Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brother Rice High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bloomfield Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $257,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

Brother Rice turns your son from a boy into a man. Not only will he be ahead of the curve academically, but also emotionally, physically, psychologically, socially and spiritually. He may not realize it when he is at the school, but once he gets to college (and yes he will go to college), he will be light years ahead of his peers.


Posted August 23, 2013

My two sons attended Brother Rice High School and the experience was extremely positive. The education was superlative. The teachers were very demanding but fair. One area that I really appreciated was how the students helped each other in their classes. They were very competitive with each other but were always there to work together. Extra curricular activities were well rounded and some endeavors were jointly conducted with Marian High School. They were both involved in athletics and the high level of competition and dedication of the student athletics made challenged them to be the best they could be. I would highly recommend Brother Rice High School to anyone seeking an excellent education in a nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I graduated from Brother Rice and it is still one of the most important and influential decisions of my life. I was lucky enough to be a member of the Band of Brother and experience Academic Excellence in the Catholic Tradition. To this day some of my closest friends and mentors from Brother Rice are still a part of my life. I highly recommend this elite college prep school for anyone looking for more than just and education. Brother Rice helps to craft the body, mind and soul.


Posted June 7, 2013

I have a son who is a Junior at Br. Rice and think that sending him here was one of the greatest decisions we made. I knew Br. Rice was a great school as everyone I had met at the University of Michigan who was a Br. Rice graduate was mature, focused and had great values. I cannot say the same about other more expensive private schools in the Birmingham area. My son is gifted both academically and athletically and has thrived here. The academics are outstanding and a simple look at the test scores, AP courses offered and the schools graduates are accepted to; will show the prowess of the faculty. While the school is an athletic powerhouse, I do not think too much emphasis is put on sports. Nearly every boy here has played at the travel level of their sport since they were young. As a result, it is difficult to make teams, but there are also no-cut sports. The Band of Brothers process of assigning every incoming student a mentor and having mentoring sessions that include all grades builds networks and bonds that are apparent anytime you encounter alumni. I don't think there is a better public or private school in the area and would highly, highly recommend Br. Rice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

After having had 2 sons graduate from there and move on successfully to college I feel Brother Rice has the makings to be GREAT. It has provided many tools to succeed in every way for the future but that being said I hesitate to send my remaining sons there based on the internal politics which "everyone" is concerned with. It seems the strong beliefs and philosophies in place are adhered to and enforced with the "commoners' only. Loyalties to students of involved parents, certain past alumni,staff, coaches, or large contributers are clearly exempt from theses rules which are bent to fit their needs.We have experienced both sides of this and understand it occurs in the real world. it is not something i feel a Catholic institutiion should so obviously support. I had hoped they would focus more on you earn your place based on YOUR actions and attributes rather than who you are or who you know which goes against Catholic teachings. Hopefully this newer leadership is working on irradicating this practice to teach the men they are responsible for who they are and their actions. This direction would truly make Brother Rice the great institution it has every componenet to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

Great school, very difficult curriculum but prepares you for life. I would recommend Brother Rice to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2009

I loved brother rice except for one thing all they care about is sports. I believe my son would have had a better experience at UofD or CC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

Happy with the school in every way. My three boys went to Rice and my daughter went to public school in the area. The boys were well prepared for college and had no transition troubles. My daughter was not prepared and struggled for two year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

Brother Rice is one of the finest high schools in the midwest. The academic excellence and college placement stats are truly a reflection of their difficult college prep curriculum. 100% of the seniors are accepted to 4 year colleges. Being in an all male environment is a unique feature to Brother Rice and the students that are a part of it. It is also unique that they are the only Catholic high school that shares a large campus with two other Catholic schools. St. Regis grade school (K-8) and Marian HS (all girls). This makes for a great community and family atmosphere. The emphasis on spirituality is a very important part of a Brother Rice education. Faith based living is an integral part the Brother Rice community. Brother Rice continues to lead the way in developing young men in body, mind, and spirit. It is truly a very special place.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 20, 2006

As a graduate of this fine school, I could not do anything but give praise. If you can, you need to send your son here. My son is three years old, and there is no chance in the world he will go to any other school but Brother Rice.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2006

The current leadership is right on top of things. The curriculum is superb and the administration continues to monitor and update it. We've got a great supportive group of parents and the administration welcomes the parents in all aspects with open arms. It goes without saying that the boys are fabulous and grow spiritually, intellectually and socially throughout their stay at Brother Rice. I just can't say enough great things about the school. The teachers really care about the kids as well and are very communicative with the parents which is very respectful. The sports program is second to none and there are many extracurricular activities to keep all interests satisfied. The campus is very safe, which is more than I can say for other schools. Excellent overall quality. The boy will remain friends for life. Very satisfied customer and parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2004

I am currently a senior at Rice and have gone there all four years. Although I didn't 'freely' choose to attend Brother Rice, it was the best decision my parents have ever made for me. The fact that it's a Catholic school shouldn't intimidate you (as I am not Catholic and have always felt comfortable). The school is so rich in tradition that it's hard not to get caught up in it. The teachers REALLY do care about you and, due to the smallness of the student body, know you by name when passing you in the halls. Rice really does prepare you well for the SAT's and beyond. Some of the teachers are so knowledgeable in their subjects that they have become legends at Rice that freshmen learn about from day one. From Rice's excellent athletics to its education, Rice stands out from all the rest. -Kevin Painter
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 71%
Multiracial 12% N/A
African-American 9% 20%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Br. Michael Segvich
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (248) 647-8170

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7101 Lahser Rd
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
Phone: (248) 647-2526

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marian High School
Bloomfield Hills, MI




Wylie E. Groves High School
Beverly Hills, MI


Wing Lake Developmental Center
Bloomfield Hills, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT