extra-curricular activities. Going to this school requires a lot of hard work and dedication. There is A LOT of homework. Many talented people. there is no lonely kid or someone who everyone hates. No fights. The school is very peaceful and the teachers and great. There are some teachers who are not good but over all there are more good teachers than bad teachers. The food is okay. Over all this school is the best place i have ever gone to.

International Academy 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a community member
As an alumna of the IA, I know that the IA made a huge impact on my life and really led me to where I am today. There is not a single person in my graduating class who would disagree. At the IA, students who want to learn are surrounded by peers who want the same, and teachers who want to inspire their students. There is a lot of work involved - probably why the IA sometimes gets poor reviews by frustrated students who need an outlet for their stress - but it's definitely worth it. While the IA helps students go on to terrific universities and careers, it also creates a strong community. I graduated five years ago and still communicate with my friends, and even classmates I didn't know too well during my time at IA. The community is still very strong, and we all support each other in our current projects and endeavors years after we have graduated.


International Academy 1

Posted April 28, 2010
- a student
In this opinion of this former student (and his roommate, who also attended the IA) while IA can send your child to a good school, it also provides a terrible environment for growing as a person. Simply put, the administration couldn't care less about the student body. They have no issues with harming the educational life of their students in order to maintain the prestige of the school. Also, in my experience their policies and mismanagement tended to drive out the higher quality teachers as well. So while the school puts up fantastic statistics (as evidenced by this site), in good conscious I can't recommend attending it for the full for years, if only as a matter of the students mental well-being.

International Academy 4

Posted February 18, 2010
- a student
This school has a good base but at its west campus(Where I Attend) I find some deficiency in the teaching and most of the students have a horrible attitude towards this school. Only the people who like it write these reviews. Its good but i just dropped out and started college. Did not like it that much.

International Academy 5

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
Wow, This place is unique. They do a lot with a little. Other schools could learn a lot from this method. If only all the schools held their students to these high standards...


International Academy 5

Posted November 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

International Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
The IA is an amazing school for high quality and challenging courses and a very friendly supportive environment that looks to have every student succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

International Academy
1020 East Square Lake Road, Bloomfield Hills, MI  48304
(248) 341-5905
Last modified International Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
International Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. Top